help please

Hi everyone
I was wondering if anyone has imported 5th wheelers from USA ?
and would you be able to give me any info about doing this .
I have been researching and reading all about these RV's and
love the idea of just taking off .
So if anyone has some info I would be greatful.
thanks ,chezwa.

Reply By: crusher - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 12:08

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 12:08
Hi chezwa
I think you will have problems to get it regersted as the entry door will be on the wrong side. I have a mat who went through it all 3 years ago, (big dollars)
He has just came down to melbourne last weekend to sell, it has been in storage,and has no further use for. It comes with a ford 250, 6.5 Chev deisel etc.
Crusher

AnswerID: 253999

Reply By: Kevern - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 14:18

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 14:18
I read an article about these units from the US, think it was in the CMCA magazine early this year, and it was saying you had to have them re-wired for Australia something about different rating for Australia. Basically it was saying better off buying one made here rather than in the US.
AnswerID: 254021

Follow Up By: Skippy In The GU - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 18:17

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 18:17
Yankies run 110 volts and have different plugs
FollowupID: 515126

Reply By: Member - Royce- Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 14:24

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 14:24
And.... not really anything to do with this thread..... except for fifth wheeler topic... I really want a fifth wheeler [gooseneck] stock trailer... triaxle... anyone knows of one... get onto royce@funshow.com.au.. ta
AnswerID: 254022

Reply By: Member - Jaap C (QLD) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 17:06

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 17:06
Do a search on the caravanners forum
There has been some interesting discussions about this very topic
Suggest that an aussie made one may be a better proposition
AnswerID: 254058

Follow Up By: chezwa - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 17:28

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 17:28
Hi thanks for that ,do you mean the ninemsn caravaners forum ,
as I went there but finding it hard to do a search .
chezwa
FollowupID: 515115

Follow Up By: Member - shane (SA) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 19:20

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 19:20
i can give you a mates number who did this about two years ago, by buying one with a rear door you can get away with closing up the door on the drivers side. he did his homework and found not only did he get a better and bigger van it was also many,many thousands cheaper than anything here. when i seen what he brought over and then looked for myself at some of these Australian built one it was like chalk and cheese. one big thing is what are you going to tow it with? he had to bring a chev ute in also.
cheers, shane
FollowupID: 515145

Follow Up By: chezwa - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 14:44

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 14:44
Hi Shane ,
I have emailed you but in case you didn't get it we would love the phone number
of your mate .My email is oceanbeach@wn.com.au
thanks hope to hear from you soon .
chezwa
FollowupID: 515291

Reply By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 19:15

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 19:15
G'day there Chezwa, you can get the Oz built 5th wheelers or you can get the one from USA which have to be converted before you get them registered here.When they import them as bought for the U.s market when they get them here they have to change all the wiring,the gas & also the door Or put in an extra door for safety reasons.On the other hand if you really want to buy & import one from the U.s you find out who & there are several that build them to Aus. standards & this is now how a lot of the importers bring them in now as it save heaps of time & $$$$$s but you can do it yourself but i think from memory you have to buy & use it over there for some time (1-2 yrs)& then import it.
Hope this helps as i was going down the same road 3 or 4 yrs ago myself & glad i changed my mind as we bought a smaller motor home & this is less restictive as in where we can go.
Cheers Bob.
AnswerID: 254099