which way is the best way to cross the Simpson east to west or via versa
cheers Seven
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 21:37
Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 21:37
Most exciting is West to East
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 22:10
Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 22:10
What do you mean? it is easier that way isn't it?
easy runs up the dune with a steep dropoff? or is that the exciting bit?
I am planning to take the trailer west to east
Nick
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 22:34
Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 22:34
Nickster - Maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaate!
East to West - long run ups and then the drop off
West to East (especially at the end of April) - real short run up to 4 - 6 foot verticlal wall (Drop off comming the other way).
In April 2005 on a West to East in the Troopy by itself, had to take the shovel to a number of these suckers, cause if I didn't , I could get the front
wheels up and over then promptly land on its guts with no traction front or back in the hot dry sand.
Ask Roachie.
He went East to West with his CT and discussing it with him at Warrawena he stated that he wouldn't tow a CT West to East. From memory he further stated that it had rained and made it that much easier as
well.
I also think he said he wouldn't take a CT over it again either way.
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 22:59
Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 22:59
I have heard the same story east to west and also west to east. Which way is the prevailing wind? south west? with the wind would be easier as downwind is steep. I still have 12 months to figure it out. With a trailer is the only way we will be going, should have 33s on the trailer by then so running them at 14 psi should give a large contact area...
If it is too hard I'll go somewhere else.
I need a challenge, Warraweena was pretty easy, just needed a little care in spots and continually watching tyre placement so as to not get a flat as if you'd do that!!!
Nick
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 23:28
Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 23:28
Nick
I was talking to Moses about this in general whilst he was doing the retirement thing in
Port Augusta recently.
If you want a challenge with a trailer on then Do
Googs track from South to North.
Its a mini version of the Simpson in
places and if you breeze that in then you will have no trouble with the Simpson.
I just did it with the that New CT I built and all up the whole rig is 5ts loaded.
I would have to say that i had a couple of "challenges" along the way which took a bit of thinking.
I also have done the QAA & K1 lines on the Simpson when it had had rain on it shortly before we travelled.
Did both in 2WD. So it really depends on the time of the year and weather conditions.
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 08:13
Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 08:13
They did mention your suggestion of
Googs track, it looks a little out of the way for our trip but we'll see.
I am not one of these people afraid to let down the tyres more so that helps I find. Last year I had a little trouble near
Robe but let out a little more air and I was fine. This year it had to be really steep to stop me.
Nick
Reply By: Fatman - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 21:58
Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 21:58
hey bro, if you cross by camel, then it won't matter which way you go bro
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 22:50
Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 22:50
We saw a woman who was walking across. It didn't look like fun.
Driving was definately quicker and easier.
Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 22:40
Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 22:40
During the main touring season it makes very little difference. From the East the dunes are slightly steeper but generally smoother. From the west the approaches to the dunes are chopped up (from people with too high tyre preasures) often making run ups difficult. Either way it's a similar amount of effort to get over.
When the traffic dies down wind blows form on the crests making it far more difficult to come from the east, the main exception to this being Big Red which has always been steeper on the West side.
Then you must decide if you want to end your crossing relaxing in the
Birdsville pub or soaking in the
dalhousie springs.
Never seen any actual stats but I'd say far more people start at the Dalhousie end so if you go the other way you could expect more head on traffic, some thing to watch out for as you crest the top.
On the main
routes accross it really doent matter which way you go, it's not until you start heading cross country on say the
Madigan Line that it makes a huge difference in the power & fuel required .
Cheers Craig...............
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 22:56
Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 22:56
Someone had to give good advice Craig and it seems you are first.
I couldn't resist the little line about the woman who was walking, she really did look like she was doing it tuff.
When we did the SD in Oct 03 we went west to east and it was like a walk in the
park. I was actually a little dissapointed at how easy it was. I do understand that it can and does vary depending on time of year, rain, wind,traffic and probably some other variables as
well.
The thing that no body advised/warned us about was the lakes. We got a bit of rain, which is not uncommon, and even thought eh lakes looked OK they were the toughest part of our desert trip. Be really careful if you decide to drive across, check them out thouroughly before you commit yourself.
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 23:03
Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 23:03
This is what I have heard Duncs about west to east, Obviously Lucy found it hard.
Interested in your tyre pressures. Getting that right makes it soooooooo much easier.
Nick
Follow Up By: George (NT) - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 23:14
Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 23:14
Nick
G'day
young fella
I ran 12psi on the Nissan and 8psi on the trailer to make things a little bit easier on the outfit. That is running MRF crossplies on splits. Normally 15psi would be low enough for tubeless tyres. Many people run 20 to 25psi or even higher but they tend to axletramp the dunes into a scalloped nightmare.
Willem (on Georges computer)
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 08:17
Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 08:17
Willem
I trust we'll hear more about the skinnies in your report, will be interested to hear, If we get a patrol ute, it might not be a bad thing to get it with splits, then we'll have 3 sets 16x8 and 1 set of splits on the farm....
Nick
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 09:28
Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 09:28
Nick,
I had 5 people on board and the Trak Shak following along behind. We had been away for a longer trip and the Simpson was the short cut home. I had also suffered a fridge failure and bought a new one in Alice so I was carrying the extra fridge too. The old one made a good, but rather heavy, eski.
I dropped pressures at
Purni Bore. Initially to 20psi but it pretty soon dropped to 17 where it stayed for most of the trip. When I got stopped on a lake I dropped to 15psi and then to 13 for Big Red. (after I failed the first attempt.)
