Why are people towing vans over 2.5t?
Submitted: Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 08:02
Member - Oldplodder (QLD)
How big a van is big? People seem to be hitting towing limits.
Been a few queries like this lately. I tow a 750kg CT which we find is real luxury, after travelling with just a roof rack and what we could fit in the pajero for 20 years.
I really wonder what people put in those vans to get over 2.5 tonnes. :o).
Rephrase that, I know, I have a friend with a 2.7t van, and just shake my head in amazement at the gadgets. Full DVD/TV and games console. Large fridge (domestic size) and freezer. Own loo and mini laundry.
The money I save with the cost of the vehicle, van and fuel, I splurge on an occasional caravan
park.
We lived comfortably in a kombi for 7 months while travelling, so know what it is like to be on the road for months at a time.
Each to their own, but it just makes me wonder.
Reply By: DIO - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 08:35
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 08:35
Ego and status (in many cases).
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 16:11
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 16:11
We have a winner!
Reply By: fisho64 - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 09:06
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 09:06
Each to his own as you say. Some people are happy to live in a humpy made out of tarps and corrugated iron, but most of us are not. I guess they dont have (or need) access to the internet to to express their amazement or distaste for other peoples choice of abode.
DIO, I think maybe it is a bit unfair to label it "ego and status". Thats much like labelling anyone who passes comment on aboriginal affairs or immigration as a racist etc
At the end of the day though I guess if you can afford it and it doesnt hurt anyone, its their choice.
Reply By: flappa - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 09:12
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 09:12
For "some" people , that IS their home.
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 17:49
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 17:49
Good point.
Know a few couples who have sold up and are on the road.
Can understand that.
Know a few couples who only get a few weeks a year in their dual axle vans though :o)
Have come across a few people thought who have spent as much on a C/T as some spend on a van!
Suppose there might be a little bit of jealousy on my part? I don't think so, just amazement.
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 09:46
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 09:46
In summary OldPlodder, because they choose. Providing they are set up right with tow vehicle, brakes etc, so what.
Hundreds of people spend years 'on the road' and they want a stron van that can handle rough roads. The fact that you (and I) are happy to go without TV, microwave, airconditioiner etc, and live in a confined space, doesn't mean everyone should.
All said by someone who in a couple of years will probably be upgrading to a 2.5 to 3 tonne van.
Norm C
Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 09:55
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 09:55
I have just been on a 3000 km trip to Queensland to pick up a new CT and included travelling up the Newell Highway.
On that trip we passed lots of vans going both ways, and I was absolutely amazed at how many vans did not have extension mirrors on.
There was no way many of them would have any idea who is behind or if anyone was about to pass, as they could not see a passing car untill it was almost next to them.
Something should be done about this, it is a safety issue.
There is also no way these people could reverse their van unless they go by the '
park by feel' method.
Follow Up By: Alan H - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 10:10
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 10:10
You're right Dave, they neither know nor care what's behind them as long as it's clear in front!
I've seen trucks and buses being held up in the North after I've let them pass and they don't sound too happy with the nomads at times, although they've usually thanked me on Ch 40 for giving them the chance to get past without letting the loud pedal up.
Same as lots of things on the road..... ignorance is bliss.
Alan.
Follow Up By: cruzaluva - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 10:15
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 10:15
Many of the new vans have rear wide angle cameras and monitors for this reason. Are mirrors going the way of the dinosaur?
Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 10:50
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 10:50
I agree cruzaluva, but the camera is usually visible on the back of the vans.
I really did not notice too many of the culprits with cameras.
I was concerned as to whether they would see me passing or not, hence the comment.
Follow Up By: Phillipn - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 19:27
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 19:27
I have a camera on the back of the van, "best thing since sliced bread." BUT you still need mirrors to be able to see both sides of the van.
Follow Up By: Gob & Denny - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 21:03
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 21:03
mirrors are still the legal way to go even with a camera
i have both
and my van tips 2.5 with all the mod cons but within 8 months will be our home
Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 15:44
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 15:44
John,
Maybe they are able to be self-sufficient, and able to escape for the big adventure. As said, for many it is their home, and they've nowhere else to go, but travel.
Always amused with some 'vanners, they go on holidays to escape suburbia, then spend all their leave packed into a 'van
park, only centimetres from their neighbours.
Am envious of those with
well set-up vans, but towed one for 6 years working, so am not too green, when think of fuel costs, not to mention insurance etc
Hooroo...
Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 16:28
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 16:28
As they say in the classics.......one man's dream, another man's nightmare.
I guess it is all about choice.
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 17:49
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 17:49
I think that's about it for me too.
