Does this work

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 04:34
ThreadID: 48110 Views:3511 Replies:7 FollowUps:24
We were told that if you cover the air vents on the dash of your vehicle with chux (stuck down with duck tape) it will keep a lot of the dust out of the vehicle. Is this a myth or does it really work??????????

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

Reply By: barney rubble - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 07:56

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 07:56
Gday never heard of that one but turn your vents to recirc works a treat Cheers
AnswerID: 254500

Follow Up By: jeffwa - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 10:36

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 10:36
Yeah I was thinking the same thing, why wouldn't you just recirc it?
FollowupID: 515585

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 11:44

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 11:44
Hi Barney, that is what we will be doing. Just wondered if anyone else had heard that story.

D

FollowupID: 515598

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 08:23

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 08:23
I don't see how it could work - all the foot vents will still be open.

Going to recirculate position works well in Pajeros.
AnswerID: 254503

Follow Up By: Scoof - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 09:45

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 09:45
I didn't find that worked in my Pajero.I had on fresh air in and had no dust to speak of.
The time before that trip I had it on recycle and had dust inside.???

Are you sure you use the recycled air in the Paj in dusty conditions.

Regards Scoof..
FollowupID: 515572

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 10:11

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 10:11
If you get dust in when you are in the Recirc position, you have an air leak somewhere.

The NM and early NPs had a dysfunctional design of exit duct behind the rear bumper - a stone bouncing off the inside of the bumper could knock the dust-sealing flaps and allow dust in.
FollowupID: 515578

Follow Up By: Scoof - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 10:17

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 10:17
Thanks for the reply

When the dust got in I had a NM and second trip I had the NP so that might explain the difference. Maybe.

Cheers Scoof..

FollowupID: 515581

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 11:51

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 11:51
Thanks Mike R, we use the recyc as well, I was just interested if anyone else had heard of it.

D

FollowupID: 515599

Follow Up By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 12:40

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 12:40
My NP manual says that to keep dust out you should have it set on FRESH air. The manual actually points out that this is counterintuitive but it works because the cabin is pressurised.

Adrian
FollowupID: 515607

Follow Up By: Scoof - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 12:54

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 12:54
Hi Adrian,

I think I will stay using Fresh air.It worked for me.

Cheers Scoof.. :-)
FollowupID: 515608

Follow Up By: Camoco - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 13:25

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 13:25
I have heard that American autos do not fully seal on recirc because the dumb yanks forget to open it again and die from lack of oxygen or some such nonsense.

It may be partly true as right from new my Frontera (made in USA) has always leaked air/dust on recirc yet the Patrol doesn't.

Cheers Cam
FollowupID: 515613

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 14:09

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 14:09
If the air in front of you is clean, then FRESH is the best approach. Even if there are air leaks at the rear, the inside will be pressurised and prevent dust leaking in.

If you are following others or there's lots of oncoming traffic then RECIRC is better - unless you have a really bad air leak.
FollowupID: 515624

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 15:59

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 15:59
Early NMs and some NPs didn't have the full genuine Mitsu dust sealing kit fitted.
It was an optional extra fitted at no cost by the dealer from what I understand.
But you had to ask for it.
From memory there was couple of holes in the floor under the back seat and other places that they fixed up.
FollowupID: 515643

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 19:39

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 19:39
Thanks for the advice John.

I recently spent 2 weeks out Tibooburra way & had a major dust problem with my NP.Most of the dust seems to be coming in around the third row of seat belts.
I tried rec & fresh air. No difference to dust problem.
Vince
FollowupID: 515679

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Jul 27, 2007 at 08:08

Friday, Jul 27, 2007 at 08:08
Vince,

Might be time to get the sealant out :o)

Every now and then I go over the Paj and check the grommets and dust sealing.

At least this one doesn't have the small holes in the roof lining like the old 86 Paj did. We had dust falling out every time we hit a bump in Brisy.

