1996 Nissan Patrol Flat Tray 4.2td
Submitted: Saturday, Aug 04, 2007 at 20:46
Stewy78
I am interested in purchasing a 1996 Nissan Patrol Flat Tray Extra Cab 4.2td. The vehicle is in Tassie and has travelled 200000km but had injectors and a couple of other things in the engine touched up about 15000km ago. Apparently the extra cab was an aftermarket option that was done when the vehicle was brand new. I have a 1988 22ft millard caravan that i want to tow around and also a 23ft shark cat. The cat weighs 3.5 tonnes and the van weighs weighs about 2.5, i think. I would appreciate any opinions, or advice, that people could give me about this. I can't afford an f250 and really need a ute but because of the kids i need the back seats. Let me know what you think guys, cheers
Reply By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Saturday, Aug 04, 2007 at 21:04
Saturday, Aug 04, 2007 at 21:04
Hi Stewy,
My brother had a 4.2td Maverick (Patrol) & it used to tow his mate's cat no worries at all(can't remember the size of it, but it was pretty big)... His was a '90 model, with i think 200,000kms but the engine is pretty much the same as the one in the '96 model. The vehicle is actually towing a Jayco van at the moment with no worries at all.
In short, if its for the right money & it suits your needs, i'd say go for it.
Cheers, Brad
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Aug 04, 2007 at 22:01
Saturday, Aug 04, 2007 at 22:01
My GQ 4.2 had 215,000km on the clock when I picked it up.
I sold it 6 years later with 385,000km on the clock. As far as the engine was concerned it was still in good nick. I replaced the clutch at 245,000. That was the only drive train problem I had with the truck.
I sold
mine because I had a number of part failures which would be impossible to predict. I had a drag link fail at 280000km and a brake calliper mounting bracket failure. Both of these occurred a long way from home. SWMBO lost confidence in the vehicle. When we were going back to one car we took the opportunity to upgrade.
If the price is right I'd jump on it. You could probably justify a little holiday in Tassie while you go to pick it up.