Reply By: Brian B (Mackay Qld) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 17:10
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 17:10
They must like clogging up the roads doing 80kph in 100kph zones with 15 cars and 3 semi-trailers tailing behind them!
Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 18:25
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 18:25
Brian thats half the fun for us vanners!! My best so far has been 20 cars , two intersrate coaches, four semis and twelve 4X4's !! I just pull my Volvo hat down a bit further around my ears & enjoy the scenery & ignore all thats happening around me. LOL
Cheers, Barry
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 20:19
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 20:19
With ya on that one Barry, nothing gives me more satisfaction than pretending I can't reverse and end up jacknifing my whole ensemble across the forecourt of a servo on a freeway, ahhhhhhhhhh absolute chaos then I do my" I don't speak english" routine, hours of fun. Almost as much fun Brian as having to wait 57mins near Cape Hilslborough for some other "privelidged" blokes shunting Cane trams....
Reply By: TroopyTracker - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 17:53
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 17:53
How about over 3 tonne??
I've tryed pushing it but can't get more than afew cm's.......
Seriously, I went from a 750kg camper trailer to 3 tonne of van and the difference isn't as big as many would think.
If you can work out how to get a shower/toilet/full kitchen/queen size bed/300 odd litres of water/storage for bikes and two peoples gear in an off road trailer (with no canvas or setup time), and fit it in a camper trailer that ways 750kgs, I'll take two.
I think everyone is different and as others have said, for many, travelling Aus isn't a 2-4 week mad dash, it's a way of life, 365 days a year!
Matt
Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 19:23
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 19:23
Your so right Troopy.
When the kids were growing up we camped in tents for years, and enyoyed
every minute of it, later on in life my wife and I bought a new Jayco Off Road
Camper, still took time to set up. now we have a 2500 kg caravan and would
not swap it for the world, if you can afford it go for it. you cant take your money
with you when your dead.
Daza.
Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 20:11
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 20:11
"Ego & Status" Moi????? Yep absoexpletivedetedultley.... I Tow 2.1 tonnes of Gin palace simply because I'm a raving egotistical cynic and youse strokers who love living as if youse are on some sort of boys own adventure need youse collective heads read Na I paid me taxes & served me country and what I choose to do with me pension and loomp soom is my busness & not youse. I have 4 x 3.6 metre sheets of colourbond if I wanted to make a humpy but I choose to at least have some comfort, some dignity & some sophistication on me travels. Strewth along with all the cumforts I have become acustomed to I even take a breadmaker and Cappacino machine with me!
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 22:13
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 22:13
LOL good on ya Basil.
Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 23:35
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 23:35
Why?
When we were younger, an occasional
camping holiday with a tent, or canvas canopy on the back of the Ute was fine, but looking to one day doing the whole lap, being older and not so able to pull things down off roof racks, put up tents, blow up air bed etc, we chose a caravan. At 18' our has a tare weight of 2.2 tonne. Add
water, fittings, luggage and food for a few months, and we'd be towing over 2.5 tonne. We wanted the toughest off road van, so it is heavy - just look at the chassis.
At the end of a day's driving, we can pull into the bush and stop. Nothing more to do except relax,
cook a meal and have a warm shower. I know people who are on the road full time have
satellite TV and other entertainment stuff. We have less, but don't have to fear setting up a
campsite under canvas in wet and windy weather.
Reply By: RovingOz (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 10:05
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 10:05
There’s also a lot of people with campers and tents who have 5 brms, 3bthrms and 3 garages at home. I agree there are a lot of vans on the road that aren’t used much and weigh over 3t. It’s just the excess money around I suppose and people can afford the toys. The vans are getting heavier and so are the vehicles to tow them. A lot we speak to don’t know what their van or ball weight is. One guy we met in Quiplie towing an huge offroad 23ft Roadstar (with a 100s gxl!) stated it weighed 3.4t because that was legal to say, he suspected it was more like 3.6t. He used no weight distribution bars either. His usual speed was 100-110kms. When I said I hope I never meet him coming the other way he jokingly suggested I just get out of his way.
Anyway to live in a van fulltime you’re often forced to go the way of custom off-road builders to get it set up right for free/
bush camping so you can avoid the CP’s. Also these vans are usually more dust proof which is important when your fulltime and doing the dirt tracks often.
This then means a heavy van to start with because of the chassis and heavier fitout – our van is 17.5ft and has a tare of 2350kgs and we tip the scales fully loaded at 3180kgs (includes 300lts
water). I detest that it weighs that much but that’s what it is. Ok I’ve got all the gadgets but as others have said it’s our home.
It’s all perspective I suppose, I still see the big Boromas drive up with the auto sat on the roof and think that’s over the top or am I just jealous.