Gumby question on 75-series Troopy

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 19:23
ThreadID: 47986 Views:3548 Replies:6 FollowUps:1
Hiya guru's,

Firstly apologies for this gumby question but I have just come into possession of my late fathers 75-series Troopy.

As the the ride is a bit harsh I want to do something with the suspension. I understand the leaves can be "reset". What does this involve? Can I do anything else to soften the the suspension? Or is it better to buy new springs? I am not looking for a lift as I have a modified Suzi Grand Vitara for playing in. The troopy is for short distance touring.

Also what is involved in changing the seats? I know of a similar-generation Troopy that has a an air-sprung truck seat. If I buy 2 from the wreckers does it have to be engineered? Also do truck seats come in different mounting plate designs or will it bolt straight in? Would truck seats be more comfortable then aftermarket racing-style seats?

Also, my father had installed a 240V input plug as he towed a 21' caravan and had a fridge installed in the cab. Would this 240V input charge the troopy batteries (he had 2 batteries installed) as well?

Thanks for the help with the vague questions.

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 20:39

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 20:39
HI Ben, firstly no apologies required as this is what the forum is all about, we only learn by asking and reading and from our friends. Referring to the seats I know 100% that the mid wheel base Toyota Bundera's (LX) has suspension seats on both drivers and passengers side. Set it to suit your weight. I have been in one with these types of seats and ripper of an idea jolts and bumps become a nice soft ride up and down and great for woman if you know where I coming from LOL no sport bras needed. The mid wheel base Bundera's inside are identical to the troopys wether the seat tracks and bolting up department is the same would require a check out. The hardest part would be trying to find some and if you did more then likely would require new coverings. Cant help you with the other questions as Ive never owned a troopy but would be ideal for touring. Hope this helps you out a bit. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 253926

Reply By: ross - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 20:43

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 20:43
If you plan on keeping it ,new springs would be better. Reset springs have a habit of sagging,sometimes they dont.
The cost of resetting springs is nearly all labour ,for another $500-$600 you could have new springs.
There would be bushes ,u bolts ,shackles and shackle pins and possibly shock absorbers on top whether you reset or go with new.

I dont know the full story re seat installation but I did see a paragraph relating to owner installation somewhere in the AS (australian standards)
Contact your local RTA.Some states have modification requirements on a govt website.
The racing seats are terrible in a 4wd
Speak to an upholsterer,for a few hundred they can restuff and cover them with original foam and vinyl.
I use a thick cushion on long trips offroad and its quite comfy.

Recharging the batteries is normally done via the alternator although the charging effect is minimal.
Do you mean can you connect a 240 volt ac recharger into the 240 outlet and charge a 12volt battery? mm I dunno.
If you have deep cycle batteries they can go for a while without recharging when stopped and run them off the car battery when moving.
AnswerID: 253928

Follow Up By: ben_gv3 - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 20:59

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 20:59
What does resetting involve?
FollowupID: 514991

Reply By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 21:32

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 21:32
Hi Ben,

Resetting involves pulling the leak packs apart and "resetting" or re-bending the leaves individualy to put more (or less) "bow" in them. This is a cheap short term fix but because most places will do this reset at room temperature (as opposed to heating them up) they are putting the leaves past their elastic stage and hence weakening the metal. I had it done years ago on an old FJ45 and it wasn't long before the springs were back to their droppy self. By the time you pay for the labour of pulling the old leaves out of the vehicle and pulling the leaf packs apart and resetting them you'd only be just shy of a whole new set. Sorry just read your post again. If you want to soften the ride then yes pull the spring packs out and remove some leaves. If you don't carry much load then 6 leaves in the front and 7 in the rear should suffice. You probably have 8 in the front and 9 or 10 in the rear at the moment.

The seat option you talk about would certainly have to be engineered. The big thing with any suspension seat is the the retractable seatbelt and clasp must be fastened to the seat and not the body of the vehicle for obvious reasons. I had a KAB seat in my first 75 series and the other problem any sort of mod like this creates is the lack of cab height. To fit all that suspension etc under the seat its probably a good 6 inches higher than the standard seat, so unless your very short your head will hit the roof....although vision is great.

Not really enough info about the electrical setup to give you any feedback on that mate.
AnswerID: 253935

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 06:59

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 06:59
I will agree with Ross on the spring issue, to have them reset is a bandaid solution . I replaced my Troopy springs 3 years back with OME's , just one word sums it up .....Fantastic. As for the ride it was much improved even though the rear leaf pack is bigger than a trayback set.
That 240v input plug because of a 21' caravan is a bit of a mystery

AnswerID: 253955

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 12:35

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 12:35
For suspension seats see this post

Site Link

I recieved a reply from Stratos late last week and they will fit in all currnet 4WD but they don't recommend the turntable as it hits the center pillar and center console.

As for the springs I have no idea.

AnswerID: 254003

Reply By: lewis k - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 13:00

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 13:00
gday mate,

Just a word of warning. I needed to have my current troopy passed by an eng after taking out a couple of seats. (changing from NSW to QLD registration) I asked about suspension seats and his comment was that no suspension seats sold in Australia will actually pass the QLD RTA requirements. Is this true, who knows but it does indicate that care is needed.

This fact does not make it illegal to sell the seats, only to fit them. If fitted and you don't have a modification VIN then no insurance company will touch you if you have an accident and the expense from claims from passengers etc could stop you from ever having enough money to enjoy the use of the troopy
AnswerID: 254222