A bit of clean dust never hurt any one, and we got used to covering things up or putting them in boxes to keep them away from dust.

Reminds me, I need to make a new little dust blower for the back door. You know, a bit of hose to clip on the spare tyre, and a little air gun on the other end to blow the dust from around the back door before you open it. :o)
FollowupID: 515747

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 20:52

Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 20:52
Vince,

Just had a thought about your dust entry at the rear.
My outlets for the cabin are in the tail lights.- gen II pajero.
Does the NP have the outlets in the rear 1/4 panel down low? - gen III pajero.

Have heard of some people with NMs and NPs having the rubber flaps in the air vents being stuck open and dust getting in?

Might be worthwhile to have a look and see if this is where the dust is getting in.
FollowupID: 516308

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 21:01

Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 21:01
"Does the NP have the outlets in the rear 1/4 panel down low? - gen III pajero."
- they couldn't get any lower, they're behind the bumper - stupid place to put them with all those stones being thrown up by the rear tyres !
FollowupID: 516311

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 09:14

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 09:14
The answer to that is slightly tricky Dunworkin

You have probably also heard that putting windows up and turning on fan also keeps dust out because it creates a slight positive pressure and the escaping air goes thru any little cracks hence keeping dust out.

Both can work , but it depends on the source of the dust.

If your following someone and there is dust in the air , then covering the vents below your windscreens wipers does keep more dust out - as it is the greatest source of fresh air.

If however , there is no one in front of you and hence air in front is clear
then you are better to have those vents uncovered and maintain the slight
positive air pressure which will reduce dust that enters via back door seals.

As per previous posts , using recirc is the practical approach.

AnswerID: 254513

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 11:58

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 11:58
Hi Robin, thanks for the reply, We will be following others for some of the way but we still won't be trying it (or maybe we should try it, join myth busters ha ha ha).

We have heard of, and do practice, windows up etc etc etc, my main interest is if anyone else had heard of the 'chux trick' as this guy was stoked on the idea and said it worked a treat on his MQ Patrol.

D

FollowupID: 515603

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 10:06

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 10:06
I am with you here Robin,

I travell with the vents open, fresh air coming in. If I notice dust in the air, either from a vehicle I am catching up with or from an oncoming vehicle I push the little button to recirc. When I am clear of the dust I go back to fresh.

It's not 100%, I still get dust in but hey it's good clean dust anyway.

I reckon if you are not spitting the dust from between your teeth you haven't really been there anyway.

AnswerID: 254516

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 10:26

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 10:26
Your on the right wavelength mate, As I said about driving in someone elses dust, it's not the issue of it getting in the car but whats going into the engine filter

FollowupID: 515584

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 12:02

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 12:02
Hi Duncs, we agree that if you are not getting dust around you, you are not in the 'outback'. We use the recirc button as well but this tip did intrigue me, wondered if anyone else had heard of it.

Thanks for the reply

D

FollowupID: 515604

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 10:21

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 10:21
Dunworkin
Think about it some more before you believe some fairy tales you hear on the road, to begin with the intakes are on the front of the vehicle,now unless your a fool like the ones I seen on a TJM Video where they travel in convoy and are dead scared of getting lost or left behind so travel in the dust of the vehicle in front your not going to get much coming in the front, very little in fact, I get dust in my Troopy from the back doors so the idea is to pressurise the cabin by leaving the vents open in the fresh setting thus allowing air to come in , not like someone else said [City Slickers]and put the vent on recirculate, that only reduces the pressure and then you may as well open all the windows, of which I do anyhow when in sandy country and travelling slow, Another thing ...a bit of dirt don't hurt anyone.
I can remember when I was driving trucks, the old T-Line Inter had no A/C so you had to leave the windows down , temps around the 44 deg North of Boulia going up the Chatsworth road the dust used to swirl in and I could feel it in the hair and on my right shoulder, Dunworkin it would be better to hang onto the chux and use them to clean the dust off ,

