Gotta be deaf!!.

Submitted: Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 20:11
ThreadID: 48376 Views:2731 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
Was at a workshop today, and there was a triton ute in having a front wheel bearing replaced, what a mess!, both inner & outer bearings had totally collapsed , things had got hotter than hell and developed into a molten mass of steel grinding away at the stub axle. The mechanic said, the owner thought he heard a noise a few days ago, and it seemed to be getting worse!!. How anyone could drive something in that state, and not realize something was horribly wrong has got me buggered.

Reply By: guzzi - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 21:04

Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 21:04
He must be related to my wife, the mechanical sympathy gene is non existent on her side of the family.
She eventually got around to telling me that her car was making a noise, she thought it was a fan belt and it had been noisy for a couple of weeks.
Yes it was a belt noise, it was the aircon belt screaming as it was dragged aroungd the seized aircon compressor. It was winter so it never occurred to her that the air con wasn't working.
Different time same car, we are going somewhere in HER car, and I ask "When did that vibration start?" answer a week or so ago, cause drive shaft centre bearing and front and rear uni's.
Her family was bred to keep mechanics in a job..........
AnswerID: 255737

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 21:39

Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 21:39
I used to hear every ping and squeal and grind but these days I am hard of hearing I hear nothing

AnswerID: 255747

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 21:49

Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 21:49
Ms Doe just turns the radio up a bit......
FollowupID: 516868

Follow Up By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 21:50

Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 21:50
Only for you dear........you ARE the deaf one!!!

FollowupID: 516869

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 04, 2007 at 08:06

Saturday, Aug 04, 2007 at 08:06
Now Now Muddy I was talking about the noises the car makes not your bones.

FollowupID: 516915

Reply By: hoyks - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 21:39

Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 21:39
Sounds like my uncle.

His boat trailer had a wheel bearing that sounded a bit second hand, so he tows it 2km to the local garage. Mechanic comes out with a trolley jack, jacks up the offending wheel that promptly falls off the axle and onto the ground.
AnswerID: 255748

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 23:14

Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 23:14
Hoyks,
If you get to Hetherbrae and into Marlin trailers the guy has a display of ground, bent, blue and welded stub axles!

He's got one that has the outer, yes the outer bearing race welded into the stub axle.

Worth seeing for a head shaker,

Geoff.

FollowupID: 516887

Follow Up By: Brian (VIC) - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 23:59

Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 23:59
Ha ha ha,
That sounds like what the brains trust did to our dual axle trailer at work. We use it for transporting spa pools to customers. One day last year the delivery guys couldn't work out why it was such a pig to reverse or to drag around the yard at work. After a week or so of complaining about it they finally took the wheels off it to discover they had done exactly what has been already described. Cost the company a fair bit of money due to cancelled deliveries as well as parts etc, now, suprisingly they actually regrease the hubs every 3 mths....
That didn't stop the monkeys tearing out the electric brake control wires and jack knifing $30k worth of goods but thats another story..
FollowupID: 516905

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 23:11

Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 23:11
My mates, dad's mate had one of those front engined V8 Porsche's.

Driving along he was one day when the "Check Coolant" light came on. Soo, he turned on the air conditioning. Coolant for occupant? Right?

Result? One siezed Porsche V8.

Cost? Heaps!!

AnswerID: 255764

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 04, 2007 at 22:44

Saturday, Aug 04, 2007 at 22:44
Thank god my wife is very observant when it comes to the car, I have drummed it into her watch the gauges especially the temp and any abnormal noises. Only problem is now with her new car (Toyota) guess what no temp gauge only an idiot light glows green when the engine is cold then once it warms up that goes out and nothing. So I hope that in the event of a hose ever splitting or radiator blowing that it gives you some form of audible warning as well cause I doubt the little red light will attract any attention during the daytime. What a stupid set up by Toyota. I always threaten her she will be the one catching the bus if she fails to notice the temp rise and she cooks it. Now I no that if the temp gauge falls to cold it is also a sign of instant dump of coolant so there would be no hot coolant to pass the the temp probe mmm Wonder if there will be any warning only just thought of that. I would prefer a gauge where you can see what the temps doing before any thing major can go wrong. Me thinking might invest in one of those alarms for water temp or loss. Some one on here sells them but cant remember who.Regards Steve
AnswerID: 255853

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 05, 2007 at 07:41

Sunday, Aug 05, 2007 at 07:41
Thermaguard

FollowupID: 517002

Reply By: Member - eerfree(QLD) - Sunday, Aug 05, 2007 at 21:31

Sunday, Aug 05, 2007 at 21:31
I was being driven by my wife in her car and her hands were shaking on the wheel, so I suggest she should get the front end checked - her rather sharp reply was, why should I get the front end checked it is the steering wheel that is wobbling !!!- Sigh.

eerfree
AnswerID: 255988