vacuum sealed foodsavers are they worth having
Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 18:37
gonebush SA
hi, we are thinking of buying a sunbeam foodsaver vacuum packer and want to pick your brains if they are worth having and if so what size, i am looking at thevac420 with the 20cm sealer and we are trying to find out if that size is large enough, at the moment there are 3 of us but soon it will be just the 2. from our understanding it will keep food up to 5 times longer, which we thought would workout
well at those
places that are
miles from anywhere or where the prices are quite dear.
thanks and would like any feed back good or bad on them.
Reply By: Member - Matt & Julie (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 18:58
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 18:58
We have just purchased the Sunbeam vac 550 28cm, have had a couple of
practice runs and are very happy with it, we are going to prepare all our
vegies for our trip to
Flinders Ranges and
Simpson Desert in August, but will
still get our butcher to pack our meat, saves on double handling!! There has been
quite a few threads on this subject worth having a look.
Follow Up By: DIO - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 21:05
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 21:05
Just be mindful of the limitations on transporting fresh fruit and vegetables between States, Check this Link for additional info on the subject. There are severe penalties for non-compliance.
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 18:59
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 18:59
Well, we think they are worth having Gonebush. Although they might not be as good for meat as getting vac packing done by your butcher, ours does the job for us.
At home we now vac pack all our meat before freezing.
When we travel on longer trips we take it with us and vac pack any fish we catch and want to keep. Also sometimes vac pack vegies. I've even heard of people who vac packing wheel bearings packed with grease.
A great advantage is that you get no leakage and mixture of smells / flavours in the fridge or freezer. When travelling, I can now keep bait, fish, meat, beer and vegies in the same fridge.
I can't comment on the Sunbeam. I bought ours on Ebay. Got the machine and about 1,000 bags in varying sizes for less than I would have paid for a Sunbeam.
Apart from price, I see the main disadvantage of the Sunbeam being that you need 'special' bags that are more expensive. Our machine can use any thick plastic bag, although we only use the purpose made food quality bags.
Difference in price is about a factor or 8 or 10 I believe.
I'm happy to be corrected, but I believe the average bag for the Sunbeam is 40c to 50c. Our average bag (variety of sizes bought in quantity) is around 6 or 8 cents I think.
But I'm not commenting on the machine. Perhaps the Sunbeam is much better than the ones you can get on eBay.
Nothing against Sunbeam. I own shares in the company that makes them (GUD). I just chose a different brand in this case.
Follow Up By: gonebush SA - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:08
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:08
hi, i did look at the ones on ebay and wondered if they were any good, we were mainly thinking of the sunbeam so i knew we could get the bags for it. so do you buy you bags off of ebay aswell? and what length is the sealer on those ones?
thanks
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:31
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:31
My machine is the same one that Ian has posted a link to below. You can get bags from the same place, but I found this place to be the best for bags.
Site Link
All packed in size/quantity packs at $28 per pack. Pay postage on the first pack, then free postage after that. We went overboard and bought a pack of 4 different sizes. We now have several years supply of bags.
Norm C
Follow Up By: gonebush SA - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 23:14
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 23:14
Norm C, i went to the site link you put on and noticed that it says that the bags are not suited for domestic vacuum machines.
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 08:15
Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 08:15
Yes Gonebush, that is exactly right. They are a commercial type bag, not suited to the most common domestic machines like Sunbeam which need the special hatching on one side. This is mentioned on other posts on this thread.
They are suitable for the nozzle type machines you generaly get on eBay and for most commercial machines.
If you have concerns with this, I can only suggest you do your own research. Find the main eBay sellers for bags and machines. Read their listings in detail. Contact them with specific questions. That's what I did.
I've been happily using these bags (and some others I got from the machine supplier) for some time now.
Norm C
Reply By: Ianw - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:08
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:08
Dont make the mistake of believing that the Sunbeam or equivalents are the only options for this type of gear. Have a look on ebay, you can get same or better ones for around 1/3 the price that the major stores charge for Sunbeams etc.
The store bought ones require you to buy their special bags, but there are others that can seal just about any plastic bags, including chips peanuts, cheese, even Glad bags, as
well as bags you buy for meat, dried foods etc.
Ours cost $95 and performs
well .
Site Link
If you watch this site, you will find they sell for between $80 to $112. The seller is to be trusted. He sells at least 1 every day.
Reply By: Harry - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:31
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:31
Yep, have that 420model and does the job very
well and is more than adequate for 2 persons food.
You only have to make the bag longer to put more in.
