patrol models

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 15:53
ThreadID: 47807 Views:3673 Replies:13 FollowUps:5
looking at buying a patrol to replace 80 series land cruiser. need to know difference between 2.8 & 3.0 and any problems with these models thanks imac

Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 16:04

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 16:04
Must start with GOOD choice ;)

2.8 which I own
abit low on power (nothing a good exhaust or chip can't fix)
need to make sure the coolant has been changed regulary
smaller gearbox than 4.2 but still a good box (from 300z)
same drive line as rest of Patrols so as tough as they come

3.0 can't really comment apart from what I have read hear
My parents 2003 3.0lt is a great car which has proven to be very reliable

You have opened a can of worms here!!! LOL

Cheers Stefan
AnswerID: 252970

Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 17:25

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 17:25
Main difference is 2.8 is a 6 cyl Turbo Diesel
3.0 is a 4 cyl Turbo Diesel
AnswerID: 252983

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:32

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:32
imac,

2.8's can be hard to start in some cases that I have seen and I would steer clear of this if you come across one. Two folks I have known with this problem have spent heaps with only short term fixes. Otherwise I think they are reliable in most other ways. Someone has said about bigger exhaust and power-up modules, I have driven a 2.8 witht he Motson power-up module and I thought it went very well....after about 2000rpm.
3.0's, do a search on the self destructive manner of this motor in the Patrol and you will uderstand why I wouldn't trust one. Most reports of failure come from around the earlier models before about 2001 but who knows when they will stop detonating.
I know you didn't ask about it, but the 4.2's come with some inherent behaviours as well, they tend to run warm/hot (depending who you speak to) when being worked hard in hot ambient temps. They are however predictable and reliable so once used to it, you can still treat them pretty hard for long periods and not do any major damage. I have one with 320000km and it has worked for it's keep. 5th gear is problematic from those produced around 99-01 so beware of this but once properly fixed it should be no further issue. (about 3 grand to fix) If you buy one with fixed gearbox, get the receipt to see what was done, spline shaft should be replaced and 5th gear as bare minimum of fix.

Given the option I would buy another 4.2 but not so sure about the other two. It would really need to be a steal for me to even consider the other two motors.

Regards, Trevor.

PS your 80 series may have less inherent problems than some of the newer ones so unless sure maybe an overhaul of the 80 may be worth contemplating.
AnswerID: 253010

Reply By: madfisher - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:59

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:59
That would be a backward step would it not be, I would take a 80 any time over the 2.8 or 3lt. Now a 4.2 may be a diff matter
AnswerID: 253017

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:48

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:48
I agree, get a 4.2 or keep the 80, 80s are a great machine!! Michael
FollowupID: 514127

Reply By: Member - Thomo - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:07

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:07
Recently traded the 3.0 lt turbo Patrol having done 250,000 Km with and apart from tyres and routine services not another $ had to be spent on it. In my judgment they are a good rig and only fault is in low range the throttle can be a bit of a hand full.

This time round went for the new twin cab Navara as we wanted a ute.
AnswerID: 253043

Follow Up By: madfisher - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 22:11

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 22:11
You won the lottery with that one mate
Cheers pete
FollowupID: 514136

Reply By: barney rubble - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:26

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:26
Gday mate may i presume your upgrade is to do with power if so if so spend the extra and go for a 4.2 turbo intercooled deisol we did and im sure its got wings
sorry for a litlle off ya question but just my 2 bobs worth cheers
AnswerID: 253052

Reply By: barney rubble - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:35

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:35
see thread no 47797 I rest may case your honour
AnswerID: 253053

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 22:17

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 22:17
Hi imac,

I owned an 80 series 1HZ 4.2 diesel for many years before getting my 3.0TD and am very happy with my choice of replacement (regardless of all the doomsdayers who have rarely owned either).

Bottom line is, offroad they are both extremely competent with the 1HZ marginally infront on rocky trails where bottom end torque and low gearing is paramount. However, head to the beach for sand driving and the 3.0TD is SO far in front it is not funny (272Nm vs 420Nm is no contest). Overall I prefer the 3.0TD offroad but thast because I do more beach work that rock crawling.

If using as a tow vehicle then the 3.0TD cannot be compared to the 1HZ. Hills that were 3rd gear in the 1HZ are 5th gear in the 3.0 TD, it is THAT much better. Add in the fact that I get much better fuel economy with the 3.0TD (typically 2l/100km better all round) while having the power and you can see why i have been very happy with the GU 3.0TD.

And for general daily driving the 3.0TD is almost car-like compared to the 1HZ. Both are "trucks" but at least the 3.0TD easily keeps up with the traffic flow and can actually easily overtake when in the country (even if towing!).

Many people will make many comments about these 4WD's, but i have owned both and this has been my experience.

AnswerID: 253062

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 07:49

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 07:49
Captain,

Of obviously ther would be a lot of difference power wise. One is turbo engine and the other not unless of course you had a hairdryer put on the 1hz
FollowupID: 514167

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 10:00

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 10:00
Hi Dave,

That's pretty much my point! The 80 series and GU are very similar in all respects , a non 4WDriver cannot tell them apart if you covered the badges up. One could argue till the cows come home but the reality is they are both live axle, coil sprung full-size wagons - the rest is trimming really. You could discuss all day which drivetrain is stronger, which vehicle is better finished etc... but they both exceed what is required, its just a matter of how far.

