Mapping coordinates confusion

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:48
ThreadID: 47729 Views:2548 Replies:9 FollowUps:15
I'm not real crash hot with these mapping coordinates, but know enough to be able to decipher and use my magellan in conjunction with your average grid map.
I find the magellan Discover Oz programme and most maps, along with Google Earth also I think, use the 'degrees, minutes and seconds' style of coordinates ( 28°51'50"S ) with which I'm reasonably familiar with.
When I searched the archives I came across a post by Rossco using another style of coordinates, these being S24.46445, E150.91444, I think David uses the same style, which is why I had trouble finding some coordinates of his a little while ago.
My question is, how do I convert Rossco's and David's style to the degrees, minutes, seconds style ?

Pezza

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:56

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:56
Pezza,

If you don't have Ozi or your GPS is fixed format ( very strange ) then for S24.46445 multiply 60 by .46445 giving 27.867 then multiply 60 by .867 giving 52.02. So you could say 24 degrees 27 minutes and 52.02 seconds. Do the same for the other reading.
AnswerID: 252495

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:00

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:00
The other should read multiply 60 by .91444 giving 54.8664 thern multiply 60 by .8664 giving 51.984 so the other reading is 150 degrees 54 minutes and 51.984 secs
FollowupID: 513547

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 12:59

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 12:59
Thanks Al, this is so far the easiest way manually, I can use this method to plot points on a map without the use of a computer mapping system.
The GPS does have both formats but I think Discover Oz only uses the deg. min. sec. format, or if it does use the other one then I can't figure how to change it, ( I have spent quite a bit of time trying ) I don't use Ozi explorer, hence my question.

Pezza
FollowupID: 513563

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 13:36

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 13:36
No worries mate. Happy to help.
FollowupID: 513573

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:32

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:32
Pezza
Garmin Mapsource won't work if you have that little o and the " in the format as 28°51'50"S , and the letter S or E must be first ie S27 27 57.0 E153 01 42.8, Google Earth support that format ie 24°34'19.50"S 133° 8'53.41"E and will also accept the Garmin format.
Being not familiar with Magellans what format do they use, I take it from your post it has the little o and " .

Doug

AnswerID: 252507

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 13:04

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 13:04
Hi Doug,
Thanks for taking the time, but I only use Magellan, Discover Oz and manual maps, all of which use the deg. min. sec. format. The GPS does have both but what I was more trying to do was be able to plot say Rossco's S24.46445 on a paper map or Discover Oz programme that uses deg. min. sec. So needed a way to convert it.

Pezza
FollowupID: 513564

Reply By: Zebra400 - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:42

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:42
Hi Pezza

I can give you an excel spreadsheet which will do your conversions for you if you like. I didnt write it, but it is a handy tool if you dont want to do your conversions inside of Oziexplorer.

It is very easy to use.

Laurie
AnswerID: 252510

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 13:09

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 13:09
Hi Laurie,
Thanks for that offer, but before I accept, does this spreadsheet work only with Oziexplorer ?
As I don't use that one it would unfortunately be of no use to me unless I can use it within excel without Oziexplorer.
If so, I will MM my email to you and it would be much appreciated.

Pezza
FollowupID: 513565

Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:52

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:52
This page may be of help:

www.maptools.com/UsingLatLon/

The two systems you describe are, essentially, the same - they are both degree based systems, the first using degrees minutes and seconds whilst the second uses degrees and decimal degrees.

To convert DMS to DD.dd try the following:

28D 51m 50s =

51 * 60 = 3060

3060 + 51 = 3111

3111 / 3600 = 0.864

Therefore the answer in DD.dd is 28.864 degrees.

