OFF-ROAD CARAVANS - I need info on models available please

Howdy all ,

I am going to sell my Trak Shak Camper and buy an off-road caravan.

It must be able to handle the worst corrugations with no problems .

So far I have found the following manufacturers and asked them for info

Kedron ( Topender )
Bushtracker
Trakmaster
Phoenix

Can anybody give me any good or bad stories on the above off-road caravans or suggest any other companies I should look at .

Thanks a lot ,

Willie.

Reply By: Skippy In The GU - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 20:20

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 20:20
Have you looked at the Kimberly Karavan, it might be smaller than the others but it will go places where the others only dream about.
If your after more space then the one's you mention would be better
AnswerID: 253751

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 21:25

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 21:25
Mr Skippy ,

I think the Kimberley Karavan is way too heavy for what you get from it . I am after more space for my kilogram .

I have talked to two owners in my recent trip to northern WA . The guy I met at Drysdale River Station anwered "sort of" to my question is it dust proof and a guy in the Ironclad Hotel in Marble Bar just looked peed off and didn't answer .

I want a 14 -16 ft caravan that can handle bad corrugations . If I want to go places where it should not go , I just swag it as I do now when I leave the Traky at home .

Thanks ,

Willie
FollowupID: 514830

Reply By: greggu - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 20:38

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 20:38
willie if you want to tow to genuine off road places where you have taken yor trak shak i.e cape etc then only two really IMHO - so after a lot of looking and checking facts they are - i.e kimberley karavan and a supreme getaway 13 to 14 ft made the same wheelbase width as the tow vehicle - but you may need to be aware of possible alleged warranty issues with the odd supreme
Bushtrackers are very strong but incredibly heavy so you need an f250 to tow with and try towing that lot up a soft sand beach - say fraser etc but then thay are really very comfortable - good mate has one
kedrons are sort of in the same league but i would allege kind of a cheaper job than the bushtracker but while they have dragged one of them up the telegraph track to the cape i would l not like to own that one when it gets sold in the future
so this is just my two bobs worth willie - i am not really into caravans ( hate caravan parks ) but age and soft living takes its toll so we will buy either a kimberley karavan or a supreme getaway off road van made the same tow width as the nissan in the near future when we finally decide to sell out kimberley kamper.
see you greg
AnswerID: 253752

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 21:23

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 21:23
Yep The Supreme Getaway will cop plenty and come back for more. I have a 16ft'r but it is a bit too long for serious washaways and the like but tows great on the dirt or the blacktop. 7 and a bit years old with 250000km on the axle says a lot. A smaller version would be very handy if you could live with the smaller interior.

Don't write off a Trackmaster van also, I have spoke to plenty of owners that have good rave's on their rigs too.

Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 514829

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 21:36

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 21:36
Greg ,
I don't want it for tough trips like Cape York , I want it for going barra fishing or gold detecting and I like the security of a van if you stop alone by the side of the road at night .
If I go up Cape York I will have my swag tent which I take on all my bushbashing trips .
As I mentioned above , I think the Kimberley Karavan is an overweight lard arse .
That seems to be your opinion of the Bushtrackers and Kedrons .
I don't like caravan parks . Just cos I'm getting a caravan doesn't mean I use them .
Thanks ,
Willie .

Trevor ,
Thanks for the info on the Supreme Getaway . I will have a close look at it and at the Trakmaster. I dont need it to go through washaways , but it must handle bad corrugations , without falling apart .
Willie
FollowupID: 514832

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 22:41

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 22:41
Willie, if the KK is an "overweight lard arse" just look at the BT and Kedrons that are twice the weight. I think you will find the KK is better set up for out of Caravan parks. There have been some changes in the dust proofing over time in the KK so some variability has to be expected if the owner hasn't updated filters and the like. One of my contacts does thousands of kms over Queensland and NT dusty corriegated roads and has overcome issues of dust. Seeing he has a very early one, I think your other guy who didn't answer hasn't!