Then you get the engines, no turbo, turbo, indirect injection, HP fuel rail, electronic pump, mechanical pump etc... all different variations of something that gives good economy and performance albeit to a noticeable degree of difference at times. Both have models to avoid and you need to do some research here, but even then its only a small % that actually have issues on both sides.

Its because they are actually so similar that you always get the "toyota vs nissan" discussion about whats "best". The bottom line is, not one is best - they all have their advantages and disadvantages and depending on your needs one will come out in front marginally. However, it doesn't really matter what you end up with, either will do the job and get you there in safety and comfort - the rest is about owners arguing who has a bigger one!

I have had both and would honestly be happy with either - you cannot go wrong. But then, owners bias and ego's come into it and they start trying to justify their choice of vehicle, particularly sad when they rubbish a vehicle they have never even owned or even driven in some cases (NOT referring to you here, just a general comment about the toyota vs nissan thing).

FollowupID: 514192

Reply By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 22:52

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 22:52
Try my site here
AnswerID: 253073

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 23:55

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 23:55
As an auto 3.0 patrol owner I can say I love it, on the beach, in the bush, towing, around town, long country trips, I love it.

Yes there have been problems with some of them, and one or two people on this forum actually know a thing or two about them, but just because one of those people chooses to have a photo of a 3.0 piston with a hole in it does not preclude that persons choice of manufacturer from having problems.

Get one with a waranty and get an extended waranty and have fun.

Muzz

AnswerID: 253083

Reply By: Dampier1 - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 08:24

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 08:24
I have a 3 ltr st 2005. Early days yet about the reliability. But can tell you with a few mods, its a real work horse that will go anywhere. I am very pleased with it at the moment, but the end of the day, you have to be confident in it.
But a chip in, bigger exhaust, egr closed off and boost-pyro gauge. The gauges should tell me if there is any problems happening
AnswerID: 253104

Reply By: jeffwa - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 10:41

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 10:41
I have not OWNED either, but I have driven both, and I have driven a 3.0L extensivly over a number of years in my old line of work. I actually own a 3.0L surf personally.

Now I am looking at upgrading to somthing bigger in the next 2-3 years as the kids get older/bigger. It has been a realy problem for me to find somthing that suits my personal needs.

The 80's in my opinion were if not THE best, at least one of the best 4wd's ever sold in Australia and they are hard to beat.

So if you want a full sized diesel 4by, what do you do?

I could buy an 80 - but they are getting a little long in the tooth to start one out as a long term purchase for me.

You can buy a 100 Series Turbo Diesel - Bloody expensive (too much for my blood) and a weak/crappy IFS setup up front. So no good.

You can buy a 3.0L Patrol - Solid axels, plenty of power, auto option, but bugger me if I could confidently spend that much money on somthing with so many documented problems, I'd always be listening for that new strange noise and never be able to relax. Plus after driving one, personally I did not like them that much. I found the seats uncomfortable, the interior too plasticy and the turbo lag abismal. But that's just me.

You could get the 4.2 patrol, but then it's the same interior as the 3.0L and there is no auto option, plus the prices on these are staying high as they have disconitued it.

So I came to the conclusion that a 105 series cuiser in an RV or GLX which has front and rear solid axels (albiet with a weaker front diff than the 80) and the same 1HZ engine as the 80 would be my next choice. You can also find these in auto's and they are not priced too bad second hand. I could then spend the savings on price on an intercooler and turbo for it and be as happy as a pig in bleep .

As you can tell after owning an auto 4wd, I don't want to go back to a manual, so that plays a big part in my thinking/planning on this issue.

I'm not trying to be a doomsdayer, people dooms dayed me to the hills when I was buying the surf and it's been a pearler for over 4 years, but the way Nissan has dealt with the problems that have come up is pretty bad. Our work GU didn't self destruct (I think it was a 2003-04) but it did have problems with randomly losing power and the check engine light continually comming on. Nissan was not very helpful with these problems either, with it spending two weeks in a nissan dealer over 1 month period and the problems still never being resolved. The boss ended up selling it and buying a prado. That is a true story, not made up to knock any brand, he just got sick of it so he ditched it. His choice to go Toyota was partly because he was cheesed with Nissan, but more to do with that fact that his brother in law worked at a Toyota dealer and did him a good deal.

AnswerID: 253124

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 16:27

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 16:27
Hi Jeff,

I seriously thought about the 105 series std and adding a turbo when I replace my 80 series. But things that turned me off was the "Prado" gearbox (R151 instead of the H151 like in the non-turbo 80 series and turbo 100 series) and the indirect injection of the 1HZ motor (turbo version was direct injection).

While many have successfully done a turbo conversion on the 1HZ, there are arguably more horror stories about turbo conversion issues than 3.0TD issues given the relative number of each.

While I haven't had any motor issues, I too have read all the 3.0TD horror stories and know just how poor Nissan after-sales-service is first hand. While a 3.0TD with Dtronic and EGR blocked certainly performs MUCH better than standard, its reputation lets it down and Nissan have only got themselves to blame for that.

And I reckon the closest to a perfect 4WD was the late 80 series auto 4.2TD, if only they made them new. At 9 years old they are getting a little long in the tooth now but are still a formidable beast.

FollowupID: 514289

Reply By: Tim (vic) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 22:14

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 22:14
Have had 3.o diesel Patrol for 5 years (2002 model) and has not missed a beat. I tow 1.5 tonne most days and the only thing it may need in the next 12 months may be a clutch. More than happy with the power and economy.

Cheers Tim
AnswerID: 253264