GMC geberators

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 11:57
ThreadID: 48526 Views:10276 Replies:26 FollowUps:35
Hey fellow humans,

Just enquiring what your opion is on GMC generators 750 or 850kw just to charge the battery in the camper van and run small TV and the fridge and lights it would only do about 30 hrs... for my 16 day trip around the Pilbra
Really want a Honda or a Engel but it would stretch the budget unless I can pick a second handy but they get snatch up pretty quickly any cheers for any advise you have for me

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 12:13

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 12:13
Don't use the 12volt output of generators to charge batteries, the voltage is way too high and will cook the battery. It gets higher as the battery gets closer to 100% charge rather than winding back.

Use a good quality 3 stage battery charger. You'll get a faster charge and safer.

AnswerID: 256385

Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 12:25

Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 12:25
ive charged plenty of batterys of our cheap genny never had an issue
FollowupID: 517781

Reply By: Fatman - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 12:39

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 12:39
I have met a few people on my travels who have used same generator for doing the same as what you wish to do ....they all say that they have stuffed TVs and also power packs, radios ,fans and blown light globes all from running these cheap generators .....Cheers Fatman
AnswerID: 256390

Follow Up By: Scoof - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 16:07

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 16:07
Fatman ,I have heard the same,a bloke I know bought a GMC generator for his house boat and the TV burst into flames.

My Brother inlaw has one just for the lighting around camp and recons it the ducks gut's.
FollowupID: 517462

Follow Up By: Mick - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 10:07

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 10:07
A generator for lighting around a camp!!!!! Tell him about 12v fluoros or gas lanterns or torches or moonlight. Also tell him about noise and air pollution!
FollowupID: 517605

Follow Up By: Scoof - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 12:58

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 12:58
I don't go around telling people to do and what not to do,
Take a chill pill.
FollowupID: 517619

Reply By: Vince NSW - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 12:39

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 12:39
Johnathon,
I have had one for the past 3 plus years. We only use it when bush camping well aeay from others. I have used mine with a 3 stage smart charger when we have lights running of the gennie for about 2 hours a night, and it works well for the price. I also could not come at the $1400 for a honda for somthing that gewts used so little. Mind you we did use it at home for six hours one night with a blackout.
Vince
AnswerID: 256391

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 12:51

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 12:51
Hi Johnathon

They do do the job while being far less than ideal.

Agree they are noisy , voltage is a bit rough so its important when you get one to check it out and be prepared to swap it if it has faults.

Considering the 10:1 price difference they are good value and friends of ours have used them to good effect , but have keep a close eye on them

AnswerID: 256394

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 13:12

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 13:12
What's a geberator

AnswerID: 256397

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 13:15

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 13:15
Its a machine that makes baby food,,,, everyone knows that!!! :)
FollowupID: 517444

Reply By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 13:27

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 13:27
I had one previously, prior to going solar, not bad, good on fuel, bit noisy but use ext lead and face exhaust away from you.

As said above dont charge from the 12v outlet, but ok to run a 240v charger from them, ideal for that.

Charger, tv, fridge and lights all together might be stretching it a bit.

Charge batts during day, run off them at night, then genny wont annoy people.

Just dont run anything from them that is voltage or frequency sensitive.

Ron
AnswerID: 256401

Follow Up By: flappa - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 14:47

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 14:47
Could you run a cheap invertor off the gennie (300w DSE for about $100).

That should smooth out the voltage somewhat ??
FollowupID: 517452

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 15:05

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 15:05
Wouldnt recommend it, basically ignore the 12v outlet and run off the 240v.

also worth a small hole in lower part of exhaust to allow build up of burnt 2 stroke oil out, poss why a few are packing up due to build up.

Ron
FollowupID: 517455

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 15:21

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 15:21
oh come on Ron, it's the build up which starts to act as a silencer!

I have one of the 2300W jobbies for my tank pump at home.
FollowupID: 517456

Reply By: Alan S (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 13:53

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 13:53
Johnathon

One of the reasons these GMC generators became popular was not only the cheap price but with their Unconditional Warranty there was minimal risk in getting a good one.

There are lots of references on this forum where people have shared their experiences of this wonderful unconditional warranty. Suppliers particularly Bunnings would swap over faulty products no questions asked, no proof of purchase required. And many peoples decision to buy GMC was based on this Wonderful warranty.

GMC no longer offer a Unconditional warranty, all exchanges, repairs etc require proof of purchase and the faulty goods need to be returned to GMC for assessment.

If you want cheap thats the risk now. ALso look at the Scorpion 850w at MALZ they were slightly cheaper than the GMC.

AnswerID: 256406

Reply By: Wizard1 - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 14:01

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 14:01
They make good boat anchors. The one owned is now landfill and been replaced by a Honda.

The GMC lasted 4 days in Arnhem Land (running 2-3 hours a day running a fridge and lights). Stopped for no reason and wouldn't re-start.

