Mundaring Powerlines last night (Sun 29 July)
Submitted: Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 10:46
Member - Brett (WA)
No photos today guys, sorry bout that. Even after my "slight mishap" on Saturday night I ended up heading out to the Powerlines lastnight with a couple of mates and with all the rain we've got over here, it made it quite a challenge!
Lots of slippery hills and just all out good fun, no real issues what so ever, we entered just south of The Lakes and did about 6.5 km of the track.
With all the rain it has made a few of the climbs a little more challenging. Considering that we didn't get into the track until about 7:15pm we ended up having a late one.
I think I've had a good dose of off roading for a while, I know the wife's not happy with my weekend adventures but hey, you only live once!!
Cheers for all the advice as
well from everyone here, I'm taking it all into consideration for a safer and more enjoyable off road experience.
Reply By: Robin hood - Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 14:34
Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 14:34
Gday Brett,
It sure was slippery up there yesterday. Myself and 5 other vehicles had an enjoyable day playing in the mud and
water. It is almost like rush hour up there on weekends with the amount of traffic. Had a few laughs at unfortunate souls stuck at the bit where the big boulders are i think it was? We could see from the far
hill a
bright yellow hilux laying almost on its side in a deep wash away. by the time we got there it was almost recovered plus at the same time the subaru
liberty club were busy snatching each other over rocks!!! The powerlines really isnt a place for AWD vehicles lol.
Once the traffic was clear several of our group attempted the climb with one unfortunate patrol rolling his front tyre off the rim before having to change it in the mud lol.
We all ended up with some damage in one way or the other but thats all part of the fun!
Jason
Reply By: Doggy Tease - Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 19:34
Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 19:34
I was up there yesterday as
well mate and am surprised that you made it so far comming from the East.
We travelled from the West and go all the way to the last rock platform at a
hill, just before the fenceline
hill, and had to turn around. Some very mindless,uneducated mob had chewed up three different approaches to this particular rock platform so bad that it was not funny. Western Power in their stock utes definately would not have been able to get up this section.
For someone to destroy the track to such an extent does not sit
well with me or any others i was with, or the Subaru club for that matter,,,this is the point where we met them as they turned around in disgust..
The main entry point to
the rock platform was the worst, completely unpassable to a standard fourby, with the second and third approaches not far behind in track damage.
meow.
rick.