Old Way & New Way
Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 12:59
ExplorOz Team - David
I cannot believe some of you guys to the point that I have made a thread available in both
views so that you can compare the difference (also look at the download size per page while you are at it over 20% smaller).
See thread Old Way
Site Link
New Way
www.exploroz.com/Forum/View.aspx?fq=47779
The only difference is the Ad which will most likely be removed for members, the block reverse text headings and rigs pic sizes.
Sorry if you do not like change but there are several programmatic and server requirements for the changes (I hate doing it it seems like a waste of time - but in our business it is required to keep the servers running).
Answers like hate it, waste of time etc only aggravate me. Constructive critism is fine and as has already been seen is used to modify the result - like the removal of Replies By earlier. Another I am testing is 2px borders instead of 1px. So simple answer is give good feedback get good results.
Reply By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 13:09
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 13:09
You ignore them David, they're just being nasty to you!
Reply By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 13:25
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 13:25
alright mate, I've held off for now, not that I knew what I was going to say though :)
i have got 47779 old and new, side by side, split on the screen.
i guess previously the posts were easy on the eye due to the heavy "capping" of each post be it a reply or follow up. The capping had the "post # of #"inside it and then the poster's name was in bold black against white. The boldness of it all appears easier on the eye when I compare them. Now, they are separated by a small
orange (or blue) cap with only the "post # of #" info inside the cap and there is an additional line on the post id, time etc. before the poster's name is mentioned (still in bold on white) but in the same colour,
orange or blue, as the line above. Does any of that dribble make sense?
I guess the eye will get used to it but what about moving the post id info etc. into the line above, being the "post # of " line? That way you would have one less line of info, may seem less cluttered. Then again, this looks more like the old "cap" and may be what you are trying to avoid for some technical reason.
I can see that as you have done before, you are trying to shift the focus away from the poster to post. This was done a couple of years ago when you changed from "ExplorOz Team - David posted about "
Forum appearance" to
Forum Appearance : ExplorOz Team - David. Am I right there?
I would welcome the modified view for Members that you spoke of.
kind regards,
Jeremy.
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:30
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:30
ATTENTION ATTENTION
constructive feedback above!
oh
well... thought it was a good suggestion......and i'm a member :)
btw, where have the "back to index" buttons (and the others) gone from the bottom of each thread? only seem to appear at the top now.
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:49
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:49
Bushfix,
I have read your feedback however in the process of trying to fix everything I have not been able to reply to all yet. After reading your first we added the gradient - this brings back a level of the headers of old. Does this help out?
No not really try to remove the poster from the post just on the index it was to cluttered so we removed some of the noise words. We are trying to reduce more the bold tags though we used the header tags to put the names in the new view.
I think it is a cleaner view without the bold tags but lets see how we go over the next few days as I iron out the little issues that are poping up. Thanks for the feedback.
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 16:24
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 16:24
Bushfix,
Yes the buttons at the bottom went west when I installed the caching system. They are now back - thanks for the feedback.
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:34
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:34
thanks Dave,
wow, looks great!!!! (although perhaps you have effected the "Members' view"
she's looking swish now, real good.
at the time, looked to me like Baz had you on the back foot eh?
cheers for the feedback to the feedback.
kind regards,
Jeremy.
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:43
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:43
sorry Dave, did not answer your question "After reading your first we added the gradient - this brings back a level of the headers of old. Does this help out?"
yeah much better (perhaps some shading has helped) but still think you should merge the top two lines seeing you have the line space. I don't know if it means it adds more kb etc....
cheers,
Jeremy.
Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 13:27
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 13:27
Well the only things i don't like are (and i'm not alone here) the in your face add, the other thing is being thrown back to the home page after logging in and the fact that the add will only be reduced for members.
Having in your face adds wouldn't attract me to be a member, it would just make trolling around annoying, therefore i would visit less frequent, but it's your site i guess.
