trip with kids for 2 months towing jayco

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 09:57
ThreadID: 47793 Views:4251 Replies:3 FollowUps:5
Hi, I am looking for some advice from someone who has travelled with young kids for a couple of months around Northern Territory or QLD.
We are leaving from Byron Bay in Early Sept, returning via Fraser Island mid November.
Thinking a trip up to the Daintree or maybe head over to the Kimberlies.
We are just in the initial planning stages and hoping to get some info on suitable routes.
We are driving a Ford Escape towing a Jayco Swan. Thinking of taking a tent incase we want to do a bit of 4WD? Have no ideas, never done this before. Have been to Fraser and Stradbroke 4WD that's it??
Travelling with two experienced travellers( a 2yr and 4 year old)
They are used to 800+kms per day trips ( Melbourne to Byron), so distance not too much of an issue.
Any advice welcomed.
Chedo

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 10:38

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 10:38
Chedo,

If your kids can do Melb to Byron in a day then a touring holiday will present no problems.

We have done plenty of it over the years. My kids are now into their teens and travel like they are on the bus to school. In fact they coped better with the 1600km day we did a little while back better than me and the boss did.

When you are planning your trip try not to have more than about three over night stops in a row then stop for 2 or 3 nights in the one spot. This will give everyone a chance to get away from the car. You can also get some washing done and have a decent look around somewhere.

If you are coming home via the coast why not travel north inland. Lots to see and at that time of the year is should look pretty good too. Maybe up through Charleville and Longreach. We went north from there along the Kennedy Development Rd to Undara (well worth a visit ) then we dropped into Cairns (won't do that again unless I win Lotto). Along the way Porcupine Creek Gorge is worth a look.

Oh! My kids did all this stuff without the opiate of in car DVD. They looked out the window, learnt how to read a map and joined in the conversation with Mum and Dad. They even learnt thir times tables as we travelled. My youngest daughter turned 3 in Perth and was only 6 when we did the 2 month trip to Cape York.

The most important thing when travelling with kids is to have fun. If that means you are a bit late getting into town or packed up, so be it.

AnswerID: 252911

Follow Up By: chedo - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:42

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:42
Thanks Duncs for you reply. Great advice. Would never have thought about visiting Undara, took me ages to find on the map, will look up some info on it.
If we are lucky we will wins tattslotto this weekend and be drving a new landcruiser on our extended holiday.
FollowupID: 514053

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 16:25

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 16:25
As Duncs suggested, we tried to keep the o/night stops down to 2 or 3 in a row.
We usually talked it through with the kids and agreed on the limits.
"If we do a big day tomorrow or the day after, we can have a good day at ----".
They realised they could survive a 1000k day if they needed to. Biggest hassle was they always found that stirring the other one on the back seat was a good way to beat boredom. So I used to take turns sitting in the back and one would navigate for a while.
As we travelled we usually talked about what the options were for the next few days and refined the plans as we went.
Also, tried to make sure we had a least one lazy day in camp each week. Well, at least a good afternoon. Catch up on the washing and letter writing etc. Tidying up the car, and the bit of school work that didn't get done in the car. Or they just had some time to explore a little by themselves. This was often decided by the kids when they felt we had a good camp site.
FollowupID: 514069

Reply By: Moose - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 13:20

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 13:20
Check out the "Treks" section (above) and "Trips with Kids" (under Topic Search on left). Heaps of info in there.
AnswerID: 252942

Follow Up By: chedo - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 09:48

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 09:48
As a new comer to this website, your advice has been very useful. I am slowly making my way around the site and looked at the trek section as you mentioned. It has heaps of treks for us to do on our way up north.
Thanks Mate
FollowupID: 514187

Follow Up By: Moose - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 10:03

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 10:03
No worries - glad to help. One other thing - I see you and others have mentioned long days. My advice is don't. There is heaps to see and do and there is no need to put in long driving days. You and the family will enjoy the trip so much more by taking your time and stopping regularly to look around. If you see something just stop and have a look - makes the trip sp much better. I just can't understand those that just have the spot at the end of the day in mind and belt along ignoring all else along the way. Also an earlier camp (before dark) allows the kids to do a bit of exporation (especially if you bush camp). Mine have always really enjoyed that part of the day. So as the saying goes - take the time to smell the roses!
FollowupID: 514194

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 18:47

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 18:47
If you do end up in NQ, and find yourself around Mt Isa, make an effort to get to Lawn Hill NP about 300km NW of the Isa. Worth the effort even with the bad road in. Mt Isa is also an eye opener if you are into the mining tours. Lark Quarry out of Winton, Stockmans HAll of Fame, Qantas Museum in Longreach also make a trip inland worth the effort in my opinion.

If you went Nth to Lawn Hill and up to Gulf country then headed East from there you would get a fair bit of dirt roads in plus plenty of metropolitan stops for the kids and mum (if they like the comfort of shops!!)

Cheers, trevor.
AnswerID: 253002

Follow Up By: chedo - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 09:51

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 09:51
Even though our car is a bit of a softie, I would love to get some dirt on the tyres. Thanks for your advice. I have heard of the Museum in Longreach, so that will be a certainty. Will look into Lawn Hill for sure.
Chedo
FollowupID: 514189