Like I say it was pretty easy overall. Just a couple of surprises like the lake to keep me on my toes.
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 12:02
Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 12:02
Sounds good Duncs,
Most posts about trailers in the simpson are about the damage they do, I aim to cross without the damage to the tracks (or my gear). Looks like it can be done with care....
Ideally I'd cross with no trailer but there is more than myself to consider.....
Nick
Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 17:32
Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 17:32
Gaday Nick. Over the last holiday period our club passed over 40 trailers being towed over the Simpson in a 3 day period, 1/2 of which were having considerable trouble to the point where couples were yelling at each other due to the stress. Overweight, too much air or just had no idea how to drive in sand. One car towing a camper had been stuck in the Eyre
Creek for 6 hours. Unfortunately a few experienced people cross
the desert saying how easy it was to tow & so the novices say I'll give it a go with not the same result. Rain in the creeks, clay pans or salt lakes together with windblown crests make the area difficult for towing. I hope the comfortable bed made up for the hours of winching & towing many seem to do.
Cheers Craig.............
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 09:49
Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 09:49
Craig, hopefully my skill level is up there....
I learned to 4wd
well before I learned to drive on the blacktop to I am not too bad in mud up to 12 inches deep.
Growing up on a farm you take for granted the 4wding you do every day so I may have more experience I give my self credit for....
That said, there is not much loose sand to practice on in southern Vic, some but not much....
Nick
Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 12:47
Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 12:47
Gaday Nick. Certainly not having a go at your ability. My recomendations for towing in the simpson are 120+ KW in the tow vehicle, no more than 1.1 tonne all up for the trailer (car not to be over max gross) driver must be able to back the trailer 50m using mirrors & be prepared to drop the tyres down to 15 psi or less. Ideally should have either driven the simpson before (without trailer) or at least practiced towing on sand like the
big desert or
Robe etc. Although that can't always be the way there would no doubt be far less stress if people came prepared like that.
Cheers Craig.................
PS: just for an idea over the school holidays the mud in
places was a metre+ deep with the salt lakes of course being bottomless. You'll no doubt cringe when you see the holes people have dug them selves out of :-)
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 21:28
Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 21:28
1.1 eh, I should weigh it in some time.....
Metre+ that would be ugly, saw one like that in the
otways, said no way
120 kw, not sure a 4.2 patrol is up to that..... it will have to be!
under 15psi? no probs, what is 10 like?
Had a good bogging here once, 4 tractors and a commercial loader for the extraction, 630hp total power. wasn't a 4by tho.
see ya round mate,
Nick
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Aug 04, 2007 at 21:50
Saturday, Aug 04, 2007 at 21:50
Nick,
The max GVM for the Trak Shak according to the compliance plate is 1100kg. It has a dry weight of 660kg. I have never had it on a weigh
bridge fully loaded but with 80l of water, 60l of diesel and 20kg of LPG on board plus food and clothing and all the other junk you pack in when travelling it could be getting close to that.
I tow it with a 4.2TD GU. The 120kw would be hard to accept from the GU but it does have lots of low down grunt and that grunt stays there fat and flat right through to red line. It is not the perfect vehicle but for that kind of work it is hard to beat.
Just to give you a bit more info which might help, we travelled on each of the east/west tracks for part of the trip covering 600km from Mt Dare to
Birdsville. I used 130l of diesel.
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 05, 2007 at 17:55
Sunday, Aug 05, 2007 at 17:55
Thanks Duncs,
The weigh
bridge is a "round to it" that I haven't done yet either.
130 litres is good to know, I am planning to take 60-80 extra just in case and about 160 litres of water if I can figure out which jerry leaks!!!
Nick
Reply By: George (NT) - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 23:08
Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 23:08
Yep, pretty much agee with all that Craig has said.
This year I went East West with a bush trailer in tow. The dunes on the west side were very scalloped and speed had to be reduced considerably after cresting a dune. I ran the French Line to
Erabena Track and then the WAA Line back to The French Line and Dalhousie. 6 dunes stopped me, two of which required alternative approaches.
Normally West to East is the preferred way. But I figure I have done my last run through the Simpson having covered all of the tracks in South Australia anyway. Still have to complete the
Madigan Line and the
Hay River but have done
Jervois Station to the French Line some years before and drove to the Geo Centre of the Simpson last year with the trailer in tow. Trailers are a menace in the rough country and too hard on the tow vehicle. I now have to reorganise the Nissan to be able to go out there without the trailer.
Willem (on Geroge's computer)
Reply By: Stevo 62 - Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 13:27
Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 13:27
Just did east - west on QAA & WAA and then return west - east on Rig Rd , not much difference
Follow Up By: Stevo 62 - Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 15:09
Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 15:09
forgot to add trip was about 2 weeks ago
Reply By: marq - Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 15:18
Thursday, Aug 02, 2007 at 15:18
Either way, make sure you carry a UHF, even a 1W unit is enough and regularly call out.
Make sure the tyre pressures are down to 12psi particularly on QAA soft tops, and about 14 -18psi for WAA or French lines.
Pajero NP Diesel used 110L French/WAA/French/QAA without any problems.
Scopping on both sides of the dunes so make sure everthing is tied down.
Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Sunday, Aug 05, 2007 at 10:43
Sunday, Aug 05, 2007 at 10:43
Seven , u related / know of the t/woomba Abbotts ?