The
orange heading at the top of the replies and follow ups would have been better left maybe don't know if that's possible with the new settings, it does give a more destinct boarder between replies.
Having said this, ya can't please everyone, it's human nature and it would be a boring place if we all agreed on everything.
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 13:44
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 13:44
I just added a gradient that makes the headers stand out a little more. As for the
logon thing I will fix this. As for the Ad thing got to pay for this site somehow. If you contribute as a member then I can reduce the ad impressions - do not pay then get the ads - cannot be fairer than that!
Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 14:02
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 14:02
Yes i understand you need revenue to run these forums, but with the benefits that members already have and your trying to attract more members this would help not having these in your face adds, just my thoughts on it.
The adds are on all forums now and it's putting people off on those forums too, to the point of reduced active members.
Still good info here, that hasn't changed at least.
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 11:58
Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 11:58
Go back to work Redback or i will ring the mayor.....
Reply By: Member - Jaap C (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 14:04
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 14:04
Just some observations
The new layout isn't that much different to the "original" one and I think that with a little more patience by the members they will adapt ads or no ads
The info etc available on this site far outweighs the inital resistance to "change"
However that said the response time is very s l o w today and where i am now is using high speed broadband
Jaap
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:50
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:50
Jaap,
Caching installed please let me know what you think now of the performance al reports are showing huge improvements?
Follow Up By: Member - Jaap C (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:57
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:57
Seems to have improved
Jaap
Reply By: Leroy - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 14:20
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 14:20
I like the
orange gradient but would like to see who the thread is by in bold black.
I had another thought about the 'Replies by/Follows by'. Maybe you could do this with a drop down box?
I just saw the post about site response and also found it slow today. I use a 4M pipe connect direct to ISP.
Leroy
Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 14:51
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 14:51
slow for the new format I should also say.
Leroy
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:19
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:19
Leroy,
Caching installed please let me know what you think now.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:35
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:35
new format is now slightly quicker than old format.
Leroy
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:52
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:52
Leory,
A WIN horray. The caching is still being finished but is live now - just needs some tweaks to be 100%. I will get into this now. Thanks.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 16:10
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 16:10
No probs. Earning your wage today :-)
Leroy
Reply By: SCUBADOO - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 14:25
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 14:25
Hi David
Fast(ish) 8MB service here in NZ.
Old way 3 seconds.
New way 8 seconds.
Tried several times.
Very simple realy???
I know my choice!
Neville
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 14:56
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 14:56
SPeed is being worked on now - this is the caching thing I was talking about - give me about 1 hour and it will be installed. I will stop repying for a while and get it done. Will advise when installed - 8 secs on 8MB service bugger that is not good.
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:20
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:20
Scubadoo,
Caching installed please let me know what you think now?
Follow Up By: SCUBADOO - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:59
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:59
Thank you!
Old way 3 seconds.
New way 1 second.
Problem solved.
Neville
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 14:33
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 14:33
I thought it was your Website ...for us to use , Looks good to me ,
Thank you
Doug
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:45
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:45
G'day Doug,
he obviously was after feedback mate. that could be good or bad. Dave could have locked the thread and just told us "here it is."
kind regards,
Jeremy.
Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 14:39
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 14:39
David,
No problems with it here at work on ADSL..........I'll let you know if there are any Mac probs when I get home......
Otherwise, like we all do....ignore the 'silly' replies. If they can only write one word of criticism, then they obviously don't have the nouse to make constructive suggestions...
Reply By: Banjo (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 14:41
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 14:41
What's that saying -
"You can please some of the people some of the time but not all of the people all of the time."
Great site, and the changes are minor, so let's just enjoy it, I will.
Banjo (WA)
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 14:48
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 14:48
Yep spot on.
Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:31
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:31
David,
I'm still finding it slow,
it takes around half a second now to load a page instead of the average 2 seconds in the old format.
