Time for someone to resign - come to Oz and be fitted up

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 19:38
ThreadID: 48189 Views:2715 Replies:10 FollowUps:22
Site Link

Reply By: Member - John - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 20:55

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 20:55
Mike, I agree with you. "Children overboard" do you think? I thought you still had to be PROVED guilty in this country?

AnswerID: 254881

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 21:12

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 21:12
I dunno John. I've supported this government in much of what it has done and I still stand by that but this case has been a disaster and a condemnation of some appalling laws too - we (citizens) must be ever vigilant of governments trying to usurp our rights - and most will try, given half a chance.

FollowupID: 515997

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 23:55

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 23:55
QUOTE: I thought you still had to be PROVED guilty in this country?

Unless you are driving!
FollowupID: 516017

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 21:22

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 21:22
I'm getting a bit bored with the ever increasing political discussions on this forum.

I may be missing something,...but political discussions belong elsewhere.

Most of us spend time here and go bush, go fishing, go fossiking or just GO, to get away from all that stuff. There is enough on every TV every newspaper, every radio, so what is the point of bringing it up here.

If you enjoy political debate, join a political party.

Just my 2 cents worth
AnswerID: 254885

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 22:18

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 22:18
I see your point Gone Troppo. But some of us spend a bit of time on the net, while the wife watches her favourite TV show which we have no interest in (or similar scenario). Any intelligent discussion is sometimes good discussion. And this is an important national issue.

You can always choose not to read subjects you have no interest in. Then you won't be bored by them.
FollowupID: 516001

Follow Up By: mightyQ - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 22:51

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 22:51
G'day Troppo, I'm with you, this forum is all about( or so I was led to believe) camping, caravanning, 4x4..ing. travelling.
We have been advised, previously about sticking to the topic(s) of this forum but there are always some who think that their political agendas need to be heard.
It is one of the reasons, after 4 years I decided not to renew my membership and just drop by as a visitor.

andy

FollowupID: 516007

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 23:04

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 23:04
As Norm said,
no one is FORCING you to read it.
FollowupID: 516011

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 08:12

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 08:12
I don't read it. I have better things to do with my time.
The point is that it ought not to be here at all.

How would you feel if people started forcing their religious beliefs down everyones throat, or post with pornographic content.

This is a forum about 4WD, caravans, camping etc. What is so difficult to understand about that.

FollowupID: 516035

Follow Up By: Member - George (WA) - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 17:23

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 17:23
Totally agree with Troppo, get sick of all the politices. This is not the forum for that. Writ to your local MP or newspaper if you have a political oppinion
Just my view
FollowupID: 516113

Reply By: BennyGU - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 23:02

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 23:02
I whole heartedly support the detention of any suspected terrorist and prosecution of actual terrorists (bring in the death penalty for convicted terrorists) but the more of this case that is revealed it appears that it was very hap hazard and reeks of political interferance. If the magistrate granting extensions of detention had been aware of the SIM card being elsewhere than in the Jeep I think the case would thrown out far earlier.

My personal opinion that the Government tried to regain some ground in the polls with a strong National Security line close to an upcoming election. An enquiry must be launched into this fiasco to ensure that the Federal Police, instead of using resources on some one who had a pretty limp link at best to the failed attack, should have been reassigned elsewhere once the trivial nature of the link was discovered. I wonder why it took so long for the location the Sim was found at to be revealed. Security reasons my @ss, more like the Government buying time to find a fall guy.

One person who I think should get a big pat on the back is his lawyer Peter Russo. He is the FIRST lawyer I actually respect; uses words ordinary folk can understand instead of legalese and calls a spade a spade. Anyone who has a back ground like him (rousabout, store clark and shop assistant (I believe) before going to study law) has to have a decent streak unlike most of the over schooled slick vermin that a decent amount of the legal profession is.

My few cents worth
Ben
AnswerID: 254892

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 09:46

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 09:46
"I whole heartedly support the detention of any suspected terrorist and prosecution of actual terrorists (bring in the death penalty for convicted terrorists)"

I'd disagree, the Guilford Four were convicted terrorists and served 15 years injail before havibg their convictions over-ruled. Likewise the Birmingham 6 who served an even longer sentence. When it come to terrorism it seems that governments and police forces will do whatever they can to get a conviction to keep the masses happy. Even if it means getting the wrong people.
FollowupID: 516045

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 23:26

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 23:26
Here's an interesting point, if somebody is suspected of committing terrorist acts or fighting with the Taliban, eg. David Hicks, are they accountable to criminal law, or are they regarded as prisoners of war, inasmuch as they have been caught fighting with an organisation, with which we are at war.
AnswerID: 254894

Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 07:42

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 07:42
Well I joined Explore Oz to read all about Exploring Oz.
These sort of posts in my opinion don't have a place here, they just cause loads of trouble and in fighting.
The campfire on another 4WD forum is a prize example, it's a disgrace.

AnswerID: 254907

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 10:53

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 10:53
For more than one thousand years your countrymen have struggled, fought and died in order to establish the freedoms for ordinary people we currently enjoy in the countries of the world which have inherited British democracy. Keeping that in mind it seems to me that the occasional post on this forum which highlights the establishment’s desire to curtail those freedoms, when it thinks it can get away with it, is a small price to pay.

The problem with democratic freedoms is that one often doesn’t notice they’re there until they are gone – "she won’t be right mate"; not without constant public vigilance and outcry.

Some things are more important than which is the better fridge.

