Adventure Way

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 18:26
ThreadID: 48275 Views:2094 Replies:2 FollowUps:7
Can anyone provide an update on the above road (Innamincka to Thargomindah). Driving LC 100 and towing campertrailer fom Adelaide - any probs?

Reply By: seven - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 19:19

Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 19:19
Fang,
Pased thru there last week and had no problems one of the vehicles was towing a camper. Like all outback roads mate, drive them how you see them, take care and enjoy

Seven.
AnswerID: 255248

Follow Up By: thefang - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 07:36

Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 07:36
Thanks Seven. Will check but how about creek crossings?
F
FollowupID: 516456

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 08:04

Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 08:04
The biggest creek is the Cooper. All weather concrete bridge over it near Innamincka.

The Cooper closer to Thargo is small channels. You hardly notice it is there, unless it is in flood.

The gibbers on the road around Innamincka are more of a worry than creek crossings.
AnswerID: 255312

Follow Up By: thefang - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 08:28

Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 08:28
Thank you.
I see you have a camper. How do you avoid rear end damage to truck (rear window in partic.) from gibbers?
F
FollowupID: 516460

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 15:37

Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 15:37
Fang,

Yep, just got it. Have been tenting it and using the roof rack for the last 20 years.
This is our bit of luxury in our old age. :o)

Trying it out in a couple of weeks time out NSW / Qld border.

Stone guards worry me too. Got the usual sloping screen with a bit of mesh, mounted on the draw bar to try and keep the stones down.

Been a lot of discussion about it on this forum and the camper trailer forum.

Still not sure what I have done with our CT will be OK.

Wondering about a cover on the rear window as well, or am I just worrying too much?

Have a look at these for some different ideas :

www.campertrailers.org/stone_guards.htm

forum is :

Site Link
FollowupID: 516489

Follow Up By: thefang - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 16:46

Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 16:46
Thanks Ol' Plods,
Good on ya. I lost a rear window on my old troopie a few years ago on Oodnaddatta track, even though the old CT had a stone deflector. Since then I've duct taped cardboard over the glass - it works - but now I've upgraded to my retirement truck I may need to protect the lights/paintwork as well (big sook). Looking at he site you suggested I think I will try a horizontal shade mesh barrier with occy straps to enable it to flex a little. Will still use the cardboard. Once again thanks for the help.
F
FollowupID: 516493

Follow Up By: fishaholic - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 22:17

Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 22:17
Came down the adventure way last week, towed a camper and had no drama's. Yes the gibbers could be an issue, but just keep your speed down, I actually let my tyres down a bit but that was due to the corrugations and having too much pressure in b4. Innaminka is one of our favourite spots would love to get there more often. On the stone guard story, I've had a shade cloth guard sloped downwards on the ct for about 5 years. Never had a problem, I reckon its due to it being loose and flexible so the rocks slow down.
Crawf
Ps some good camping spots along the way on the edge of creeks etc, You have to stop at Eulo or something and try the date wine especially the port!
FollowupID: 516547

Follow Up By: thefang - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 22:31

Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 22:31
Thanks Fisho. WE are leaving Adelaide tomorrow and wouldn't you know it, its going to rain up there(Nth Flinders and NE of SA) for the next few days. So change of plans . Will return that way after we have checked out Stradbroke, Moreton and maybe Fraser. Tailor and Dart season!
F
FollowupID: 516550

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 19:40

Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 19:40
Just checked the forecast.
50% chance of 1mm.
25% chance of 5mm.

Not a lot of rain!

BOM site:

Site Link
FollowupID: 516676