Member - John B (WA)
I own a Mitsubishi Triton Dual cab 2005 and i wish to have fitted a long range
tank and
suspension kit. I am a newbie to the 4x4 world and Im loving it. Probably got the wrong 4x4 but its OK for starters. Can anyone give me some pointers on where to look, what to look for for both tha above.
Much appreciated
Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 21:25
Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 21:25
Longranger do a Triton long range
tank.
www.oot4wd.com.au
As for
suspension - it depends on what you need - how much load, what clearance, etc.
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 21:37
Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 21:37
And don't underestimate the capabilities of the Triton... I have wiped the smirks off several faces with no more modification than a set of mud terrains...
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 21:47
Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 21:47
Sure - I had a couple on tag-alongs, but the ramp-over and entry exit angles were a little restricting - particularly that long bumper...
Reply By: Brian T (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 21:44
Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 21:44
I have been talking to my local tyre place, Widetread Tyres in
Lilydale Vic. and they have one as a work ute. They tell me that it is quite easy and no more expensive than anu other 4x4 to upgrade/modify the
suspension. Just a matter of what you want to do. Also have a look at any of the
suspension companies sites and you will find a wide range of compatble parts for all models. If only my budget/SWMBO will allow....
Brian T
Reply By: Member - Ben E (NT) - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 23:27
Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 23:27
Gday John, mate we've got a 2004 GLS and it's a top truck! As a Dual-Cab option it's a great option. Sure, the Triton may not have the "Bush Cred" of a Patrol or Cruiser, but a lot of what a vehicle can do depends on the driver.
We just got back from the
Kimberley and we had no issues what so ever and it wasn't because we spent 4 weeks driving around
Broome.
Have a great time with your Triton and please let us know how you go with the
suspension upgrade. We're looking at doing the same. The factory gear held up
well enough but the Gibb does a pity good job on most.
Ben
Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 07:13
Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 07:13
I got my Long Range
Tank from the Arrogant Rude Blokes, got it for cost +5% and fitted it myself. Would have been easier if I had a hoist but where's the adventure in that.
I haven't done the
suspension yet, but have been tempted to get either OME or Ultimate
suspension.
Check my Rig Page for other ideas as to what to add if you are after other options and SWMBO has loosened the purse strings LOL
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 07:17
Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 07:17
Upgraded my Navara
suspension to Ride Pro, heavy duty, springs and shockers.
Approx 2" lift all round, actually softer than original,
Check out original post 41523
Total cost ,$920 ( as I only needed 2 new shockers, as I had already replaced the rear shockers 12 months earlier, and they were OK ! )
Cheers Mate
Reply By: MAVERICK(WA) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 09:21
Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 09:21
give k&n a call - they do a good job in tanks. talk to ashley at arb
welshpool re your
suspension. don't underestimate the triton - many years ago we had them as company cars and like hire cars they did amazing things and just wouldn't die...........mind you they needed the full width of
cable beach at low tide to do a u-turn but then again so do all these ifs vehicles. just enjoy the new found freedom you will find. rgds
Reply By: Member - Scooby (WA) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 10:42
Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 10:42
Hi John B,
I second K&N Fabrication. They fitted a 110 litre
tank in the rear of my Hilux, where the spare tyre used to live. I can switch from
tank to
tank via a six port valve controlled by a switch on the dash. Fuel levels for both tanks read out on the stock fuel gauge depending on which
tank is selected.
Very happy with the operation and installation. Have had the
tank for nearly four years now with no problems.
Scooby
Follow Up By: Member - John B (WA) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 12:29
Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 12:29
Great info thanks to all.
Scooby I wondered do K&N have a website?
Cheers John
Reply By: Member - Scooby (WA) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 12:39
Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 12:39
John,
Website below
www.kn4wd.com/
Scooby
Reply By: GGtriton - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 19:37
Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 19:37
I have an 05 twin cab triton and have done the mods you have enquired about and a lot more. I have a long
ranger tank fitted and have had no problems at all with it, it has been fitted since new and i am very happy with it.
I have had a 2 inch lift with Lovells rear heavy springs, new torsion bars and lovells springs all round. Have not really tested it out yet but the difference is great and the front has not settled all that much after over 8 months of install.
As others have said the Triton is a handy unit which will get you
places which will surprise both yourself and others. Just make sure you have an escape route or a mate near by just in case. A good set of tyres is also a great mod which is easy and makes a great difference.
Follow Up By: Member - John B (WA) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 19:54
Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 19:54
GGtritin thanks for the info - Can i ask where you got the
suspension kits from and cost? Also tyres is another project for later. Did you just change the tyres or
wheels as
well?what type and size do you use?
Thanks John
Follow Up By: GGtriton - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 09:29
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 09:29
All Terrain 4wd did the install of the
suspension, they are able to get all types of
suspension and are not locked into one brand, from their recomendation i fitted the Lovells gear and are happy with it. From memory the supply and install was just over the $2000 mark, which included
New shocks all round
Heavy duty springs
Heavy duty Torsion bars
Greasable shackles to leaf springs
This gave me a 50mm lift to the rear and around 40mm to the front, more could be acheieved at the front but the bump stops would come into play.
I changed the tyres from new and have kept the original rims. I am running Cooper ST and again am impressed by them, have had no chipping and when the pressure is let down they have some grat grip. they are a 265/75/16.