FollowupID: 516063

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 17:07

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 17:07
Strewth another whinging Pom....LOL
Your right Harding.... The price of freedom is eternal vigilance
FollowupID: 516109

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 00:22

Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 00:22
Which one Mr Fawlty? Think they both are. Seems most people in the community prejudge all sorts of situations from what they read in the media, or don't read. Think they know it all, no need for the facts behind it until buildings come crashing down.

No doubt the dingo did it in my mind!
FollowupID: 516571

Reply By: OldMike2 - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 10:39

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 10:39
I wasn't going to grace this thread with a reply, but I do have one thing to say and that is that the assumption that everyone always tells the truth is false.

AnswerID: 254929

Follow Up By: Member - Mark P (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 14:12

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 14:12
Hi, I agree that this should not be a political forum, but I am concerned that the current policies of this government will change the way we can explore OZ. Take for example the waste dump planned out of Tennat Creek. How many restrictions will be placed around that???? The use of military in aboriginal comunities? And now haneef? Take a look at this : a href = " Site Link .

It won't be long till you will need a permit to travel around OZ.

FollowupID: 516092

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 18:21

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 18:21
"but I am concerned that the current policies of this government will change the way we can explore OZ"

Like a lot of others you seem to overlook the very small fact that the laws in question were passed with Bi Partisan support of the opposition.
So what will change under these policies if we have a change of government??

FollowupID: 516123

Reply By: George - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 14:05

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 14:05
It is small comfort that authorities would cancel visa of someone who is a close associate of a known terrorist – remember there is nothing “alleged” about the “would be” suicide bomber in Glasgow. It is bad enough to have to deal with the consequences of our misguided immigration rules resulting in an escalation of ethnic gangs fuelled by their deluded beliefs and hatred of our way of life.
I am also somewhat puzzled why Mr Beattie is so upset by a loss of another medico from India given the well publicised recent events involving his compatriot in Bundaberg hospital. Thanks to the respective governments colluding with the medical lobby to keep the numbers of medical students consistently low our public health system is forced to rely on a third world trained “doctors” with sometimes grave consequences, example here: Site Link
AnswerID: 254951

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 17:16

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 17:16
George, I could not agree more with your sentiments.
I do have one minor problem - my Doctor is Egyptian, but he does specialise in "Mens Health".....
Forget Beattie, he's a politician, he has screwed up and this makes a great smokescreen, watch him remanouvre when the truth eventually is sifted out about this bloke. Remember how he defended Patel untill the truth finally was allowed to surface and in a show of total embarassement they made the woman who blew the whistle a hero, and rightfully so.
FollowupID: 516112

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 13:04

Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 13:04
George - this guy was trained in the UK (as a medical doctor that is) and as far as I'm aware they don't practice 3rd world medicine there....but then again....
FollowupID: 516204

Follow Up By: George - Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 14:59

Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 14:59
He was recruited in UK but he was Indian trained according to this ABC interview:
Site Link
As to whether the practice 3rd world medicine in UK let me quote from the same interview: "there are more doctors who have graduated from medicine in Malawi practising in Manchester than there are in Malawi"
FollowupID: 516226

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 16:43

Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 16:43
A " close associate" ? tell us truly do YOU associate closely with every one of your relatives , in particular do you know what your wifes 4th cousin 3 times removed wifes brotherinlaw is doing right now , ??
FollowupID: 516247

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 17:04

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 17:04
Look, it's probably unfair of me to comment but as a retrenched spook I can name at least 3 other cases where the AFP have jumped the gun, got the facts wrong and had the case thrown out. Most of these Government agencies are "results" driven, you catch the bad guy you may get a promotion but you do get to ONE UP your co workers. A culture change may be needed, promotion should be on skill not results. Let's not forget this is an election year, even Centrelink and the CSA have become human, but I suggest this will only last till the election.
Frankly I would prefer that 1000 innocent 'terrorists' were detained rather than let one genuine TERRORIST in.
May be an idea too if we continue to employ persons from overseas to dissalow them to send their income out of the country into foriegn tax avoidance schemes - just as an incentive to keep them honest.
Ok so there must be some evidence that this Indian Dr has done something suss, the trouble is we the public never seem to be told the truth and the media do their best to sensationalise, distort and "sell" their product.
As to those of you suggesting that such discussion should not take place here then I, with all due respect, suggest that you simply don't read it.
That is like suggesting that you will watch swimming events on TV and only show an interest in who wins and not ogle the stunning female competitors.
AnswerID: 254964

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 16:27

Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 16:27
"Frankly I would prefer that 1,000 innocent 'terrorists' were detained rather than let one genuine TERRORIST in"
..... Yes, I fully agree with that .....

Some-one made a (bad) decision about a 'sim' card, however the mistake has been rectified.

This is Australia, we have the choice of what we read, what we say, what we print and where we travel - because we want and expect that freedom !!
FollowupID: 516243

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 16:47

Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 16:47
Hey Mainey

I posted something on this thread yesterday, It was deleted so apparently we don't have a choice about what we say or what we print.

Freedom of speech? apparently not on this forum.

Steve.
FollowupID: 516249

Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 19:26

Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 19:26
Now where's that recipe for "Humble pie"
AnswerID: 255389

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 19:31

Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 19:31
A gullible comedian - must be a government minister in disguise....

FollowupID: 516525

Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 19:34

Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 19:34
Hi Mike,
Actually there is a Pommy comedian called Mike Harding

www.mikeharding.co.uk/

AnswerID: 255390

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 19:36

Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 19:36
He's stolen my name! :)
FollowupID: 516527

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 11:44

Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 11:44
Right, that's it - you owe me a new keyboard Harding. The coffee I just sprayed all over this one has made it totally redundant.
FollowupID: 516599