Waeco Trap or Dual Battery Dope..That's me!!!
Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 15:55
Member - John L G
After annoying you lot the other week about batteries, dual, Calcium, AGM blah blah blah and the fact the house battery seemed to be going flat much to quickly in use, I decided that before spending the dollars replacing batteries, that it would be wise to have a look through the wiring system looking for possible leaks as suggested by some.
However, before I got down and dirty, I isolated both batteries and placed them on charge with one of those el-cheapo jobs - red,
orange and green indicator lights -that put out aout 2.5amps contiuous. Interestingly the "Cranking" battery took approx 14 hours to come up to charge according to the green light on the charger but the "House" battery took about 30 hours to show the same.
So where had all the charge gone remembering my truck is only used for
camping and sits in the drive doing zip between playtimes with all the gadgets turned off, or so I thought?
So, during the constant checking of the battery charge state which I did pretty regularly up to bed time over the two dfays it took, I noticed on one trip around the back of the truck when I had the carport light turned off in the evening, that a faint glow was visible in the canopy.
Yep - You may have guessed it - It was the internal fridge light on the Waeco 80 litre job which although turned off at the fridge panel, still provided power to the fridge light as I had the lid wedged ajar to air the interior. The power chord I normally leave permanently plugged in via the fuse board in the canopy and it would seem that even with the fridge is turned "off", it will still supply power to the light - trap for old players methinks.
So that, coupled with
camping trips of a few hours driving duration and overnighting with all the acc draining away the juice I consider the problem now solved.
I suppose your never to old to learn...........But did save some dollars by not turfing a perfectly good battery after I had finished the Humble Pie.
It's all good now.
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 16:16
Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 16:16
John,
Have you considered using one of those "el cheapo" solar panels that plug into your cig lighter.
I put one on the CT and it solved about 95% of the battery problems.
They don't put much in and it is not continuous because the sun goes down at times but they just keep a little going in every day. The auto electrician I spoke to reckons they are great for exactly that situation. Only cost about $25 at Big W too.
Follow Up By: Member - John L G - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 16:48
Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 16:48
Duncs,
Have been considering seriou solar for a while now and use it on the boat for the same reasons you describe. I didn't know Woolies had one but woth a look I reckon at those dollars
Will need to sus it out when I get back to
Perth as my next project
Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 19:51
Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 19:51
G'day DW great idea never thought of that. My car sits in the garage for weeks on end and whilst I don't leave the fridge in the back the solar panel your talking about would be justt he ticket to keep the batteries charged.
Reply By: pedro the swift - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 09:20
Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 09:20
It is not a good idea to leave a battery sitting idle for a long time without a trickle charger connected. It will lose charge and "sulphate up" and lose capacity. Been there done that.
I bought on of those "cheap" solar panels but I don't think they are any good. They seem to deteirate and lose output. Best to get a quality one if thats what you need.
Follow Up By: Member - John L G - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 11:09
Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 11:09
With you on this Pedro however however the truck probably only sits for a couple of weeks between runs so sulpahting really shouldn't be that big an issue.
The trap I found myself in was the constant drain from the fridge light when I thought turning the fridge off on the panel meant just that..
Still, never to old to learn!