Just make sure you wrap your parcels in paper to stop bags or anything rubbing so punctures don't occur, otherwise food will spoil without you knowing.
There's no rocket science on how to, just read instructions.
Ave a good 1
Follow Up By: gonebush SA - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 21:47
Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 21:47
hi, i noticed that you recommend to wrap your food in paper, this is one i hadn't heard of, but i can see with certain things that it would help, what sort of paper do you mean? butchers, grease proof ect. thanks Chris
Follow Up By: Harry - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 20:04
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 20:04
Depending on how you pack the fridge, something with an edge can and has happened, pierced a packet, but it was noticed before spoilage occurred.
Just plain ole newspaper will suffice.
A bit of masking tape to keep paper from unwrapping and label with marker pen works great.
Glad to help out.
Reply By: mattie - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:32
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:32
Hi Gonebush
the sunbeam works
well, on the subject of bags everyone seems to think u have to buy sunbeams bags this i incorrect, i use endless bag or rolls of bag what ever u like to call it from master butchers, i would buy the wider model without a doubt. When purchasing bags or rolls u have to make sure they have one crinkly side this is for this and similar type vac machines to beable to remove the air, your expensive or industrial units like your butcher use bags that are smooth both sides.
MATTIE
Follow Up By: Ianw - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:40
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:40
Thats what we mean when you have to buy special "crinkly one side" bags for the Sunbeam. Other ones don't need crinkly bags, can use just about any bag. As I said earlier
mine can seal potato chip bags etc. but Sunbeam ones definately would not!!!
Follow Up By: Ianw - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:43
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:43
Max sealing width 30cm
Follow Up By: Capt - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 21:13
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 21:13
Ian,
The Sunbeam definitely re-seals potato chip bags etc, it states that in the manual that comes with the units & I've done it myself....works a treat.
Additionally, instead of buying bags of different sizes it is easier to use a roll & make the bags whatever length you want (it is the width that is limited by the machine not so much the length) easy peasy....you just seal it at both ends with the machine.
Follow Up By: Ianw - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 22:00
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 22:00
Yep, it should be able to reseal them, but due to not being crinkly cannot vacuum them. Also can make bags of any size by buying the large ones and using the heat sealer to make smaller bags from them. My machine can use your bags but your machine cannot use
mine. PLUS
mine's bigger than yours!!!! etc. etc, etc
Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 20:32
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 20:32
Ditto - been using our sunbeam for bush travel - can even run it on the gennie if required - worth the $ for sure - handy for dried foods too, as
well as the obvious wet perishables.
Reply By: brett - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 22:41
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 22:41
Question for people with the ebay one, I got one a while ago and have only used it a few times and found it worked
well but I notice the instructions say the pump will cut out when a certain vacuum is achieved,
mine seems to keep running and doesn't cut out even after it looks to have sucked all the air out. How long should it suck for before it cuts out?
Follow Up By: Ianw - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 22:58
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 22:58
The motor doesn't cut out, it stops sucking because there is no more air to suck out. Press on the seal bar to stop the pump. The Chinese have never been much good at the English language!!
Follow Up By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 13:59
Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 13:59
Mine doesn't cut out either. I prefer to make the call that sufficient air has been drawn out rather than rely on a pressure switch. With most foods I've found that you need to "massage" the bag to ensure that it's not only the part near the nozzle that has been evacuated.
Adrian
Reply By: gonebush SA - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 23:10
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 23:10
ok now I'm getting really confused (I know it's not hard to do). any way from what i can gather the ebay ones seem better because they can use different types of bags. but when looking on ebay there are the ones from the link above but there are also different types which look the same without a name badge and sell for less. does anyone know if they are in fact the same machine, or if they work
well.
thanks for all the info so far received it does really help.
Follow Up By: howie - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 19:54
Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 19:54
it was pointed out before but, i have a sunbeam 28cm also, and i can seal ANY bag that is capable of taking heat.
i have re-sealed crisp bags, grated cheese bags etc
i als use the continuous roll and make them ANY size i want.
differences i found before i bought are
1) suction power - obviously the $2000 butchers machine will suck a little harder.
2) bags are rated in microns- relates to the 'holes' in the plastic.
3) i think a sunbeam could use almost any available bag on the market, but the choice is yours.
PS the sunbeam auto detects when there is 'no more' air in the bag, and goes to 'seal mode', don't know if the others do reading some posts.
good luck
howie
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 08:34
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 08:34
My Mezzo/Aldi also senses the vacuum.
