Thought we were in big trouble

Submitted: Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 23:30
ThreadID: 48045 Views:3856 Replies:15 FollowUps:15
Hi Folks,

My wife and I just got back from a quick trip through Central QLD. While checking out some tracks one day while we were away we came up to a pretty decent sandy hill only to find a vehicle stopped in front of us blocking the road. I thought they must have been stuck and so I got out and asked the driver if all was Ok. He explained to me that about 100 metres up the hill a car was bogged and until he got out the track was blocked.

With this in mind my wife and I walked up the hill and the 100 metres (felt like a mile but that's another story), only to find an elderly couple in a Challenger bogged and in strife. The guy had some decent recovery gear and I set about helping get him out. We got his shovel out and freed up his wheels and underbody, dropped his pressure but despite this when he started up the car wasn't going far.

I really wanted to get my car up there and try a snatch recovery so I went back down the hill but the original guy I spoke to refused point blank to either shift his car and let me through or to take his car up the hill for help.

I then did the walk up the hill and kept working on the bogged car. During this time another three four wheel drives arrived and formed a queue behind my car and it became apparent that they knew the guy in the first car, the one who wouldn't help. By this stage I was busting my gut and not getting far and my wife called out to this group of now around five adult men aged from around 18 to approx 50 for a hand. They just ignored her and didn't even do anything.

After about three quarters of an hour a car coming the other way along the track came up to us and with his help all was fixed up.

My wife and I then walked back down to our car and I made a comment about thanks for all of your help. Probably shouldn't have said that but we were really bleep off.

These guys just encircled us and told us to shut our smart ****ing mouths or else we wouldn't be so lucky to get out of the bush. It still wasn't going to be easy as they made no effort to let us get our car out or the guy who had helped up on the hill.

Discretely grabbed some rego numbers and passed this on to the local police but that night while we were having a beer we thought how lucky we were to get out of that without having bigger problems than we did.

Still pretty gobsmacked about this episode though and just wanted to share it with you folk.

Have never had anything like this happen before and have been involved in a lot of retrievals over the years.

Have a good one.

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 23:55

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 23:55
Brian,
I'll be the first to bite, (hopefully).
Give us the location of your dilemma, please.
I know of only one long, desolate location: near Rocky.
Your turn, Brian.
Jess.
AnswerID: 254167

Follow Up By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 11:36

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 11:36
Hi Jess,

Byfield National Park.
FollowupID: 515267

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 07:18

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 07:18
Rest assured you did the right thing Brian.....i cannot believe the attitude of some people these days, especially when helping this person means that they benefit themselves by moving on quicker.

AnswerID: 254177

Follow Up By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 11:40

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 11:40
Thanks Andrew. Gave us a bit of a fright at the time.
FollowupID: 515268

Reply By: Eric from Eric Christopher Wholesale Vehicles - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 07:59

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 07:59
The guy you were helping might have been a smarty to the people who were there who knows , but I bet there is more to this story .

Maby your mouth did get them off side . They didnt belt you , so they wernt off the rail type people.

You were warned to shut your mouth and mind your own buisiness , maby they had good reason to say this.

Or they were just a bunch of rednecks lol
AnswerID: 254180

Follow Up By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 11:40

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 11:40
Eric, At the end of the day we were just happy to get out unscathed.
FollowupID: 515270

Reply By: Member - Karl - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 09:13

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 09:13
Hey Brian,

Good on you for helping the couple in distress - unfortunately some people in our society these days have forgoten their basic manners, if someone needs a hand then you give them one - its is (or was) one of the most basic of all principles of being an Aussie.

I don't blame you for making a comment to them as I would have done so as well and it just goes to show how tuff they were by surrounding you and your wife - they are nothing but bullies.

With the other cars there it would have been unlikely that they would have done anything.

Next time something like this happens and you report the incident to the Police, report it as an alleged assault that way they are obliged to make enquiries - otherwise they won't do a thing. For assault all you have to say that you were in fear of your safety and believed that they were going to carry out their threats.

Karl
AnswerID: 254191

Follow Up By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 11:42

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 11:42
G'day Karl,

Just pleased it all ended up OK
FollowupID: 515271

Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 09:16

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 09:16
Hi Brian.
I experienced a similiar situation many years ago in the forests west of Casino.
We were following old forestry tracks & came across some locals who ended up"escorting us back to the main road". Obviously we had disturbed them in their activities.
We were glad to see them disappear back into the forest.
AnswerID: 254193

Follow Up By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 11:42

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 11:42
Vince,

We also were pleased to get away from them.
FollowupID: 515272

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 12:04

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 12:04
Brian.
Was it the large sand climb next to the Defence Dept firing range? I got caught there last Oct & was lucky to reverse back down the hill
Vince
FollowupID: 515277

Follow Up By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 17:26

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 17:26
Hi Vince,

It was on the way out to Five Rocks and Stockyard Point.
FollowupID: 515308

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 09:17

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 09:17
Brian, sometimes it's just best to walk away, rather than say anything. Karma will get em :))
AnswerID: 254194

Follow Up By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 11:44

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 11:44
Footy,

I know what you mean but I was irked after them just ignoring us and spending quite a while digging etc to get the guy free. I think it was a dgree of frustration speaking.

