F3 Sydney to Newcastle

Submitted: Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 18:07
ThreadID: 47923 Views:8951 Replies:17 FollowUps:11
Does anyone remember:
When the tollway between Sydney & Newcastle via Hornsby & Peats Ridge first opened?
What was the toll?
When did the road then become a freeway ie when was the toll dropped?

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 18:36

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 18:36
Dunno Marilyn, I have lived in Newcastle for about 35 yrs. It was certainly operating in about the mid to late 70's. The toll was dropped in the early 80's I think. I have no idea of how much the toll used to be but remember often paying it.
Sorry, not any help to you.
AnswerID: 253592

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 18:37

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 18:37
I drove Trucks up and down it for years , I can remember when it finished near Mt White, and later we used to go from about Wyong to Hexham via Heavy Vehicle around Newcastle, and to tell the truth I can't ever remember a Toll on it ,

Doug

AnswerID: 253593

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 19:32

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 19:32
Doug, Does the name "Barefoot", ring a bell?

Axle.
FollowupID: 514658

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 19:41

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 19:41
Axle
No not off hand , ...why ,..well when I was a kid I could run and skid on stones without shoes, , not now though,

FollowupID: 514661

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 20:02

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 20:02
He was a well known truckie back then , carting produce , central coast .. Sydney ..Newcastle. Still going !! carting light freight and STILL!! dosen't wear boots. ( Well when he can get away with it) ...lol.
FollowupID: 514664

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 20:07

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 20:07
Axle
No didn't know anyone from that local run Syd/Newcastle, I was Bris/Syd and everywhere else ,and Wagga Wagga in the 70s

FollowupID: 514665

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 18:42

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 18:42
Marilyn,

From what I have found off the internet

F3 Freeway - History
The construction of the F3 Freeway has been a major engineering achievement taking almost 40 years and almost $1,000,000,000 ($1 billion) to complete.

The Freeway is 127 km long and links Sydney, the Central Coast and Newcastle and is part of the National Highway funded by the Commonwealth Government. The F3 replaced the old Pacific Highway which was built in the 1920’s along a route that had existed since 1847, when settler George Peat cut a track to his property on the banks of the Hawkesbury River. The first section of the F3 was constructed between the Hawkesbury River and Mount White and opened as a toll road in 1965. The Liberal State Government subsequently removed the toll on the F3.

The Federal Government has spent more than $1 Billion building and improving the F3 since 1965.

I hope this helps found it by Googling F3 History

AnswerID: 253594

Reply By: Member - Jack - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 18:55

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 18:55
A road is a "major engineering achievement"?????

Blast through a stack of sandstone, roller it flat, stick some concrete and then tar over it .. viola! Instant Freeway.

Must have been written by one of the "academics" at the RTA.

If it is such a masterpiece, how come it has speed restrictions along it (apart from the current roadworks). I always thought freeways were designed to move high volumes of traffic over large distances quickly. They are in the US. Here they are an excuse to raie a bit more revenue.

Oh, and sorry Marilyn, I cannot remember the toll charge, although I paid it regularly.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 253599

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 20:44

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 20:44
Jack,
A little more to building a road than that....... Don't forget the drainage which as I sit here am pricing some drainage for a new freeway.
If the F3 is 127kms then just for drainage alone you would be looking at approx between 280kms and 450km of drainage.
Then the drainage to keep the water from going under the road which would probably be over 500kms.
There is probably over 2000kms of conduit to carry power, optic fibre (For those information signs) and the emergency phones.
The mooneey mooneey bridge is quite impressive, not to forget the hawkseberry bridges and Jolls bridge.
As for the construction of the road itself most roads usually have at least 600 of compacted material, then the concrete and then the ashphalt.
FollowupID: 514677

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 08:22

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 08:22
Hi Peter.

I understand that there are a lot of resources, time and effort that go into any freeway/road system.

I was just concentrating on the "engineering masterpiece" part of the story. The Mooney Bridge is impressive, but I don't see anything unique or groundbreaking that would make it a masterpiece. Same for Jolls and the Hawkesbury bridges.

Tunnel Under the Harbour. That impresses me. Opera House, despite being stuffed up by near sighted, shallow thinking politicans, is a masterpiece. The Harbour Bridge in its day was a masterpiece of engineering.

