GU 4.2TD Ute

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 21:17
ThreadID: 48513 Views:2816 Replies:5 FollowUps:5

I have finally decided that i am going to sell my Patrol wagon and replace it with a GU 4.2 TD Patrol Ute ....the wagon is an excellent vehicle and it has taken me a while to make my mind up about this , but it doesn't suit my needs any more , you could say i have just had enough of having to move things around every time i want to access something in the back whilst away travelling, while we had the caravan it wasn't so bad , but i have noticed with the camper trailer you seem to carry a lot more gear in the car , so a Ute is in order with a closed box on the back ......my question , is there anything i should take particular notice of in a Ute ??? I'm aware of the usual 5th gear probs with the earlier Patrols ..Thanks in advance ..........Cheers ......Dave

Oh and BTW the Patrol will be advertised in the trader section soon , selling as is with all the accessory's

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 21:19

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 21:19
We have a few ECHO's tonight

AnswerID: 256313

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 21:21

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 21:21
sorry bout that people ....buggered if i know how i did it ...lol
FollowupID: 517368

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 22:34

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 22:34
Borgy,
I realise that different strokes for different folks.
Our ute (crappy little Rodeo, eh, doesn't even sport a tow ball!!) Appalling!
That little piece of Thai-built crap has been to more places than quite a few flash-murry units on this site. And if we feel a need to upgrade, then a Nissan ute would suit just fine.
Chuck me an mm Borgy, and I'd be more than happy to elaborate.Jeff.
AnswerID: 256333

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 22:44

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 22:44
Check your rear axle housing is straight, Ask JohnR & Moses about bent rear axle housings

AnswerID: 256336

Follow Up By: George (NT) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 08:52

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 08:52
Twas the Kitchen Sink what done it

Says Willem (on George's computer)

hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 517406

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 00:18

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 00:18
Willem (on George's computer)

Your obviously in no hurry to get home hey? I can't really blame you though, compared to up there it's bloody cold down here lol

Enjoy

Cheers Luke
FollowupID: 517581

Follow Up By: George (NT) - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 17:30

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 17:30
Hi Luke

Alas, I am leaving tomorrow. Still not acclimatised to 30 degrtee heat and 70% humidity. But I like it!!!!!

Should be home by the 20th or thereabouts.

Willem (still on George's computer)
FollowupID: 517666

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 19:59

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 19:59
Ummm, Mr Bonz, what bent rear axle housings I wonder?
FollowupID: 517683

Reply By: Vicar - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 13:58

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 13:58
Gday mate,

Just recently did a trip down to sth aus via the strezleki desert via camerons corner in a 06 GU Ute. Had a box built with gas struts that spanned the length on drivers side of ute 800 high, 550 wide, and 2m long, just with a small angle on the lid. Had a box made to house the 40L engel and had a stocko retangular box from glenfords for my recovery gear. Towed an aussie swag over 7500k's. Went well. The gearing in the new utes is awesome and we got around 8k's per litre. Beautiful ute to drive. Just recently sold it only because we need a family car, little tucker on the way.
AnswerID: 256407

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 20:18

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 20:18
Thanks all , looks like i might have the wagon sold , so if anyone out there has a 4.2 TD GU Ute that they want to quit , give us a MM.........Cheers .......Dave
AnswerID: 256494