can anyone assist a friend in Port Headland

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 20:52
ThreadID: 47892 Views:2890 Replies:8 FollowUps:2
Gday explorers...
A friend has broken a 5 speed gearbox behind a 1hz diesel in a 1991 75 series troupy. They have it in bits at Port Headland, and the repair is almost as much as the truck is worth...apparently and 5 speed from late 40 series, 60 series 75 series will fit up with some mods...so....if anyone here knows someone with wrecks on the farm or knows of a gearbox in the WA area, please contact Pete direct on 042223848

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 20:56

Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 20:56
There is a whole stack of them out the back of [insert favourite community, including Titjitkala - heaps there; Kalumburu; Halls Creek to name a few].

Sorry to be of no assistance, but trying to get help in Port Headland or anywhere up the Mining Coast is really hard... I'd try 4wd spares places in Perth - at least there is regular trucking from there.
AnswerID: 253415

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 21:31

Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 21:31
Palmerston 4wd spares in Darwin, truck second hand and new parts around Oz, I recommend them but not cheep.

Their # is 0889323233 ask for Rick.

Steve.
AnswerID: 253435

Reply By: ozwasp - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 00:30

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 00:30
Plenty in the quokka (sorry to eastern staters who don't know what I'm talking about)

Perth's a bit closer than Darwin - and probably a lot cheaper to freight from
AnswerID: 253459

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 01:02

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 01:02
Try this wrecker

Midland 4 Wheel Drive Centre
31 Wildon Street, Bellevue W.A. 6056
Phone: +61 08 9250 2226
Fax: +61 08 9274 1546
Email: midland4@globaldial.com

AnswerID: 253462

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 01:02

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 01:02
Try this wrecker

Midland 4 Wheel Drive Centre
31 Wildon Street, Bellevue W.A. 6056
Phone: +61 08 9250 2226
Fax: 08 9274 1546
Email: midland4@globaldial.com

AnswerID: 253463

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 01:03

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 01:03
GGgrrr ufff

FollowupID: 514544

Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 01:30

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 01:30
I'm living in Hedland now. The advice to try Perth 4wd wreckers etc would be a good bet. Nothing at all here in Hedland in the way of parts and if there is a 75 series g/box around it's likely to be from an ex mines ute.

I can't even find any decent s/hand split rims up here! Good luck with a good quality 5 speed. I'm having to try 4wd wreckers in Perth to get my splits. Toll freight company seems to be the most used up here.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 253466

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 16:16

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 16:16
I know gearboxes are expensive at the best of times (we get ours rebuilt at Collie), but Pt Hedland must be expensive. My daughter's boss had a Ford Transit van sent to Perth by truck because the clutch went on it. It seemed a bit extreme to us, but maybe not with NW pricing!

AnswerID: 253567

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 15:52

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 15:52
UPDATE

Don't know if your friend has found a solution yet. If not, trucking to Perth for cheaper repairs not as bad as i thought. It cost only a few 100 dollars as trucks are returning empty most of the time. In this case, the repairs were done in a few days in Perth and now ready to be driven north again.

FollowupID: 514917

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 17:46

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 17:46
Gday everyone
The quote was 3500. I believe they have found one on the east coast and it is being shipped to Perth, then headland.
They will just have to spend some more time exploring that area :)
Another vehicle lost a rear diff when suspension bol;ts fell out in the Kimberley...s its been a surprising trip....they have met plenty of locals :@)
AnswerID: 253584