AnswerID: 254518

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 13:21

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 13:21
Hi Doug T and of course Dusty, Thanks for the reply.
I had never heard of this before so was just wondering if anyone else had. I never thought that it would work as if you look at a chux wipe (I know about chux after cleaning house for more years than I care to talk about) the holes that they have in them would have to let the dust in anyway.
Dust is not a problem to us, we are both 'country bumpkins' and as a kid my family use to cross the nullabor in Jan/Feb(1950s/60s style) every two years, one trip was on the back of an old vanguard ute with canopy, those were the days!!!!!!!!!! Hubbies family use to go from Geraldton to Carnarvon for their holidays back in the 50s/60s so we are both immuned to the dust.

D

FollowupID: 515612

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 13:43

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 13:43
Dunworkin
Vanguards eh, my old man gad 2 , first was a Van about 1953 i think, then he had a spacemaster , probably 1956, it was a flash one that one eh , it had overdrive,
the engines are the same used in the old grey Ferguson Tractors, I have the most funiest memory of the Fergy , I got the truck bogged behind a grain sheb at Werribee Vic and they hooked 2 grey Fergies up in line , the silly bugger on the front one put his head down and away , when the chains snapped tight the tractor nearest me severed at the gearbox and the engine and front wheels were about 10 feet away and the driver just sort of stood up as it happened, Oh if only that could have been caught on camera , it would have won good dollars on Funniest Home Videos,

FollowupID: 515620

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 14:21

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 14:21
Hi again, aaaah the old vanguard, from memory it was about 51/52 model or there abouts, older than the spacemaster. We had a few problems with that ute, it only return trip occross the nullabor, then we had an old plymouth, I lost count on how many times that crossed the Eyre H'way then there was the 52 Chev, now there was a solid car (my favourite of my parents cars), the first trip over was with a 37 model Chev, I was 6 years old when my dad asked me if I could drive that car from one paddock to another about 5 miles away, you know what answer a 6yo would give, was my first driving lesson and have not stopped.

The old Ferguson, Ahh again my Grandfather had one of those on his farm at Pata near Loxton, I remember it well.

D

FollowupID: 515627

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 14:24

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 14:24
Sorry should have read before hitting the button, the vanguard only did one trip accross the nullabor.

FollowupID: 515628

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 08:27

Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 08:27
Parents used to have a 49 vanguard station wagon.
My sister and I used to fight over whose turn it was to turn on the rear lights when it got dark.
There was a switch on the rear 1/4 panel, and no switch inside, so dad had to stop to let one of the kids out to turn on the lights.
Then we went up market to the 56 spacemaster.
Then we went to the 63 holden, never as good.

Now back to your query on the chux dunworking, might make a little difference, but we tend to drive with the front windows down anyway on tracks, or any speed under 80km/hr, unless it is hot and over 35 deg. Hear and smell more that way. Smell the bush, smell a hot radiator before you see the temp guage go up, and hear the rattles, and tyres going soft, and the occasional vehicle coming the other way. Hear a bird before you see it. :o)

Madly wind up the windows and go recirc when some thing comes the other way. If following some one, if we are getting dusty, so is the engine intake, so drop back as Doug says.
Nothing like hitting a big bump after you get home, and getting a small cloud of dust dropping on you. reminds you of the trip.
FollowupID: 516346

Reply By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 12:38

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 12:38
Yep like Doug T says you need to leave the vents open and, in the case of my patrol, I cover the flow through vents at the rear of the vehicle with duct tape to increase the positive pressure on the door seals. Can be a bit of a bugger shutting the doors when these vents are covered but worth it to keep the dust out of the rear.
AnswerID: 254530

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 13:28

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 13:28
Hi Patrol22, thanks for the tip.

D

FollowupID: 515614

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 22:20

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 22:20
My 4 Toyota's do 150 km per day on dirt roads, with the air-con on and set to fresh the inside gets a wipe over once a week.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 254618