Opinion Poll, at one little building site, Regarding Toyo Hilux & Land cruiser

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 19:45
ThreadID: 48123 Views:3005 Replies:3 FollowUps:5
Unusual to see two new tray backs from the same manufacturer, turn up on a building site & park beside each other. Well it happened yesterday where i was, a toyo hilux steel tray td latest mod, and a V8 land cruiser steel tray back!!. Well it wasn't long before all the green eyed monsters started to creep about for a quick squiz..lol . Myself included. The V8 gets blokes raving, but so does the very smooth lines, the Modern look, and size of the new hilux. Out of that bunch on that little site i would say the hilux got more thumbs up than the cruiser, But of course it depends on what the vehicle is actually going to be used for. it was interesting at smoko & lunch listening to all the comments, and it was more interesting to see who's nose tilted the most when i rattled out the gate in the 130 tray back land rover !!. :)))))).

Reply By: John R (SA) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 20:22

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 20:22
They're certainly very different beasts, aren't they?!

I was bouncing around the paddock with a mate in his new cruiser ute. To state the obvious, it's very similar to the old ones. Still rough as hell, but now goes like hell. Certainly the first time I've seen anyone bother to put a cruise control in a cruiser!

I will stick with my hilux for the time being though - much more comfortable, better ride. It just can't carry as much as the cruiser.

AnswerID: 254597

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 20:35

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 20:35
Thats it John, But if you could beef that carrying capacity of the hilux up a tad,

" OH what a Feeling"

Axle.
FollowupID: 515697

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 20:43

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 20:43
'It just can't carry as much as the cruiser'

Got it in one John.

I have my 05 Hilux so loaded, we can't get another thing in or on it.

Love the comfort and style of the Hilux, but I think we'll be upgrading to a V8 LC Ute within 18 months. Not prepared to downgrade our comfort, level boat and all its accessories, and we want to eventually add a caravan. Guess the Hilux will have to give way to something with a bit more grunt.
Just hope they are a bit more comfortable with some (now) basic features like airbags and comfortable seats by then.
FollowupID: 515699

Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 21:10

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 21:10
A pity you didn't see any real fourby's.
AnswerID: 254604

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 21:17

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 21:17
Now.....now!!, I could be just as nasty and say i drove out the gate in one!!.

FollowupID: 515705

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 22:12

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 22:12
"Now.....now!!, I could be just as nasty and say i drove out the gate in one!!. "

You could say that, but it would be a lie as you said you drove out in a 130 defender!! LOL ;)

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 515713

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Jul 27, 2007 at 12:19

Friday, Jul 27, 2007 at 12:19
Of course we could also say when there's work to be done only certain makes measure up?

FollowupID: 515781

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Jul 27, 2007 at 12:26

Friday, Jul 27, 2007 at 12:26
Hmm bit surprised the hilux got the thumbs up. I havnt had a go yet but 1 lobbed up at my mates department. It got the thumbs down with one look with one guy writting a full report as to its shortcomings (too low, no proper underbody protection etc etc) management of course didnt listen and it has already suffered a fair bit of damage - There just not up to it anmore
AnswerID: 254686