Once I found it wouldn't stop - then realised it wasn't fully vacuumed because there was a wrinkle in the bag preventing a good seal into the machine. I like this feature.
Reply By: OnYaBike (Cairns, QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 23:37
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 23:37
I think you've got enough material to sort through by now.
Include this: the other day I had to open a new tube of silicone sealer just to use a little bit. Usually the next time I want it it has all gone hard. So I sealed it in a bag with the (ebay) vac sealer. Can't report on results yet, too soon, but I'm hopeful.
If you buy one get 28cm, you can always use the smaller bags (20cm) if you want. Bags are reuseable though not recommended for meat & fish.
I get my bags from Butcher's Supplies.
Ordinary (non-checked) bags will seal but not vacuum, but still handy for say keeping
water out of the cheese in the esky.
Follow Up By: G.T. - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 17:06
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 17:06
A tip re sealing silicone tubes , is when finished with your job is to leave a bead ( the size of a small ball bearing ) on
the tip of your nozzle. This will set hard leaving the contents of your tube sealed from the air. To use again just break off the bead from
the tip and the contents will flow as normal. Regards G.T.
Follow Up By: OnYaBike (Cairns, QLD) - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 17:27
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 17:27
Thanks G.T.
Usually by the time I use silicone sealer again the whole nozzle has gone solid. If I am lucky I can screw on a new nozzle but otherwise the sealer goes hard right into the tube.
Obviously I don't use sealer very often unless I am on a project on the boat or something. I'm interested to see how the vacuum sealing goes assuming I am able to leave the tube a fair while before I need to use it again. I wrote the date on the bag.
Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 11:08
Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 11:08
I bought the Mezzo from Aldi when they had it for $99.
It does exactly what the larger Sunbeam does. It doesn't have the nozzle so I assume it can only use the textured bags or rolls.
Reply By: graemejohn - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 12:11
Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 12:11
Had a Sunbeam for some time and pack all my fish and bait [ mullet] with it.You can use any bags and found the cheapest and best at butcher supply outlets that have all the bags and about half the price of sunbeam ones.
Cheers Graeme.
Reply By: Member -Dodger - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 17:05
Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 17:05
We have had one for a couple of years and simply love it . We vac pack all our meat fish etc in meal sized lots. Also when vac packed even snags last at least 5 weeks at NORMAL fridg temps. And there is never any mess in the fridg when you get your meat fish etc out. Plus the fact that you can change your meal selection at will. You will also learn that amny veges can be vac packed as
well to ensure freshness etc.
Yep vac pack is the way to go.
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 20:20
Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 20:20
I reckon the lack of juice dribbling through the fridge would be worth it alone.
Only thing I would say is NEVER VAC PAC COOKED FOOD - golden rule No1 there is a good reason canned food has the crap cooked out of it AFTER canning - it is to prevent botulism
Reply By: gonebush SA - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 21:42
Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 21:42
hi again, and thanks everyone for you help, we just bit the bullet and bought one from ebay. i think all this talk about them though has upped the price they have averaged at around $85-$120 and tonight i saw the highest price of $197. i ended up getting one from a different seller, i wasn't to sure at first but looked closer and they are the same machine and make so i ended up saving $80 and got
mine for $117. I'm sure it's going to get a workout not only with food after reading some of the other uses like the silicone (that's got to help).
so thanks once again and happy vaccing. Chris
Follow Up By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 22:32
Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 22:32
Chris,
If it's the one that went at 9 o'clock then I got
mine from the same seller. Delivery was very fast, bags were good quality and it works very
well (as in a couple of posts above, ignore the instructions that say that the pump switches off when it draws sufficient vacuum - it doesn't but that's not a problem).
One tip I've learnt the hard way - if you're doing fresh meat then put it in the bag, freeze for about an hour and then vacuum. Otherwise juices get into the nozzle and make the exhaust stink. You can pull off a cover on the back of the machine and wash a filter but best to avoid the problem in the first place.
Let me know if you have any other questions.
Adrian
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 08:37
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 08:37
I agree that putting meat in the freezer for an hour is a good idea.
The Mezzo/Aldi is a brillant design - there is a large tray which will collect any drips, and then you can remove the tray to wash it easily.
Follow Up By: gonebush SA - Friday, Jul 27, 2007 at 10:54
Friday, Jul 27, 2007 at 10:54
yes that was me that bought
mine around 9 o'clock, I'm glad to hear that all went
well with the machine as i couldn't workout why his were a bit cheaper than the other seller and machines seem to be the same. thanks for
the tip about freezing, any tips gratefully accepted. thanks again Chris.