Once was lost, now is found....Moses now home
Submitted: Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 14:31
Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses
Ms Lucy posted about a missin' Nissan. I actually knew where he was and that was in
Port Augusta Automall workshop.
Something went awry in the bearing of the differential and allowed the teeth to force where they shouldn't or something like that. At Warraweena we found some chips of metal in the diff housing on the magnetic plug. When they took the diff apart they found whole teeth facings off!
The new diff centre arrived yesterday morning without getting any training in English after getting off the ship fresh from Japan. It was fitted yesterday and drove home 960 kms overnight. Coupla tired people here but relieved. We did have some coffee stops and had a two hour sleep. Left PA at 6.00 local time.
Using Tom Tom on our way home we chose to go the shortest route. Hmmm, It wasn't the quickest as it took us to fire
trails in South Australia that had gates, down slow but no doubt (in daylight) scenic
Adelaide Hill tracks North of
Murray Bridge.
KK brakes, with Moses brakes worked
well to avoid kangaroos that wanted to dodge under the bullbar in front of the wheel. Tyres scrabbling for a grip.
I reckon we know the PA area pretty
well now.
Reply By: Skippy In The GU - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 14:43
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 14:43
I find that using Fastest route is better for Tom Tom and for Garmin products I use shortest.
Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 14:44
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 14:44
Hi John.
Nice to see your toy back on the road again.
Up-side is you found the problem early and no major problems.
Now, you do understand that you are required to run in a new diff for extended periods. Will require a number of trips on your part.
Follow Up By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 14:48
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 14:48
Good idea, Wim: a nice trip to Mittagong to get those new Japanese teeth chattering, Heather & John? Ah so.
Good to see the team back again! Cheers RayJen :-)
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 15:55
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 15:55
Good toknow a number of trips are required Wim and nice of Ray to offer a great suggestion. The unfortunate time so far is the minimal cost of 4500 little thingies to pay for the diff repair, hopefully the Nissan extended warranty will do that, but not so far! That is aside from days of car hire too :-((((
Had we known how long it was all to take, we would have come home 10 days ago to go back to pick him up
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 16:37
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 16:37
John, I've been avoiding trips to Mittagong as I believe working bee's are the go there at the moment. LOL
have to work in a trip over there at some stage. Maybe a potential EO Gathering LOL
Follow Up By: Blaze - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 23:28
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 23:28
John glad to see Moses is back up and running, Des has been keeping me informed as to how things have been going.
Hopefully things will be sorted out and back to normal soon.
The Pyrenees will be a good trip and we will catch up then if not before.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 11:37
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 11:37
Ahh, a trip to Mittagong would be nice. Good to see you at
the Pyrenees. There are quite a few friends to be there, which will be good.
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 15:48
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 15:48
JohnR,
Good to hear that Moses is back on track. Glad he has given up his penchant for sushi :))))
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 16:01
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 16:01
Just the teeth gnashing I regret Al. Bit of a bugr. I don't mind the raw fish myself. Hope you will drive southwards to the Pyernees in November and tell us a few stories mate.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 16:37
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 16:37
JohnR,
I need to pick the right moment with SWMBO :))) Just about to leave on the annual feral pest reduction trip. Got to be hush hush as it is close to cane toad territory so don't spread it around sota voce hahahahaha
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 17:20
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 17:20
>Using Tom Tom on our way home we chose to go the shortest route. Hmmm, It wasn't the quickest as it took us to fire
trails in South Australia that had gates, down slow but no doubt (in daylight) scenic
Adelaide Hill tracks North of
Murray Bridge.
LMAO.. technology working with you...
Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 17:45
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 17:45
G'day John,
Good to see all safe and home again.
Surely the extended warranty will cover all costs??
-but look on the
bright side, heaps worse
places to have had problems.
S'pose Moses will be itching to be off and about now all bits and pieces are working.
BTW had the oil, as in cooking oil in the drawer, dried out by the time you got home??
Michael
Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 17:47
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 17:47
"I reckon we know the PA area pretty
well now"...and the pubs i bet...you were up there long enough...didnt you want to go home...:)
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 17:47
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 17:47
Glad you had a safe (if somewhat circuitous...hahaha) trip home John. That diff should be
well and truly run-in by now.
Not sure about
the Pyrenees trip....looks like a fair hike over there with 3 boys in the back
seat giving us a hard time, especially as it is just a "normal" weekend.