Can you please revert back to the old way so may people will love you for it (NOT) ha ha ha
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:53
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:53
Kev,
Caching update installed should be heaps faster now.
Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 16:33
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 16:33
fine for me dave. 1px borders are fine... less wasted space the better, but support for wider screens would be nice...
Reply By: keepingitreal - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 17:57
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 17:57
" a change is as good ( nearly) as a holiday!"....................................
Reply By: Member - John - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:26
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:26
David, just my two cents worth, can the "flash" rate of the ad be lowered? It is very very distracting at its present rate. John
Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:31
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:31
Get over it guys and gals. A week from now we'll look back at this post and say................!MPG:23!
The old view won't be missed at all. And BTW who looks at ads? Not me :)
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:37
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:37
aaah pig's arse mate,
geez, the amount of ffs posts that we see here sometimes.... nice to have a barney with the boss every now and then...
yes i know we're all different, we're all Austrailian.
love you Dave and Michelle :)
Reply By: Member - Debbie R (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:34
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:34
David,
Ignore the nasties!! From a female's point of view (I know guys who needs it) I think the new look , looks great clean and sharp. The others will conform after all it's your site you do want you want, you are only trying to improve and give us the best site possible. Thanks
Debbie
Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:56
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:56
Got to agree with Debbie, David. It's been a long, trying day. You've done good. Now go home to Michelle and the little 'uns and relax with a Coldie, a Vino, a Rumbo or whatever you preferred poison is. We'll all (especially the whingers - whoops, shouldn't have said that...) still be here tomorrow.
Reply By: Camoco - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:09
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:09
Hi David,
I've been reading all these since you started changing them and waiting to see how the results pan out.
I can't say I've had any speed issues yet and I use a std 512 adsl line.
I thought the layout was "different" but willing to wait and see as you asked. I have now waited and seen. I think it's fine really. Colours are fine too. I did note a while ago that my Windows program window is light gray rather than most users white and it used to interpret correctly but some changes ago it "became" white (response box etc) with the transparent sides and of course it still is. I get strained eyes from this but am willing to accept it. I don't adjust my monitor after calibrating it as I use it for photographic work. My only gripe... :)
Although I am not a fan of ads, it's a reality. After all as a regular "visitor" I get what I am given and expect nothing due to not being a member. I am surprised at some of the responses you have received so early on. I would expect as a paying member to reap the benefit of it being ad free and this may even be enough to convince me. After all you need good reasons for paying for
membership over what us "freeloaders" get for nothing. :)
In summary, it looks fine, works well, and I still get the same information I have always been looking for. I have just noticed though, your own ads seem to have disappeared. I expect they will return as it is a quick and easy reference and a reminder to look into the new things and specials you have.
I know you don't need me to pat you on the back but your work and effort have been interesting to watch. If nothing else, this site is not stagnant. Change for the sake of change is a waste but change for continual improvement is progress.
I notice the difference of this site between my work systems and my home systems in presentation so I guess I am used to seeing things presented differently regularly. Mostly to do with my fluid settings rather than this site.
Cheers Cam.
Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 22:52
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 22:52
Well up here in outback Woop Woop the pigeon used to take 16 hours for post, now he must have been eating turbo corn as he only takes 8 hours.
So keep on with the good work.
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 00:20
Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 00:20
old
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 00:29
Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 00:29
Yeah your looking old Richard :-)
Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 07:58
Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 07:58
Keep up the good work David. The wingers will get over it eventually ;-)
Only comment I'll make is the font colour of the posters name in the follow ups is a tad light. A darker shade or a different colour would be easier to read
Reply By: Member - Graham K (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 16:31
Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 16:31
David what has happened to the
live weather map? I used to look at it every day for our Hot air ballooning operation but haven't been able to find it lately. If It's still there can you point me in the right direction please? In any case how about including a hot spot under the
weather forcasts tab on the
forum page which is where I go several times a day?
Graham