F3???? Nah ... just another road ... which was too narrow when it opened and is now just being widened to 3 lanes ... which is already too narrow even before it is finished. And is deemed incapable of sustaining traffic at 110 kph along its entire length. I expect roundabouts at any moment.

But I appreciate your input ... sure does need a lot of stuff to get them going.

Kind reagrds

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 514723

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy- Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 19:00

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 19:00
I don't know when they opened the toll booths at Hornsby (too young) but I do remember the toll in the early 80's as being 20c. When Dad bought the 1st diesel 75 series troopie in NSW (1985) the toll was no longer charged. Funny how you remember things by either vehicles or music.

If my memory is wrong I was only young!!
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 253600

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 20:19

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 20:19
Hows it going Tour Boy ,

When I was a youngster I lived with my Grandparents , We had a place up the Central coast . Would like to be the guy that proved to my old Grandfather that he saved cash by paying the toll . Was it 60c before it ended , cant remember myself , just remember heaps of trips up the 'old road'.

Glenn.
FollowupID: 514669

Reply By: garrycol - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 19:01

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 19:01
The tolls at one stage were 20c for each section. The toll was removed in about late 1986 maybe early 1987 with the opening of the section from berowra to hornsby. The only reason the toll was dropped was because the road became a federal road and then funded by the federal government. I was the first motor bike to ride along it when it became a federally funded road with the opening of the last section.

Garry
AnswerID: 253602

Reply By: Member - Axle - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 19:19

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 19:19
Hi Marilyn, The first sectioned opened in 1965 as mentioned above, The southern side of the Hawksberry bridge was well under construction in 1967, I remember that well,as there was a bad incident that happened regarding a dozer dislodging a large boulder which went over the edge landing on top off a new vc valiant sedan stopped in a line of traffic below, unfortunately it was a fatal result.

The toll was 60c at the closing years of those booths.

AnswerID: 253609

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 17:15

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 17:15
Hi Axle, you have evoked a memory almost forgotten re the Valiant & the boulder
incident on the freeway. You are indeed correct as I was in that line of traffic,
two cars back from the Valiant. the rock was as big as the car & reduced it to
several inches high, fracturing the surrounding road surface. A very shaky trip to
Newcastle then followed. There but for fortune......oldbaz.
FollowupID: 514796

Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 20:04

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 20:04
LOL @ people who have to pay Tolls to drive on roads when the Govt make so much money from the tax's on fuel. Sure they save time, but no road should ever be tolled. People get brainwashed into thinking it's acceptable.
AnswerID: 253617

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 21:08

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 21:08
Brew,
I agree with the tolls once it was explained to me a few weeks ago. We as taxpayers do not fund the freeways these days. Generally a consortium funds the construction of the road. The government (We) own the land.
Once the construction is paid for by way of tolls, there is still a number of years the consortium still keeps the toll on the road to make profits. The consortium still has to maintain the tollway during the set amount of years as agreed by the government and the consortium.
Once the set number of years have expired then the tollways become free.
As for the Harbour Bridge. That agreement expired many years ago. I think by memory that expired 20 years ago. But and it makes real good sense, if they took the toll off the bridge and had a toll for the tunnel then nobody would use the tunnel.
So in conclusion we do ultimately pay for these roads but the construction is not from taxpayers. The construction costs come from only those who use it.......
Hope that makes sense.
FollowupID: 514679

Reply By: Graeme - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 20:22

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 20:22
Marilyn,
The Tollway opened on 15 December 1965. The first section was between Hawkesbury River and Mount White, about 6 mikes in length.
I am less certain of the toll, but I remember it being 2 shillings when it was changed to decimal currency in early 1966.
AnswerID: 253619

Reply By: Philip A - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 21:00

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 21:00
You know that the toll booths are still there, ready to be reactivated at any time.
They hide by the Berowra on ramp North on the old pacific Highway.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 253626

Reply By: mightyQ - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 21:36

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 21:36
G'day Marilyn, It's been a long time!, Yeah I remember the toll way, from memory when I moved to Newcastle in the early 70's(about 71) I remember the toll just starting but for the life of me can't remember it being cut out when the F3 opened.
I do remember the toll being 60cents for me when I passed through but I was on a bike then.
By the way Sal and I are in Tumbolong tonight, not as cold as Carcoar or Bilpin.

