Flat spotted tyres
Submitted: Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 03:33
Member - Barnesy (SA)
Gday, a quick question please. A mate has a pair of 7.5 X 16 dunlop super grippers that have been sitting on the old wrecked ute for a couple of years behind the shed.
They have been about half inflated for this time, they're in excellent condition, not perished, 95% tread, but they do have a flat spot where they have been sitting, when I took them for a drive.
Will the flat spot wear out after a bit of driving?
or are the tyres wasted?
Barnesy
Reply By: Fazz - Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 07:14
Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 07:14
Barnesy,
The flat spot will more than likely work it way out, but be aware that the belting & cords have been under stress for a long time, so could cause problems in the future.
Also, how old are the tyres as the compound has more than likely deteriorated ?
Fazz.
Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 17:29
Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 17:29
Flat spotted tyres would not be as big a concern for me as the fact the tyres have been sitting around for a couple of years. Outside??? I had a bad experience with a good old tyre.
Follow Up By: Ted (Cairns) - Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 19:58
Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 19:58
I'd rather use a 2 year old tyre with 25% thread than a 8yo with 95% thread. Old tyres tend to blow up on you, worn ones (within reason) only are somewhat more prone to punctures... what would you rather have? Sorry didn't quite answer the original question did I?
Reply By: obee - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 19:47
Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 19:47
I bought a couple of second hand tyres once with lots of tread but after a couple of months the side walls began to delaminate. God knows where they had really come from but the story was one from the old man and one of his. I think I was conned or maybe they didnt know. I stay away from old tyre now though I have seen some going a long long time.
Owen