GU exhaust heat shield

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 22:16
ThreadID: 48194 Views:5695 Replies:7 FollowUps:10
The Leader of the Opposition has finally loosened the purse strings and fatso is going to get a new exhaust. It is a 98 model 2.8TD and i was looking at the Beaudesert 2.75" system in stainless ($1700 fitted) or mild steel ($1000) fitted.
Question 1 is: I normally do about 1000km a year on the beach, would this be enough to warrant the S/S system?

Also both types have no heat shields fitted on the dump pipe/first two feet of exhaust, is this going to create any issues with the heating of the firewall? The current one has a small part of the lower shield corroded away: I believe due to moisture getting into the fibreglass(?) matting underneath and rusting it from the inside out. I have seen a few 3L and 4.2L TD Patrols with bigger exhausts that appear to have to no shields so I would believe no issues occur, but if anyone has had any problems can you please share your experiances.

Thanks in advance
Ben

Reply By: Member - Stephen F (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 00:56

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 00:56
G'day BennyGU

I don't think you will have a problem with an exhaust from this mob, they supply (from what I've read a quality exhaust) Just make shaw it get's fitted properly and you also get your engine tuned after the fitting.

In terms of dollars i would get the 1K job, more than ample, the stainless would be nice and shiny, but just think what you can spend the other $700 on.
AnswerID: 254898

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 10:06

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 10:06
$700 towards a chip would be very nice.
FollowupID: 516055

Reply By: Member - John - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 08:23

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 08:23
Benny, I had mine coated inside and out with heat resistant stuff, ceramic I think, will try and find the info for you. Certainly keeps the floor cool, the heat shield it replaced.

AnswerID: 254913

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 10:07

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 10:07
Thanks mate
FollowupID: 516056

Reply By: Grungle - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 08:36

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 08:36
Hi Ben,

Would be cheaper to get the Beaudesert dump pipe (around $170) and get you local exhaust shop to fab up a 2.75 or 3 inch system out of mild steel. Should cost you around $400 plus the cost of the dump pipe.

The main performance gain is from the dump pipe and the quality of the rest of the system will be on a par with the BD pipes.

AnswerID: 254914

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 10:08

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 10:08
I will investigate this very closely indeed,
Thanks Dave
FollowupID: 516057

Reply By: Member - John - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 11:26

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 11:26
Benny, the place I had mine done was in Leongatha Vic, the may be able to help you source some one close to you. It was pretty cheap too, from memory. Certainly works well. John

High Performance Coatings PTY LTD

6 Watson Rd Leongatha VIC 3953
ph: (03) 5662 4338

AnswerID: 254932

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 12:07

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 12:07
Will be giving a ring tomorrow,
Thanks John
FollowupID: 516073

Reply By: Member - John - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 11:29

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 11:29
Benny, one other thing that may help you with the 2.8 TD. I fitted a Turbo Smart Manual boost controller to mine, it brought the Turbo on to boost about 500 rpm sooner than with out, made it much more driveable. Ran the same boost pressure. Hope that helps. John

AnswerID: 254934

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 12:12

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 12:12
If you remember the following it would help me greatly:
Cost
Supplier
Professional install or home done jobbie?

appreciated heaps
FollowupID: 516076

Reply By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 12:33

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 12:33
Hi Ben,
Is your original exhaust stuffed ? If not, I would (in fact I did ) be spending the $$ on a chip if you're after performance enhancement.
The increase in kw and nm is going to be faaar more from a chip than what you're gonna get from the exhaust.
I can vouch for the Motson's, have a look through the archives, have written a couple of posts on it. If you can't find the posts, let me know, I'll dig them up for you.

Pezza
AnswerID: 254941

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 15:21

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 15:21
Thanks for the reply Pezza,
The original exhaust is just OK at the moment. the middle muffler has a decent ding in the middle of it and the lower part of the heat guards are pretty poxy with most of the pipe under the heat shield covered in scale. There is still some of wall thickness left but its annoying me. I am also planning to get a chip but if I am going to get higher EGTs in the pipe, then it would only accelerate the corrosion there at the moment. I am quite taken to the the idea of getting the Beaudesert exhausts 2.75' dump pipe and get the local exhuast mob to fabricate the rest in probably 2.75' mild steel.

Did you have any EGT gauges fitted when you had the motsons put in. I have heard they raise the boost to 14psi in conjuction with the fueling increase to match but when I asked Motsons themselves over the phone about EGTs the salesman changed the topic to say the warranty with the chip only covered the chip and not the motor. To skirt around the issue of EGTs has made me wary of Motsons so my plan was to go to a DP Chip and have it tuned to match the exhaust and other mods (already blocked EGR, possibly boost controller depending on cost, fitment ect.). If you know what EGTs the Motsons chip runs it would be appreciated.

Ben
FollowupID: 516100

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 17:15

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 17:15
Sorry mate, can't help you with the EGT's, tell the truth, I wasn't real concerned with it, There are a few thousand of these chips fitted, wasn't a problem with them so I wasn't going to worry myself with it.
David ( Grungle) used his proffessional skills to wire the module in and we set the boost to 14.5 psi and have been happy as Larry since, motor has 270,000 k's on it.
Where'd you find the EGR and was there much difference when you blocked it off, I didn't think the 2.8's had them, I was obviously wrong :-)

Pezza
FollowupID: 516111

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 16:40

Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 16:40
Sorry for being a few days late,
The 2.8 GU EGR system is begins at the very rear of the exhaust manifold about 4 inches off the firewall on the passenger side. The EGR pipe is silvery coloured about an inch in diameter and runs up the block and to the top of the intake mainfold just below where the hose from the intercooler joins. At the joint between the EGR pipe and intake manifold there is a flying saucer looking thing that is part of the pneumatic control from the ECU. The valve is located on the pipe so all you do is loosen the bolts holding the valve to the intake manifold and drop in your plate (mines 4mm thick mild steel) and retighten the bolts so the Inspectors cant tell any different. The exact design can be found on a french patrol site I located through patrol4x4 forum. It looks like a very fat 'T' shape.

Difference: Turbo on boost at 1700 rpm compared to previous 2000, no smoke under acceleration, 0.5l/100k better fuel consumption, about 1mm cooler on temp gauge when cruising and the engine oil is clear to around 3000km (barely 1000km before). The fool who dreamt up dumping hot sooty exhaust back into the combustion process needs to be removed from the gene pool immediately. Another 'green' invasion on the motoring scene that has again proved totally useless.

Ben
FollowupID: 516383

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 11:28

Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 11:28
Good stuff, pipe located, plate fabricated, job done, thanks mate.

Pezza
FollowupID: 516475

Reply By: Member - John - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 15:11

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 15:11
Benny, re the Turbo Smart Manual boost controller, was about $100.00 from Autobarn, was fitted by me, set with an after market boost gauge. Good piece of gear and certainly brings the boost on sooner.

AnswerID: 254954

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 15:33

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 15:33
Righto, this mod just got put right up the list. Boost gauge was going to go in a some time in the future but I think the order now will be; exhaust($700-$1000), boost controller/gauge ($400ish), chip/EGT gauge ($1600).
Should wake the little bugger up a bit me thinks and all hopefully in by christmas. I originally was going to trade it in on a 2007 ST-L3.0 CRD but bought a runout 06 Hilux SR 3.0 4wd TD for work instead, got cold feet over 3.0l grenading history. Some of the moola left over is going on the old truck.
FollowupID: 516103