If you go the way of a BT, just see that some EOers have gone to an Effie to pull an 18 footer. Some say that they sell quickly, but that doesn't seem to be the case these days as Motherhen observed just last week. A few months ago I was told of a 22 footer, that I saw at a dealer in Melbourne, had actually been sold at $35k second hand. They used to be over $60k and holding. I think fuel is going to hit them more.
FollowupID: 514836

Follow Up By: greggu - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 10:53

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 10:53
hey willie everyones entitled to their opinion about the kkaravans and i am not trying to buy an argument with you or others but personnally i think the kimberley karavan is a brilliant compromise betwen a camper and a off road caravan - i have had a good look at them all believe me but sure i dont yet own one yet but probably will by this time next year - so for comfort and security and rough dirt roads then i reckon 16 ft and up with bushtracker ( mate own one ) or kedrons, and bigger supreme getaway outfits or similar and for the real off road tracks and that extra couple of kms past the annoying mob then i reckon (for me) it will be a kimberley karavan or the smaller supreme getway around 14 ft with matching wheelbase to the nissan ( one bloke i know has one and likes it ) - mate IMHO a really big unit will cost an arm and a leg to tow around aust in a few years time and thats ok if your in the multi millions class but most of us arent
so good luck with your choice
see you
FollowupID: 514877

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 11:10

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 11:10
Greggu, I am with you on future cost entirely. Am with you on the compromise between the systems. I think all the various K(c)aravans have some problems along the way, even to the extent of a dual axle one having an axle break on its first journey - home. It took a lot of arm twisting to get the builder to recognise this and get a replacement there.
FollowupID: 514881

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 22:10

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 22:10
They don't make 'em any tougher than these

!MPG:33!

AnswerID: 253759

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 22:41

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 22:41
Mrs Hen ,
My old eyes can just pick out the Bushtracker sign . What size is it and how does it handle bad corrugations ?
Thanks ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 514835

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 22:49

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 22:49
What are you to pull it with Willie. Mutha and the Old Rooster use a F250 now, not the GU of the pic. Have a look at the Profile, 7.3 litres of grunt Site Link
FollowupID: 514839

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 23:00

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 23:00
Hi Willie

By the way, I loved your trip report. Sure glad your wife wasn't with you on the walking tour. She might not have enjoyed the no tent and lots of rain, with no food for days. You certainly take on extreme camping!

Ours is an 18 footer 1998 built. They are all built with the same tough chassis. Being built like a tank, they are heavy (ours being 2.2 t tare), but that is why they last. It's been on some pretty corrugated roads (with us that is, and I'm sure plenty before with it's previous owners) with no ill effects. The only breakage we had was the fridge - our fault. We have only the small one door caravan fridge with tiny internal freezer, which I'd cram-packed full. Then we went on 300 kms very corrugated road and didn't let the tyres down (i said do and he said no). A gas pipe at the back of the freezer severed with the weight. It is wonderful as virtually no dust gets in. I'm sure you wife would want to join you on all outback trips with a van like these.

Check out more on the Bushtracker Owners Forum - all good news stories there
Site Link

FollowupID: 514840

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 23:21

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 23:21
Hi Muvva, have you had it over the weighbridge loaded ready for travel? The tare is 800kgs more than our KK, though a bit bigger than the expanded KK too.
FollowupID: 514842

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 08:11

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 08:11
John ,
Surely a "bit bigger" is an understatement .
I will be towing with my 100 TD , but I think I will be getting a smaller size than Mrs Hen has . I guess I will know it's there !

Mrs Hen ,
The Boss likes camping with a swag , but walking is against her principles !

Willie .

FollowupID: 514859

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 09:36

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 09:36
Willie, if you want what my son says is a roadblock, go for it. It is your choice. Kim is as wide as a Nissan or Cruiser so is not the same as an 8" wide roadblock, no wide mirrors. Drive past a white post closely and I miss it with Kim, not wipe it out.

This is as long as a 16'-16-6" inside and much taller which I find useful. With a shower and toilet that is non-chemical it helps a lot if you are away for any length of time - no chemicals to account for. The two water tanks and an ability to draw in water from an outside source. Diesel for cooking and heating of the space and the water, all makes it easy.

I am confident that no BT would have been where Kim has in the Victorian HC.
FollowupID: 514869

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 11:55

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 11:55
John ,

You are not listening to me . I do not want to go to rough places with the van , I do that with a swag . This is for gold detecting and barra fishing and other such non adventurous holidays which often entail corrugated roads , but seldom 4WD .

If my caravan has a toilet and shower , I will only ever be using the shower . I like communing with the bush on my Deluxe Crapper .

I still think that the Kimberley caravan is a lard arse - sorry , but feature for KG , I don't think it stacks up .

I will make a point of checking and comparing the weights of the four vans I am looking at .

