Fair dinkum, some people are lucky

Submitted: Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 20:09
ThreadID: 47930 Views:2677 Replies:3 FollowUps:2
Went into my local for lunch today. On arrival the bar girl informs me my mate was in the pokies room. Went in and found him surrounded by a mob of women jumping up and down. He'd won the Jackpot!

Bit of background to this story. Both of us had spent 12 months researching and planning our annual trip up north. However financial constraints put a stop to that for the first time in seven years and we've both been drowning in self pity ever since (the world is so unfair etc).

Once we sat down over a beer, his first comment was "where are we going next year". No mention of ringing the missus, or fixing the kitchen.

Gives more credence to the allure of the Outback!

Kim

Reply By: guzzi - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 21:19

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 21:19
Sounds like the start of another cunning plan.
We wont mention the war if you dont.
AnswerID: 253627

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 10:38

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 10:38
Good on him, hope you both get to go.
Personally, if it were raining hundred dollar notes, I'd pick up an invoice :((
AnswerID: 253683

Follow Up By: Member - Phillip S (WA) - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 12:04

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 12:04
lololol....Pihl
FollowupID: 514755

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 16:39

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 16:39
Did you say "BAR GIRL" Kim???? Gawd I havent seen a fairdinkum Bar Girl since the my days frequenting Club 55 in Vung Tau....
AnswerID: 253723

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 17:47

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 17:47
Fawlty

In the dim light it looked like a girl and she was definitely behind the bar. If I was talking to a Mack truck again, it could be time to give up the grog!

Kim
FollowupID: 514800