Say hello to all.....dogs included

Andrew and Sally
AnswerID: 253629

Follow Up By: Member - Marilyn P (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 15:24

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 15:24
Slim, Strewth, Snowy say hello back. All the cold is for good snow - 6 days til I'm there. Keep safe.
FollowupID: 514788

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 22:19

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 22:19
Hi Marilyn,
I remember as a kid in Mum and Dad's grey EH Holden stopping at the toll gates at Berowra and Dad religiously pointing out "I didn't buy the bloody road, just borrowed the bastard" for years.
Mum and Dad sold the EH to buy a HT so somewhere between 1965 and about 1968 is my guess.
I know the EH came out in 1964 but Dad never bought a current model Holden, he'd always wait for the new model runout.

I also remember Mum worming my brother and I one morning before we left for Sydney in the EH. She only did it once.
Why? Because I puked this bright red worm stuff all down the back of her kneck!!

Hope this helps,

AnswerID: 253641

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 22:23

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 22:23
Dad burred at 20 cents toll as I remember it.

FollowupID: 514698

Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 22:27

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 22:27
The toll was removed by Nick Greiner the day after he won the election in NSW. It was a promise during the campaign but I don't know which year. 60 cents sounds right too.
AnswerID: 253642

Reply By: peterll - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 00:10

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 00:10
Hi Marilyn,

Gosh now that was a long time ago. I worked on the southern section of the road (Hawksbury River to Berowra).

By now the good folks here have given you the opening date of the northern section (Hawksbury to Mt White). The memory is cloudy now but 1970 may have been the date of the opening of the toll booth at Berowra.

Little things I do remember..

Abigano was the main earth moving contractor, he had only just started out in business then. If it rained too much ( a cigarette paper held up..if it got wet the work stopped) the company would stop work so the tyres on the CAT and WABCO scapers didn't get damaged. (WABCO scrapers had no steering wheel..all done by butons.

And yes, I remember the accident of the Valiant. Just north of the bridge a D9 was stacking rocks and one slipped over the edge, hit the "hall road" and then bounced down onto the Pacific hwy below.A grandfather and two kids didn't know what happened, the only thing left was a case of oranges in the back seat.

I had a couple of jobs there. One hanging off the side of a cutting (near the railway tunnel south of the bridge) on a rope knocking loose rocks off. The other as a "Tallyman". Each scraper had a number which was ticked off according to their number and so paid by the load. Nightshift was great ..cash in the pocket for a young guy for a tick :)

That particular tunnel was so close to the road that they would stop trains when blasting went on due to cracks being made.

The last job I worked on was with the landscape crew. Every plant from the bridge to the tollbooth was grown at Mt White nursery and planted by hand. Young fellows from Milson Island were sent over to drive walk behind lawnmowers. Our boss told us to wear green so we could hide behind the newly installed guard-rails LOL

The toll was 20 cents each way.

Way back at the beginning of the plan for a road north, an American company, forget who now, tendered but it went to Abigano and someone else umm, as the Americans wanted to build the whole thing with their equipment and labour and collect the toll. The government of the time decided that Australians could do the job cheaper and better. How they figured that out I don't know, we had never built such a roadway before. $1 million per mile it cost.

Oh yes..that's why the road is designed in two different ways. The northern section didn't "stack" rocks to hold the fill. and surveyors screwed up on some of the corners making them only 90 kph :)

Let me know if you need any further information

Peterll
AnswerID: 253654

Reply By: wheeleybin - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 08:31

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 08:31
Does Chicago Bridge ring a bell as they were big when I was young......ger.
I think they later bacame Chicago Lennox.
ian
AnswerID: 253666

Reply By: Member - Marilyn P (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 15:16

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 15:16
Thanks everone for your input. Tried to find the answers on the internet myself but had difficulties. Your collective knowledge has helped me out. Thank you.
AnswerID: 253717

Reply By: Middle Jeff - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 19:26

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 19:26

I can remember the day they removed the toll they made a real big thing about it and the premier was the last to pay the toll and with all the TV cameras their. Funny thing about it was that the toll collector did not see the good side of it and gave the minister heaps for tacking his job away, surprising no one saw that one coming.

Have fun
Craig
AnswerID: 253745