Aircompressor. Which one???

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 07:48
ThreadID: 47938 Views:3212 Replies:9 FollowUps:4
In the market to purchase an aircompressor to be used for the tyres on my 4WD and Camper.
But getting a bit confused with all the specs.
What sort of Ltrs/min should I be looking for under load. Want to be able to inflate 6 tyres one after the other without having to wait too long or compressor overheating and cutting out.
Any brand and model recommendations would be appreciated.
Thanks heaps,
Gerard

Reply By: RovingOz (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 08:50

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 08:50
Many comparisons have been done on these in the mags. The blue tongue did alright, usually pay for what you get here. What you've got to look at carefully is the hoses. Usually crap, fittings get hot and blow off or the hose blows a hole. I ended up getting Enzed to join some oxy welding ruuber hose on the compressor end which stands the heat (100 deg). $10.
AnswerID: 253667

Reply By: DaveO*ST-R - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 09:16

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 09:16
Gerard,

I recently purchased the Projecta "Typhoon" twin head compressor after doing considerable research through the many forums available. Site Link
www.4wd1.com/i_tyre_pump_kit.htm

The other one I gave a lot of consideration to was the Bushranger Max Air, however I settled on the Typhoon as I felt it was better value for money for me. I If you hunt around, you should pick up one for a lot less than the Bushranger or the price quoted in the link. I did not buy mine through them.

Performance wise, more than happy with it. Very quiet, pumps my tyres from 15 - 35 psi in around 1 minute 20 seconds each and just keeps on going without a hint of stopping. Although I have not tried 6 tyres one after the other, from all accounts, this compressor will handle it easily without fear of overheating and cutting out. Obviously, though, seeing the winter chills are with us down here, I will have to wait a while to see how it performs on a stinking hot day!! As I read in other posts while researching, the point where the hose connects to the compressor gets quite hot, so you need to use a glove when disconnecting it. Don't know if others do the same.

I am sure you will gets heaps of other opinions, but this is just my two bob's worth.

DaveO

AnswerID: 253670

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 09:16

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 09:16
Maxair is the one I use to pump up my 315/75R16 (ie: 35") MTZs (and I've got of these big suckers. The Maxair has been copied by a few different Chinese manufacturers and these copies are much cheaper.....but I don't know how long they will last. My Maxair is about 4 years old and gets used frequently, as it is permanently hooked up to the whole air "system" on my Patrol. It keeps a tank pumped up to around 90psi all the time, for operating air horns, diff locker etc, and has outlets front and rear for tyre inflation.
AnswerID: 253671

Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 11:49

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 11:49
My Maxair is a couple of years old but works like new. Their top 2 models are still the best in Australia.
You get some decent wires and clamps for connecting to the battery and a reasonable length of air hose which allows a 360 degree access to your tyres.

I dont like the part that attaches to the tyre valve so I plan on changing it to a screw on type.

I takes about 3 minutes per 33in tyre from 16-35 psi
FollowupID: 514753

Reply By: Graeme - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 14:45

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 14:45
I have been using a Blue Tongue IV single for 12 months now and have found it will pump up 285/75-16 tyres easily from 20 to 45 psi in about 3 minutes per tyre.
The most tyres in a single run was 16 ie.- 4 cars, and the unit kept going without seeming to lose efficiency. Ambient on that day was 31 celsius. It is regularly used for reseating tyres after changing, takes about 7 minutes to do each one. Have now connected it to a pressure tank, an acqual-ung actually and the 72 cubic foot tank has been helpful aroung the farm workshopas well.

I think the Blue Tongue would be worth serious consideration in your evaluations.
AnswerID: 253716

Reply By: mattie - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 17:05

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 17:05
I have a big red and it is a great pump, it's performance under load when i bought it was probably the best although with no load there were a couple that had greater l/min. But since then there are probably a dozen different manufacturers in the market place, there maybe others that out perform ours now but u might want to check to see if u are able to buy spare parts if u are paying good money for it.

MATTIE
AnswerID: 253727

Reply By: Member - Paul S (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 17:23

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 17:23
G'day Gerard,

Some of the above claims are pretty good compared to my ARB unit which takes around half an hour to pump both CT and car (6 tyres) from 20 to 40 PSI.

However, I happened to be away with a group in the VIC High Country a couple of years ago and one of our party had an 'endless air'. Very very impressive and takes seconds instead of minutes to inflate tyres; not sure of the ltrs/min spec.

Rather costly I believe although there have been posts on this forum in the past which suggest purchasing a standard auto aircon compressor, perform a couple of simple mods and fit it yourself. Brackets to hang it in-line with your belt could be a bit tricky; depends how handy you are. I suggest you do an 'endless air' search.

Good luck,

AnswerID: 253729

Follow Up By: Harry - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 20:18

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 20:18
Paul,
There is a new ARB unit out now, at the same price as old and it craps over it's predecessor, like over 60litres/ min. compared to old at 27.
2 ARB blokes went bush in separate vehicles, for day drive, let tyres down to get through slippery stuff and at end of day pumped tyres back up.
First bloke had old ARB compressor and 2nd bloke had new model.
1st bloke pumped up 3 tyres and his mate finished his and pumped up 1 of his mates to boot and it's smaller as well. It will pump air at a constant rate.
The big plus with the ARB compressor is the warranty. All of the competition are made overseas as far as I know.
FollowupID: 514982

Follow Up By: Member - Paul S (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 21:44

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 21:44
Hi Harry,

The ARB model I have is RDCKA and, according to ARB's website, it is rated at 28 ltrs/min under load (36 no-load). When did this new 60 ltr unit come out? Its not listed on their website.

FollowupID: 515003

Follow Up By: Harry - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 19:27

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 19:27
I'd say a few weeks now. It does exist , I've had it in my hot little hand.
Being smaller makes it easier to mount somewhere.
The R&D dept. were told to make it heaps better, smaller and for the same price.
I don't think overheating is an issue with this 1.
You probably know there is also the lockers only model as well.
Things don't happen that quick with updates on most websites.
Call your local ARB.
Ave a good 1
FollowupID: 515151

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 18:21

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 18:21
I have an ARB unit and a Max-Air, I would use the Max air every time. Much faster and easier to stow I reckon.

Endless Air are over the top IMHO but Lucy has one and they are fantastic, but they are fitted to one car and not a portable alternative.

AnswerID: 253735

Reply By: Rossco td105 - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 21:04

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 21:04
Hi Gerard,

May depend on required use.

Cheaper unit will work OK if used for the odd weekend every month. Mid range unit is better if used every weekend with standard tyres. Top end (and expensive) unit will be great if you pump 35's every weekend.

Had and have an ARB compressor which worked well with 33's every second weekend, died when I went to larger 35's and required regular use (multiple times a weekend). Only use it for lockers and as a backup now. Not saying it isn't a good unit, just that it's designed for a specific purpose.

My twin tongue is used almost every weekend, pumps all four tyres no prob (and a couple of mates tyres to speed the process up, and hasn't complained yet.

Haven't tried/relied on one of the cheaper jobs so can't comment.

Ross.
AnswerID: 253755

Reply By: Harry - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 20:21

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 20:21
New ARB unit pumps at over 60litres/min constantly and is same price as previous also smaller as well.
Old model does 27litres/min.
AnswerID: 253920