SO....
Submitted: Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 22:25
wyrss
WHAT WOULD IT COST TO BUY AND OLD V8 AND FIT IT INTO MY FJ62 CRUISER?
Reply By: Johnny boy - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 22:40
Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 22:40
I have a complete 253 bolted to a m21 4speed with all the tin ware out of a VC comm for sale ??
Cheers J.B.
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 22:56
Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 22:56
WYRSS
I would venture to say - maybe too much.
If you want it legal you are going to have to have the modifications engineered etc etc.
Lot of things to consider and they all cost money.
However if money is no object, go for it and drop in a "stroked" 5 litre
Reply By: madfisher - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:36
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:36
Why would you bother when for less money tou can get a modern v6 that will be quicker and give better economy, eg 3.5 Jack , 3.5 Paj available for less than $12000.00
Follow Up By: wyrss - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 17:26
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 17:26
gday Pete,
You reckon I'm better off selling the cruiser and getting another tow vehicle??
Actually I've been looking at the 3.9L V8 Landrover Disco, but everyone tells me they are crap.
Follow Up By: madfisher - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 21:53
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 21:53
Hi Steve,
My mate in tassie had a 3.9 Discovery, made a lovely noise but not that powerfull, and most of the time he had a loan car. My 3.5 Jack goes like the clappers and have an excellent chassis for towing. You can buy standard Jacls with this motor with 150000ks from $10000.00 up. This motor puts out 158kw more than a lot of v8s aqnd it has a good wide torque band. The trouble with swapping motors is their is usually teething problems, which is ok if you are an engineer. What is your budget?
Follow Up By: wyrss - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:10
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:10
Yeh you are probably right.
One of my mates had an old 4 cyl Jac an it was amazing what that little donk would pull
Reply By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 17:37
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 17:37
It will cost a hell of a lot in hidden unseen things that are not aparent now.
Although my brother has his 305 running beautifully now in the 60 series, as after pulling it out several times he nows how to do it very effectively.
Reply By: Ozboc - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 22:41
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 22:41
Welcome to the internet , NOW STOP SCREAMING AT US!
Boc