Cheers ,

Willie .
FollowupID: 514884

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 08:35

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 08:35
Willie, in future perhaps you will consider what you call a post too as well as what you are going to put in it. You headed it Off Road Caravans, not just making it it to handle corrugations as you later wrote. Bushtracker and the like, may fit the bill for that but as you said you don't want to go off road as far as I said the KK could go. Thats fine. I read the heading and you say I shouldn't have done ;-)))))
FollowupID: 515405

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 09:36

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 09:36
John ,

I agree , the term "off-road caravan" is confusing , but that is what the caravan industry calls a caravan made to handle dirt roads . If you do a search of second hand vans , that will be confirmed .

Where did I say you should not have read my heading ? I was referring to the fact that I had twice said ( well before your follow-up ) that I did not want a genuine off road weapon , but one that could handle corrugated dirt roads .

My apologies if the heading has confused you and caused you to waste your valuable time on my post .

Willie

FollowupID: 515409

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 10:06

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 10:06
Alls well Willie, I am here for the entertainment too. :-))
FollowupID: 515413

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 12:07

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 12:07
John ,

Can you please tell me a- re you happy with the diesel stove ? Is it as effective as gas ?

I am going to put a diesel heater into whatever I buy , and I guess it would make sense then , to use a diesel stove and get rid of the gas bottles .

Do they make a diesel hot water system as well ?

Thanks a lot ,

Willie .
FollowupID: 515433

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 13:42

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 13:42
Willie,

I guess we have had more experience with the gas and find shortcomings in windy conditions.

The Webasto diesel cooktop is slow to heat up in comparison to the gas which is instant. It is slow to cool too, as is the case with other ceramic cooktops. It is very clean though and very effective but requires a good flat base on your kettle and saucepans. Great then. Easy to keep clean, clean finish, all burnt fumes outside away from us.

We have a Webasto diesel water heater which is fantastic. Water heats quiickly to mains pressure type temperatures - 65-70c. We also have an electric water heater for when we get to 240v systems that seems hotter. There is also a recirculation system that provides a water to air heat exchanger for our diesel central heating. It is much more effective than the reverse cycle air conditioner. It also uses a minimal wattage fan for the heating. It works like the old Holden or Falcon heaters and very effective. It shows what you can achieve if you design things in.

We still use some outside gas as said above, but I am cautious about that inside where it should really be vented very well.
FollowupID: 515445

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 15:14

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 15:14
John ,

Thanks for the info .

The Webasto stove is a surprise . I thought it would be an open flame , not a glass top . Is that so you do not get burnt diesel fumes in the van ? Maybe I should think about a big two burner Shellite stove as LPG scares me . I got rid of the gas bottle in my car and am very happy with my little Shellite stove now .

Does the Webasto water heater , heat as the water flows through , it or does it heat a small tank ?

I just went to the Bushtracker Forum . It's designed exactly the same as this one so I felt at home . They only had big 18 ft vans for sale though . I am hoping to get a 14 footer if possible .

Thanks ,

Willie .
FollowupID: 515460

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 22:13

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 22:13
Hi Willie, I can't help you with your caravan choice, but I fully understand your question. We plan on upgrading to a tough van in a couple of years from our Odyssey Off Road CT. In an ideal world, I'd have both, but it is not highly likely.

We won't want the van to go to Cape York (will have done that in the CT), or similar places, but want it to be able to handle any of the rough and corrugated roads we may encounter in our travels. I'd use the GRR as a benchmark. I'd want a van that can handle that without any hesitation or worry.

We want a full sized van, suitable for spending several months on the road and comfortable to spend several weeks in one place (barra fishing in the Gulf or NT for example). Self sufficient in water and power so you can do that in a 'bush' camp. 300 litres of water, 300AH of AGM batteries, 3 solar panels, 2KVA generator are basic needs for us.

From my basic research so far, the vans you have mentioned, are about it. Once you spec them up, they are all heavy. We figure if you stay down at no longer than 18 ft, you should be able to keep the weight to 3 tonne or so. We have come across plenty of people who tow vans of that weight with 4.2TD. The new V8 70 Series might be even better. Once you go above 18 ft, I reckon you get into F250 territory.

Coming down one level in the van, their are optioins like the 'off road' Roadstar. Cheaper and lighter. Claimed to be able to handle corrugated roads. I'm not sure whether it will do what we want for as long as we want though. But if weight get to be the big barrier, might be worth a look at least.

So, while I can't help, I am interested where this thread goes, particularly if a few of the longer term owners of these vans give some views.

I think we are heading to the same place. You just might be going there a year or two quicker.
AnswerID: 253760

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 22:45

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 22:45
Good stuff Norm , thanks .