AnswerID: 252511

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:55

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:55
I messed it up! Should read:

28D 51m 50s =

51 * 60 = 3060

3060 + 50 = 3110

3110 / 3600 = 0.864

Therefore the answer in DD.dd is 28.8638 degrees.
FollowupID: 513557

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 13:21

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 13:21
Hi Mike,
Thanks for that, having your formula along with Gramps' I can now do it both ways, Haha.
I was actually trying to do the convertion the other way round, ie. DD.dd to DMS.
Thanks heaps for that site link, had a quick look and seems somewhere I could teach myself a great deal from, will have a closer look there when the house is quiet of very loud 2.5 & 1yr olds :-))

Pezza
FollowupID: 513568

Reply By: Member - Edward G (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 12:07

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 12:07
Used this in Excel to covert 26.281720ºS to S26°8.8824' (note Deg/Min)

=CONCATENATE("S",LEFT('C:\aaDocs\Desert Trip\Waypoints\[Simpson Desert crossing.xls]Original'!E39,2),"°",60*MID('C:\aaDocs\Desert E3Trip\Waypoints\[Simpson Desert crossing.xls]Original'!E39,3,7),"'")

if any use to you.
Ed
AnswerID: 252515

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 13:25

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 13:25
Hi Ed,
Thanks for that, will have a play with that formula when SWMBO helps me become a little more familiar with excel, looks like it's time to learn about another area of this puter other than the EO forum LOL.

Pezza
FollowupID: 513570

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 15:09

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 15:09
Gday Ed

Another new exel functon for me to Guessing that:

C:\aaDocs\Desert Trip\Waypoints\[Simpson Desert crossing.xls]Original'!E39,2 is where the coordinate 'lives' on your c drive, and
C:\aaDocs\Desert E3Trip\Waypoints\[Simpson Desert crossing.xls]Original'!E39,3,7
is where you want the answer to go....

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 513592

Follow Up By: Member - Edward G (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 19:16

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 19:16
Gday AB
I used this to convert lat/long into a Magellan Meridian GPS format.

Yes mate, thats all just the source cell location.

CONCATENATE command just combines all the pieces together into one destination cell. First an 'S'. Cell E39 of the file Simpson Desert crossing.xls. The 2, is just the first two characters. ie.26. Then the ° symbol. Then the formula is 60*characters 3-7 (ie. ".2817") of the same source cell E39 which works out as 16.902 Minutes.

"S"+"26"+"°"+"16.902"=S26°16.902 which the Magellan can understand.

In the original post I was showing an example and wasn't expecting a full analysis. Hope this isn't too confusing. Email me if you like eds.ward@gmail.com.
FollowupID: 513645

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 07:24

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 07:24
Thanks for that Ed. Everytime I see a new exel formula, I try to work it out and make an example on my work and home computer.....I also try to use it all the time instead of a calculator. It is an amazing program and I find I am using it more and more. We have a spreadsheet at work that converts MGA 94 to AMG84 and also to our local grid....haven't really got a use for it outside work though....

Cheers ANdrew
FollowupID: 513709

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 13:28

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 13:28
Pezza
Oh ok I see what your trying to do, then all you do is change the format .
like this
S24.46445 E150.91444 hddd.ddddd
now becomes
S24 27 52.0 E150 54 52.0 hdd'mm'ss.s"

and it's in the Kroombit Tops National Park near Kroombit Tops State Forest Qld

AnswerID: 252520

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 13:29

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 13:29
By change the format . I mean in the GPS

FollowupID: 513572

Reply By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 14:24

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 14:24
G'day Pezza, are you still working those damn confusing co'ords out i thought you had been able to do that ages ago.Lol
I haven't even started to try yet Lol. Might have to get myself along to one of those map reding classes.Do they have them up here in the smart state?Lol
Cheers Bob.
AnswerID: 252526

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:33

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:33
Site Site Link

Members swap file
AnswerID: 252629

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 22:00

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 22:00
Great idea Richard and probably just what I'm after but it won't let me put any info in the chart that I want converted, it tells me it is protected and "read only", is it the site itself or am I not doing something I should be ?

Pezza
FollowupID: 513689

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 22:25

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 22:25
Sorry I can't

I just stole them off another web site..

FollowupID: 513693

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 07:31

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 07:31
Gdday Pezza

Tools - Protection - unprotect sheet and you will be away!

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 513710

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 22:13

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 22:13
Keep in mind there is also the D M.M format - Degrees Minute DecimalMinute.
AnswerID: 252643