All in favor of Karma however.
FollowupID: 515273

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 09:56

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 09:56
They are the type that when you find them in need of help just keep on driving by,
Well that's what i would do

AnswerID: 254200

Follow Up By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 11:45

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 11:45
Doug, I know what you mean.

Have a good one.
FollowupID: 515274

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 15:05

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 15:05
That's my sentiments exactly. Only trouble is, you cannot tell what people are like before you stop to lend a hand (most of the time, anyway!!!).

These mongrels (ie: the ones who surrounded and threatened them) are the type who, after you've helped them out of their predicament, would simply jump in their car and sod-off without even thanking you. Utter b@stards!!!
FollowupID: 515292

Reply By: ev700 - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 10:19

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 10:19
You are more likely to come across some mean 'bad asses' (as our US friends would call them) in some areas. They direct their own bad vibes onto 'foreigners' (read as anyone from anywhere else) and I guess you appeared to be one. Probably the old couple were regarded as 'foreigners' too.

Having lived there for a time let me assure you that among the many nice people in central Qld there remains a fair section of the population who resent 'out of towners'. It is a jealousy thing. Poor old Rocky, for example, has been sliding downwards for years through political neglect and since closure of the rail maintenance, city port, diminishing meatworks and so on many years ago.

A few of us were lucky enough to escape without a battering when having a quiet drink at Marlborough, north of Rocky, several years ago. No, we were not doing anything but our rigs were a bit new and that seemed to spark some bile (all we could think of at the time). You could hear the duelling banjos.
AnswerID: 254203

Follow Up By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 11:46

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 11:46

Yes I was stationed in Rocky for some years in the early 90's and it took a while to be really accepted at the workplace etc but it all ended up OK.

Have a good one.
FollowupID: 515275

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 12:11

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 12:11
diminishing meatworks m, that's because me and Dusty put a curse on it, took a load of Coldroom panels to Lakes Creek once and the idiot woman on the gate wouldn't let him in so the poor little bugger had to be tied to the fence until the truck was unloaded, tried to tell her that he won't be getting out and raiding the sausages , just 100m from we unloaded there was crapping cows and working dogs

FollowupID: 515278

Reply By: justin71 - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 13:16

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 13:16
Ahhh this sucks, no offence to queenslanders please, but its full of rednecks as is most states if u go off the beaten track. It sounded like the starting to one of those aussie outback horror flicks, glad it didnt end badly though. Man, some of these posts put me off going 4wding with the family, I know they dont happen often. DO any of you carry weapons just in case something were to happen? I can understand I suppose the jealousy when the locals see brand new prado grandes and the like going up to "their" reserves and stuff, thats life though, good to get a heads up and read about this stuff though.
AnswerID: 254223

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 14:28

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 14:28
Weapons? Probably not a good idea, many people have been shot with their own gun!
FollowupID: 515290

Reply By: jeffwa - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 13:54

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 13:54
Sad, very sad. Let's hope karma is there hey... Sounds like a bunch of schoolyard bullies that never grew up. The sort of people I'd like to drive past their camp in the morning while they are all asleep and remove all of the valves from their tyres. LOL. :-P
AnswerID: 254226

Reply By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 15:12

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 15:12
Makes me angry! They sound like a bunch of real tough guys, threatening a man and his wife in the middle of remote bushland. Wonder how tough they'd be in different circumstances?

Sometimes we just have to walk away from things - you did the right thing Brian.

Let us know if the police do anything - I'm not holding my breath though...?

AnswerID: 254234

Follow Up By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 17:32

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 17:32
Hi Mike,

I don't know how the cops will go and I am just pleased we got out without copping a hiding or worse.

FollowupID: 515309

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 15:50

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 15:50
Didnt stumble upon "their" plantation by any chance ?? Had a nasty experience up past Bundy about 18mths ago on a track that was new to me but all the locals knew about , off you go on a public road and next thing you know it seems your in the old movie deliverance , only thing missing was the sound of dueling banjoes.
AnswerID: 254238

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 16:13

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 16:13
That happened in the Port Lincoln NP a while back. A guy was out 4 wheeluing next thing he was dead. Rifle was so powerfull it went through the rear spare, back window seat before killing the guy. Plantation was found nearby
FollowupID: 515299

Reply By: chisel - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 21:29

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 21:29
Hmm, I know the spot and (probably) the hill that caused the trouble. I stopped half-way up the hill on my first attempt last year, but luckily I just needed to drop my tyre pressures a bit more and drive out. In the 5 mins I was dropping pressures some locals came up behind and were waiting rather impatiently. I don't think it was the same people but I'll now be a bit more apprehensive heading in there again.
AnswerID: 254305

Reply By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 10:32

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 10:32
Brian,

Everyone has basically said it, but I would like to say thanks. It is people like yourself and your wife that make touring around Australia a pleasure.

Thanks mate

AnswerID: 254363

Reply By: Member - Ross H (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 16:48

Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 16:48
Hi Brian
I know the hill you are on about and it is a fun one to say the least, but as for the people or should I say ferals. It is so tipical of what you here on the news on just about a daily basis a persons stops to try and do the right thing only to cop that sort of crap from a shet head. Like mongral dogs hunting in packs. Good on you for keeping a level head and walking away, but as some have said maybe you should have pushed the local cops for a bit more of a result still a lonely place with the elderly couple and your wife.
regards ross
AnswerID: 255226