I am thinking about the smallest dual axle I can get which I guess will be around 17 feet .

I will let you know what I find out .

Cheers ,

Willie .
FollowupID: 514837

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 23:13

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 23:13
Willie, Bushtracker make them in 14', and they would still have the dual axles.

FollowupID: 514841

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:40

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:40
Great info Mrs Hen , thanks a lot - Willie .
FollowupID: 514892

Reply By: rocket s - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 09:53

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 09:53
Hi Willie, I am in the same situation as you. looking for a 14 footer,The supreme seems to be an excellent choice but at $40k is out of my price range. Second hand ones seem to be like hens teeth so this speaks volumes too. I have explored the Noel's "Island Star" in SA but built in melbourne and at $6000 cheaper but with independent susp and timber frame seems to be built well and strong, so I am leaning towards this option.
Cheers, Rod
AnswerID: 253808

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:45

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:45
Thanks Rod . I will Google Island Tar now . Some of these vans like Trakmaster and Bushtracker are very , very expensive .
Willie
FollowupID: 515022

Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 10:21

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 10:21
Hi Willie - Just my take on the subject. We have spent 20+ years camping off-road.
We did own a Coromal - firstly offroad camper trailer then offroad poptop and loved them.
Poptop was 16ft 6" x 7ft, TARE about 1400 and GVM of 1700. Single axle independent. Handled corrugations perfectly, until we rolled it 4 weeks ago on Savannah way near Roper Bar NT. ( Tregg hitch did what it was designed for and only the van was lost.) First time in 20 + years towing on gravel/outback roads/tracks.

Have just signed for a 2nd hand Supreme Getaway. 16ft 6" x 7ft tandem axle independent suspension TARE 1900 kgs; GVM 2300 (but I will wait till its weighed).
As both are the same size and features ,the main diff seems to be the Supreme starts out as a checkerbase box trailer (with a van on top) which adds weight, and no doubt strength.

We would have bought another Coromal, but needed to put the accident behind us. If you are looking for off-road ability with lower weight - they are worth a serious look.
.......................Keith
AnswerID: 253813

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:44

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:44
Keith,
Thanks for that info , I will check out the Corromal and the Supreme . I will make sure I use a Treg too !
Willie .
FollowupID: 514894

Reply By: tgintl - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 10:40

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 10:40

As an about to be ex-Bushtracker, and an about to be Boroma Roamer, here are a few thoughts.

1. My present belief is that there is nothing stronger on the market than a Bushtracker. We have towed ours to the tip of Cape York, and across the country through the center - Lambert Center! To see pictures of our trip we invite you to share our travel website: www.luvntravln.com.

Having said that, my understanding of the fiberglassed-sided Boroma that we are purchasing - 25' Grandinata - is that the entire sheet of fiberglass is sikaflexed to the wood frame by a substantial bead of sikaflex on every piece of the frame. That may well be as strong as the Bushtracker frames. Remember, ocean racing yachts that take a incredible beating are simply fiberglass and sikaflex!

We are having the off-road package including air bags and intend to take the Boroma wherever we are not prevented by its length.

A Bushtracker owner compared the interiors of the two caravans the other day and said that the BT is like a commercial build out out and the Boroma is a luxury buildout. Our van is our full-time home land we want a luxury buildout.

2. Yes, they are heavy - my 21' TARE is 2960; however, it is my full-time home. And, yes we tow with an F250 - love the Effie!!

3. Yes, they sell very quickly! I indicated on the BOG site that my van was officially for sale and it sold in three days sight unseen for $90,000. Frankly, while I am happy with the quick sale - one less thing to deal with as we come down to delivery of our new van - I do believe that I might have sold it for $5-10,000 more.

4. At the end of the day you have to decide how you want to use the van. If it were not my home, I would probably have a 16 - 18' BT if I wanted to go to the worst places on the worst roads; short of that I would opt for the Boroma.

Cheers, Jay
AnswerID: 253815

Follow Up By: tgintl - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 10:43

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 10:43

I have no idea why the word "home" became a hyperlink!

Jay
FollowupID: 514875

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:46

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:46
Thanks for the info Jay - I checked out your website .
Willie .
FollowupID: 515023

Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:06

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:06
Hi Willie,
Have a look at the Royal Flair caravans. They make a rough road van with independent suspension on coils, HD chassis and Hyland hitch. I own one and am happy with it. It seems most of the opinions here are people justifying their own decisions and not providing objective advice. Royal Flair has a website and the factory is in Melbourne.