Follow Up By: Blaze - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 23:34
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 23:34
Roachie, they have cheap airfares to
Melbourne, Sadie went over a few weeks ago. Just send the boys over the weekend b4 and they can stay at John and Heathers till you get there....LOL You could use this as a second Honeymoon as
well then hehehehe. You will be able to leave the lecy blanket home then ......
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Jul 27, 2007 at 00:44
Friday, Jul 27, 2007 at 00:44
That is a fantastic idea Blaze.
As a matter of fact Deirdre and I would have the boys, especially Jarrod who I promised last week that if he ever came to
Melbourne and stayed at our place he could do what ever he liked.
Have an ale or three, watch foxtel all night, go out partying etc etc etc.
When I suggested a spot of table top dancing might be the go, you should have seen his mum slam her hands over his ears and commence singing La,La,La, La.
Then she hustled him out the door quick whilst muttering in his ear - your never going to their place so don't think you are.
Just trying to be helpful as usual.
C'mon Roachie, make a Presidential decision and declare it a Club trip for November. Its halfway between Kadina and
Melbourne and I promise I'll find a suitable tree for you to show usall how you "clip the Chevissian Birds wings" to keep it on the ground.
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 19:14
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 19:14
What Mr Moses didn't tell you:
(1) Both he and Mrs Moses have now qualified as honary
Port Augusta Tour guides as there is not one thing or place in the
Port Augusta area they haven't visited whilst waiting, waiting, waiting for the spare part of the century to arrive.
(2) Mr & Mrs Moses have hired/tried every available 4WD & 2WD in
Port Augusta and are now writing a critique for 4x4 monthly , for which he is hoping to be paid enogh to cover the costs of fixing the subject diff that caused this dilema in the first place.
(3) If anyone mentions the word Nissan in
Timboon they will be shot.
(4) Currently covertly researching how he can trade the current heap of c r a p for a nice new V8 76 series.
Oh! and (5) trying to figure out what excuse/s to use when he is interviewed about crashing those gates in SA on the most direct route home.
Follow Up By: Member - Debbie R (SA) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 19:53
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 19:53
Mr & Mrs Moses,
(3) If anyone mentions the word Nissan in
Timboon they will be shot.
Ah that word "Timboon" brings back child hood memories, I use to stay with friends most week ends during my teenage years (I lived in Colac at the time). Just remembered the names of friends Sheryl Winkler and Gavin King.
Glad to hear you made it home safely,
Port Augusta is quite a nice place since the big clean up not sure if I would like to be stuck there though.
Debbie
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 19:57
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 19:57
G'day Debbie
I hadn't seen your post before sorry.
Timboon is resident to lots of Nissans we are fortunate here.
I know of the names you mention but I can't picture them at all, or even get a handle of the times they may have been around the district. I have lived here since the late 60s, out near Boggy. Colac is a place I drive through, and seldom go to.
Port Augusta isn't too bad but you need to be doing something. Spent a bit of time in the Budget office it seemed. Pat is a nice guy there, we tried to make some use of the time there, but if we understood how long it was all to take, would have come home. The transport there, through
Adelaide, unless you were flying all the way didn't seem to link in with anything else. We ended up staying to the duration but learnt a lot about the area.
Lastly Debbie, I am glad you don't take Lucy seriously. I know he would have a considerable part of his life missing if he didn't have a Nissan envy. heeehhe
Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 20:00
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 20:00
I told him and told him, don't put a landcruiser diff in a nissan
Follow Up By: Moggs - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 22:21
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 22:21
LOL!
Glad to hear you are back safe John and Heather. Geez, 4500 - I would be banging on the Nissan CEO's door if they didn't cover it under warranty.
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 23:24
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 23:24
How are ya Moggs,
You probably found a message from me on your phone a while ago, we tried to catch up at willow springs but they had no room left apparently.
we ended up at wilpena with twinkles and JohnR (vic) (not the &moses one)
Might see you in a few weeks anyway...
Nick
Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 21:40
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 21:40
Great to see you are mobile again. Don't worry about the time. I am not sure if my camper is back in
Adelaide yet. I think they were bringing it back this week then it needs some panel reapirs. Oh
well thats what make sthings interesting and gives us plenty of stories to tell around the campfire.
catchya Later
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 12:22
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 12:22
G'day mate, thanks for the assistance that day. Really it is good to give some of these noisy Yota players some dirt on Nissan as they know it is hard to find. LOL
You better see if you can make it to
the Pyrenees in November mate