Where is the Best Pricing for Cooper ST
Submitted: Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 10:41
Member - WORM (VIC)
Morning all, As per the topic heading I am going to buy a set of Cooper ST for my Landcruiser and wondering if anyone can help me out with
places around South East of
Melbourne that offer good prices. Have been quoted $305.00 each this includes fit, balance, GST and dumping of all boots.
Cheers Worm
Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 11:00
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 11:00
I wouldn't pay one cent for Coopers Tyres, go to thread 47508 and read my comments to see why.
Cheers Steve.
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 11:15
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 11:15
Steve,
The way I have read the post is that it will cost him $305 for them to dump them LOL
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 11:28
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 11:28
Hear hear!
I wouldn't put them on a wheelbarrow after my experiences with both them & their so called warranty!
But, then if you are going to stay on the blacktop, they'll be OK.
Follow Up By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 11:40
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 11:40
You guys must have got monday or friday tyres, i have been all round the centre, simpson and up top, they have done 30,000 and not yet lost a lug and only had ONE puncture and that was on the camper trailer.
cheers Lance
Reply By: Member - G N (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 12:04
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 12:04
I agree, buy the coopers and you will be VERY unhappy.
I ran a set of ST for 30000km on bitchy, sand and black country and thought they were great, then 7000k trip with 2500 km of gibber and they were stuffed, ripped of lugs, fractured etc etc , got some warrantee on 2 but not much realy.
Just done similar trip on worse gibber and more weight with goodyear MTR's and a bit cut up but no lugs missing.
Summary COOPERS are bleep and should have BIG white wall warning, "NOT FOR SERIOUS USE"
Follow Up By: George - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 13:48
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 13:48
My experience with Coopers was even worse, needles to say never again…
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 12:23
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 12:23
You been listning to Mr Moon, or maybe reading a 4x4 Magazine, you take heed of what Steve said and you'll be right
Reply By: awill4x4 - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 12:40
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 12:40
Chalk me up as another one who won't be buying Cooper ST's again. Admittedly I have got the Kms numbers up but they haven't done much 4x4ing and still have lugs tearing, they are also very slippery in the wet as the kms mount.
Regards Andrew.
Reply By: Exploder - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 12:47
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 12:47
What do you guy’s do to your Tyres
I am on my second set of Cooper’s and will probably get a 3rd set, maybe I just get the Cooper tyres that were made on a Wednesday. LOL
Reply By: Member - WORM (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 14:12
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 14:12
Jesus, Look no offence guys but I believe I asked a question regarding pricing of Cooper Tyres not your personal opinions. I reckon I am quite able to make my own mind up when it comes to crunch time. Personal opinions regarding tyres are on par with personal opinions regarding petrol vs Diesel. The truth is I am sick of reading posts regarding Tyre brand vs Tyre Brand t hats why I only asked a question regarding pricing. Hey but thanks for spending time to reply.
Cheers Worm
Follow Up By: George - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 15:18
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 15:18
What else would you expect when asking any question here but personal opinions?
Like with everything else, if you phone/visit few tyre shops you may negotiate better price keeping in mind that dealers may not be allowed to advertise any discounts on some brands.
Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 15:53
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 15:53
Go to your nearest Coopers dealer, tell them you will go on TV like Rom Moon and say all sorts of nice things about them, then they will put them on your car for nothing, mainly because thats what there worth.
Please accept my apologies, next time I will keep my experienced opinions for those who need them.
Follow Up By: Member - WORM (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 16:44
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 16:44
Steve you cant compare me using Coopers and you and your 693s (Think thats what your running) in the same scenario. Mate I live in Victoria you up North I doubt there will be huge issues with side wall damage and lugs tearing off down here. What you use up North suits you to a tea but not nessacarily the right combination down here in Sunny warm
Melbourne. Its like fishing, if you brought your gear down here I reckon you may struggle to catch a fish cause its a totaly different ball game. Took me six years to learn the correct way to fish
Melbourne after moving from
Port Hedland WA to here. Mate if I was a lucky bastard like you and lived up there Coopers probably wouldn't be the right choice as the conditions are just to different. Anyway thanks for your help. PS This cold place makes you do some weird things sometimes.
Cheers Worm
Reply By: Gronk - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 18:38
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 18:38
I'm running Cooper ATR's and during a recent trip thru Alice,
Boulia ,
Birdsville, Innaminka,
Bourke, Dubbo , I blew a trye......maybe bad luck.....another in the group holed a Cooper ST...maybe bad luck also....but everywhere we asked out there(while looking for a replacement of any sort ) they all said the same thing( 5 diff outback towns ) COOPERS are CRAP !!!
Goodyear wranglers. toyo opats, hankook mt's, BFG's, Maxxis,Bridgestone 693,694, but all said Coopers were crap !!!!!!!!
Follow Up By: Gronk - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 09:50
Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 09:50
Yep, I know you asked about price but like others I was politely trying to steer you towards another brand!!!!!!!
Unfortunately, when you ask a question here, you may get more information than you originally asked for, but sometimes that additional info is worth noting, and for people who may not know much about a product, that additional info can come in handy !!!!!!!
Most people here only try and help ( most of the time anyhow )
Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 16:38
Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 16:38
I also run Cooper ATR's and looking at a couple they are cut up fairly
well a few lugs missing done (40000 )so before I did my trip south I put on two Goodyear AT's. Of interest I visited
Birdsville tip as I could see a pile of tyres and there was a pile of damaged tyres and rims some looked brand new some old but what stood out was the number of desert duallers damn near 10 to one of other brands, only a few coopers, goodyear (thankfully), maxis.
Why was this..... there will be heaps of reasons but to date I figure correct pressures, tyre placement and keeping the speed down when tyres down.
As for pricing of your tyres as the add says let your fingers do the walking and get your prices that way or if you have a union shopper try them.
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 18:47
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 18:47
Worm
It is said that Education is a wonderful thing - just a pity that the majority of respondees to your question never, ever acquired the basics of the English language, as they seem to have read your question as what is their opinion of Cooper Tyres, not as you asked , where is the place with the best price to buy them from.
The best place for tyres in the Sth East of Melb is on Ferntree Gully Road just as it starts from the Princess Highway.
It used to be a Kevin Donellan dealership and one of the employees bought it.
IThe new name has slipped the memory banks, however it's easy to find.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 19:24
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 19:24
QUOTE: "It is said that Education is a wonderful thing -"
Princess Highway? I don't think so!
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 22:47
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 22:47
Damn! Don't you just hate that.
Do a bag and get bagged.
Yep! it is Princes Hwy alright - think I would know that by now wouldn't you, but then I have an excuse - I am over 40yrs and I think that has something to do with it.
At least I answered good old Worms (who ever he is) question.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 23:18
Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 23:18
It is a pet hate of
mine, I live near Traralgon & the amount of times I see it misspelt in both television & print advertising really annoys me, it is even often pronounced 'Princess' on the radio.
To be 100% correct it is actually the Prince's Highway.
Follow Up By: Brew34.5(SA) - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 10:14
Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 10:14
Over 40 years Lucy???? When did this happen?
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 11:24
Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 11:24
Ah! Brewster my man, you know way too much.
Well at least I did make it to the AGM, not like a couple of others I know and I had to travel an extra 4,200Kms. (That SMS did top THE AWARD of the night)
By the way, how is that new "rolls royce" travelling.