AnswerID: 253827

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:46

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:46
Mike ,
I will check out the website right away . Thanks for this new input .
Willie .
FollowupID: 514895

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:19

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:19
Hi Willie:

maybe have a look at a supreme getway. floyd.bigblog.com.au/data/1/5387/image/Van23466520060625231749.jpg

Its the same as Bilbo has and he loves it, we havn't had it long or used it enoth to say much, but it suits are needs, only two of us plus the dog.

around $35000.00 os a lot cheaper than a KK..LOL

AnswerID: 253830

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:20

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:20
Dam it it's worked before Site Link
FollowupID: 514889

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:49

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:49
Thanks Richard ,
A few people have mentioned the Supreme , saying they are not as heavy as the Bushtracker , Trackmaster and Kedron . I will check them out .
What size is yours ? Is it single axle ?
Willie .
FollowupID: 514896

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:52

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:52
Richard ,
Cancel that , I saw the picture with the site link Tks .
FollowupID: 514897

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:15

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:15
Willie

www.supremecaravans.com.au/getaway.htm

Site Link

www.supremecaravans.com.au/

Ours is the 11' x 7,6" single axle inderpendant leaf spring

FollowupID: 514900

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:21

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:21
With out seeing the others (Bushtracker , Trackmaster and Kedron) I think this is the poor man version, I would hope it was not built very will (finish) but a I have said before on the forum after my little winge I'w get over it. and after fixing the things that broke on the first trip and making some mods. it's all coming to gether..

FollowupID: 514901

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:49

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:49
Thganks Richard ,
I have now been to the site and seen some for sale new and second hand on the Trading Post site .
Willie
FollowupID: 515025

Reply By: lizard - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 19:33

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 19:33
All these caravans will probably suit , but it depends how you drive etc .... for example this June I saw a Bushtracker on the Tanami (unfortunately it was on the back of a truck with a decided lean to the left) , when we pulled our Coromal XC Capri in to Wolfe creek crater.
No caravan likes corrugations (imho)...
AnswerID: 253904

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 18:50

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 18:50
Hi Lizard - we heard one rolled on the Tanami. One thing good is that although they may be a bit bent after a roll, they are still intact and fixable. I have seen other caravans that have rolled and have just bleep tered and strewn the poor people's belonging across the road.

FollowupID: 515490

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 21:24

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 21:24
Hi Will,
Have a look at Blue Heeler off road vans. Sorry mate I'm "challenged" and can't do the link thingie.

I believe you might also find them under "Sunliner Caravans" as the actual manufacturer.

AnswerID: 253934

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:41

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:41
Thanks Ian , I will Google Blue Heeler now .
Willie .
FollowupID: 515020

Reply By: ddr - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 14:59

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 14:59
Willie there was a post recently from someone that went on the outback tour with the Trakmaster group with his trakmaster van, Plenty of corrugations there.

I havent been on many corrugations yet with my Trakmaster I certainly wouldnt be afraid to do so. Its built for it, but you do have to pay for it :(

The support from the guys at trakmaster is brilliant, I couldn't speak highly enough of the guys there.
AnswerID: 254034

Reply By: Member - RnR (NSW) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 16:27

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 16:27
Willie,

I recently did the trip with other Trakmaster owners to Marble Bar. Check out Thread 47365.

All the other vans you have mentioned above are all wortthy contenders and would do the same trip I have just undertaken.

The Trakmaster difference is the weight advantage. I'd love a Topender but weighing in at 3000 Kgs....just a little heavy for me to tow.

rnr!MPG:10!
AnswerID: 254049

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 21:05

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 21:05
RnR Hi

We looked at the trackmaster and liked the look of them, I spoke to the owner and he sounded like a good bloke, the only problem was no dealer over here in the WEST, so this made it hard for us to buy, oh well can't help bad luck...

R&R Kovac

(Richard & Robyn)
FollowupID: 515193

Follow Up By: ddr - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 10:06

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 10:06
Richard do as others do, order via email ;) Or fly over, its sunny here today
FollowupID: 515250

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 14:16

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 14:16
R and R ,
When I look at your post , I sea a picture of me and my queenfish , but as I write this follow up , the picture has changed to your picture - a line of six vans .
How does that happen ?
Willie .
FollowupID: 515288

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 13:21

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 13:21
G'day Willie,

I have also been doing the rounds on this and it is horses for courses so I won't offer advice. What I would like to know is where are you planning to store the detector? Clearly they don't need to be thrown in with a whole lot of other gear to bang around.

