See following link for photos of a shoot for UAE spec 200 series Landcruiser

Site Link

Front on shots looks pretty good

Reply By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 09:35

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 09:35
Hmmm... Looking more like a low-slung soft-roader (anyone mention "Kluger"?) with every iteration. But no doubt they'll sell in droves compared to the 70-series wagons, despite all those who say they want a tough, no-nonsense 'real' 4WD.
AnswerID: 254196

Reply By: Turbo Lux - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 09:49

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 09:49
Its interesting how so many people really only tall about a no nonsense 4wd, live axels diff locks etc, toyota give the market what they want (70 Series) and then all we hear is the winging. "So out of date, rough ride, etc etc" I think what toyota have done is excellent they have seperated their markets into two diefferent segments, the true tough 70 series and then the 200 series. The 200 series will be versatile like the current 100 series but at the end of the day weight and ground clearance will let it down, don't like it for off road use buy the 70 series its really simple to follow, even patrol dirvers might understand, but then again who can be sure. (just having a joke)

In a short wile i think Toyota will dominate the 4wd industry yet again with hilux, prado, 70 series and then 200 series I dont know who else will compete with them, OH WHAT A FEELING!!
AnswerID: 254199

Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 17:16

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 17:16
"toyota give the market what they want (70 Series)" Not even close to what the market was asking for. I don't remember anyone asking to go back to leaf springs, uncomfortable seats, a small storage area, or a 90 litre fuel tank. Mining companys are crying out for air bags to satisfy OH&S requirements but none of those were fitted. This vehicle was released in a hurry using old existing parts to fill the gap of the 105 series base model departing, nothing more. If sales in Victoria are anything to go by Toyota got it wrong big time. I've seen only 2 utes on the road & no wagons in the 4 months since release. Will be interesting to see the actual sales figures.
After driving Toyota's for 22 years I'm now waiting to see what big motor Nissan put in the Patrol as the 76 series certainly doesn't add up for me.
Cheers Craig............
HZJ105
FollowupID: 515307

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 22:27

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 22:27
Quote: "In a short wile i think Toyota will dominate the 4wd industry yet again with hilux, prado, 70 series and then 200 series"................

I think you'll find Toyota have not relinquished their top-of-sales position in the 4WD market for many years, so I don't understand why you're saying this???

I really don't give a toss what Nissan do with their motor replacement.....I don't think they're smart enough in the their marketing division to beat Toyota's sales.

Whatever motor they choose, I'm pretty certain it won't be a no-nonsence, old-fashioned n/a diesel like my Chev 6.5 and it won't "throb"....hmmmm....think I'll stick with what I've got...hahaha
FollowupID: 515368

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 23:31

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 23:31
>> I'm now waiting to see what big motor Nissan put in the Patrol

.... its another 4cyl grenade.. same 3.0ltr basically "updated"...

the old GU/GQs will hold their value for ever at this rate! :D
FollowupID: 515381

Follow Up By: Turbo Lux - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 08:23

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 08:23
There is no doubt that Toyota have shocked a few people with the 70 series lack of features (abs/airbags) however it wont be long if the market wants it Toyota will give it, just thinking about how many 75 and 78 series utes and troopys are out their in the outback with no air bags or abs, Im sure there are a few patrol utes as well. I cant help but think how practical the 70 series is for the bush though its simple, easy to fix and maintain, obviously plenty of parts around the place. People question the sales figures, however with Nissan not offering an equivalent at ALL! The sales figures i guess will be reasonable once the market gets gowing. I guess we will wait and see????

By the way Roachie father in law is just picking up an Ultimate Camper, any advice on bits and peices to maintain, he is heading of to darwin then back around through the gulf to the cape. What a trip!

FollowupID: 515403

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 18:31

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 18:31
G'day TurboLux,

No real advice (other than what the dudes at Ultimate will advise him anyway).

He needs to keep an eye on the wheel bearings' temps etc and blow the dust out of his brakes regularly (I never do though...hahaha)

I'm sure he'll be pleased with it. They are a very tough, soild unit.

FollowupID: 515489

Reply By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 12:41

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 12:41
Looks like SH*T i reckon......
And i would definately agree with Ian, its just a Kluger on steroids!!!
But i dont like the 100, 105, 78, 79, 70 or, well any of them anyway.
But i would love to see nissan's answer to it.....oh what a feeling..(need a kidney belt to drive a toyota) tee heee heee
only jk.

Wayne-o
AnswerID: 254220

Reply By: jeffwa - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 14:09

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 14:09
I think some real tyes, a 2" suspension lift, ARB Steel bar(which would lift the nose up quite a bit) and it'd look quite good. I think they will be quite capable, the front suspension will be really interesting, developed in WA and supposed to be really good.
AnswerID: 254227

Reply By: Ianw - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 20:03

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 20:03
Thanx, just what I needed, an Arabic website!! Now I'll have ASIO watching my every move!!
AnswerID: 254279