AnswerID: 254224

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 14:10

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 14:10
Mr Tit ,

I guess I will keep it in the car , or in a padded spot under one of the beds . It's worth heaps , so I am not leaving it where it will get bounced around or stolen .

I actually bought the 4000 yesterday and am putting it together right now ! then I am going out into the backyard to search for nails and pipes .

See ya ,

Willie .
FollowupID: 515287

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 14:38

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 14:38
Is anyone ready to sell their Trakmaster , Bushtracker or Phoenix van yet ?

I cannot find any second hand ones for sale .

Willie .
AnswerID: 254230

Follow Up By: ddr - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 08:21

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 08:21
Willie good luck with that. I waited 6+ Months for something to turn up. In the end I decided to go new as the extra few thousand was worth the fully customed to what I wanted.
FollowupID: 515401

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 14:00

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 14:00
Willie, hop on the Bushtracker Owners Group forum.
Don't think they have a for sale section, but if you scan the last few weeks posts, there a a few for sale.
Site Link

Norm C
FollowupID: 515449

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 15:19

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 15:19
Norm ,

I went there as you suggested and what a surprise . It must have been built by David as it's exactly the same . I felt right at home . Even saw Motherhen posting there .

I am looking for a 14 ft van ( maybe 16 ) and there were a few 18s on there , but nothing smaller . I will keep an eye on it though .

Thanks a lot ,

Willie .
FollowupID: 515461

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 19:01

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 19:01
Hi Willie

You will find the 14' BTs rather rare. 18' is the most common on the second hand market now, often due to people up sizing. The BT site looks familiar, as it was built by David too. BT people liked ExplorOz so contracted IT Beyond. Put up a thread there saying you are seeking one as small as 14', and see if anyone replies. It may bring someone out of the woodwork who could consider selling in the next year. Would you consider 16'? - there are a few more of these around, although not many. Of course only a small percentage of BT owners are on the site - most are not even on computers.

Someone mentioned Supreme, a brand which we have heard good and bad reports like most brands. I discounted them early, as one of the "OK for occasional of the bitumen" breed - from their on line info. But we have met two owners of the tiny single axled model with the rear door. Both have felt it suitable for off road. It was too small for us anyway, as it narrow to match the width of the average tow vehicle, and the bed being sideways would have had my husband curled up like a paper clip to fit. Being small it does not have a bathroom, although that was not a priority - but having the shower is a bonus we appreciate.

AnswerID: 254434

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 20:28

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 20:28
Mrs Hen ,

You are really looking after me - thanks .

I will do what you say and make a post re a 14 to 16 ft model .

Cheers ,

Willie .
FollowupID: 515505

Follow Up By: Member - Ian M (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 22:07

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 22:07
On Bushtracker weight . . . my specs are:
18', four 125w solar panels, four batteries, four water tanks, 190l fridge, satellite dish, ensuite and the usual fit out and tare weight is 2480Kg. Water will add 400Kg but would only fill all tanks when getting right away from everything!
Not used seriously yet - replaced a TVan as we are getting older and softer! Tow with a Touareg V10 diesel so the weight is not a real issue. Certainly notice the difference in width though.
IAN
FollowupID: 515534

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 22:25

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 22:25
Hi Ian - Yours certainly is heavier than ours - but i thought TARE was bare bones only, and would not have included things like batteries and satellite dish. It's a great way to travel after more primitive campers - so easy to just pull into the bush and everything is there; nothing to do but enjoy the life.

FollowupID: 515537

Follow Up By: Member - Ian M (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 08:03

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 08:03
As you no doubt know Bushtrackers are weighed with all "the gear" on board - not as a shell with "the gear" added later. I have read that when apples and apples are compared the Bushtrackers are not significantly heavier than other fully equipped off road vans. There is a discussion on the Bushtracker forum (I know you know the address Mother - but for others-) www.bushtracker.com . We previously had a TVan which was a great camper but decided to go to a full van this year. Yes there is more time setting up with a camper but the travelling speed is much faster - so for higher mileage shorter stop trips I still reckon the TVan is perfect - for slower, longer trips and with longer stops (yes, we are supposedly retiring!) the Bushtracker will be better still.
And what many of us often overlook is what a fantatsic country we have to explore!

IAN (still caught up with work for a few months more!)
FollowupID: 515560