Do not buy cheap items that you will later rely on in some remote area where you can't get it fixed. Pay the extra for piece of mind and realiability. Otherwise you end up with this extra weight that you need to get home when it has a terminal breakdown.
AnswerID: 256409

Reply By: Mark Taylor - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 14:53

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 14:53
I have had a GMC genny for 3 or more years now. Works really well. Plug a 3 stage charger in during the day and run everything from the battery at night time. At the beach, we make a big sand "donut" and put the GMC in the middle.. really kills the noise.

MT
AnswerID: 256413

Reply By: roadtrain jack - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 16:07

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 16:07
mate we have used our gmc generator for years ! got it for 95 bucks ,4 years ago never serviced it , ran it all day in the hot summer for the beer and food !filled it in the morning , then just let it run out of fuel , it was night by then ! sleep time .
was just going to put in the bin when it gave up ! But dam the little thing will not die !
so I got the big gmc too ! keeps on going for me ! I have heard all the storys , I know of good brand ones ! having bad days also !
guess I am just lucky . but i have never won xlotto ! so you work it out !
have fun, go with someone you trust !
AnswerID: 256418

Reply By: Member - peter C (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 16:17

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 16:17
I have one, the 650w I think. Intended for backup use. Probably used about 2 times for a few hours keeping the engel cold.

I wouldn't rely on it for extended use but it seems to do what I want it for.
AnswerID: 256421

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 16:53

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 16:53
As some others have said do not use the 12v outlet , voltage varies from 8v upto 30v , the 240v side of things is ok ,just remember to not plug in anything that requires "clean" power such as a laptop , to charge your batts you realy want a good 3 stage charger , for best running ,ditch the sparkplug for a known brand such as NKG or Champion , allways run the carby dry when putting in storage and always use FRESH fuel at 50:1 , ///// 3.5yrs on and our 2 stroker starts 1st pull every time even after sitting unused for 3-4 months at a time [ have solar] Scorpion 950.
AnswerID: 256428

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 17:22

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 17:22
JohNthon

I have had 4 of these 'priceless gems" (850W $98.00)

(1) Fuel tank peed fuel on filling and never fired a shot.

(2) Fuel tap leaked like a sieve ( could have fixed it but used the warranty)

(3) Magic machine until I fried the twelve volt side of things. Used to put out 18V and super charge wet cell batteries to boiling point (LOL)

(4) Fried a second battery charger (not mine) so gave it to my grand son to take away with him and drive everyone mad with.

Now have a Honda 2.0i (Just fantastic)

The GMC 850 are really good for power tools, lights and anything that doesn't need a refined constant output.

The ones I had used to flit between 210v & 260V with the greatest of ease.
AnswerID: 256437

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 17:42

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 17:42
Hmmmmmmmmmm, I skeptical of these stories about TV's bursting into flames, Laptops exploding, Aliens stealing the cheap generators for parts....Most appliances don't actually run of the 240vac they have onboard power supplies that condition the supply and "transform" it to the voltage required.
I have yet to have anyone be able to prove that these cheap generators do the nasty things that are alleged - with the exception of the noise.
Anyway why not buy the ALDI one it is well organised and is of "substantial" teutonic manufacture.The Germans are pedants when it comes to electrial apparatus.
AnswerID: 256443

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 17:55

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 17:55
You are a man of wisdom Fawlty :)

Cheap small gens have their downsides (so do small expensive ones) - the GMC is OK, see my comprehensive technical report on mine about two years ago on this forum.

PS. Fawlty: I think the aliens bit may be correct...?
FollowupID: 517481

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:23

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:23
I will agree with you both in principle as I tried all sorts of devices/appliances and only ever had trouble with the battery chargers.

Though, as I said, plug into the so called 12V outlet and watch those wet cell batteries come to life.
FollowupID: 517492

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 19:02

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 19:02
The 12V "charging" output is less than ideal - quite a lot less in fact but I don't know that Honda et al are much better? (anyone?).

The GMC 12V output is simply a full wave rectified output of a low voltage gen winding. On my example (and I imagine all others) it was a full return to zero waveform with about 24V peaks (iirc). When connected to the smoothing capabilities of a battery it settled down to about an 18V charging voltage.

The real world upshot of this is that batteries of a capacity less than approx. 10Ah should only be charged for about 1 to 2 hours, between 10 and 20Ah about 3 hours above 20Ah probably not more than 5 hours - in any event this charging voltage will be outside most lead acid battery specs and should be used with caution. Essentially if you don't fully understand what I'm saying don't use the 12V charging output except in an emergency (flat starting battery etc).

FollowupID: 517497

Follow Up By: TD100 - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 20:04

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 20:04
the first one i had peed fuel out of the fuel bowl,returned it got another and it has been fantastic(about 3 years)but yes the output is all over the shop and yes it fried my battery drills charger with ease(started surging in rpm dont know why but thats what caused overvolts and hence the damage!!)but still for $120 bucks at the time i would buy another cheers Paul
FollowupID: 517517

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 08:31

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 08:31
Hi Mike,

"The 12V "charging" output is less than ideal - quite a lot less in fact but I don't know that Honda et al are much better? (anyone?)."

I've spent a little bit of time poking an Oscilloscope at my EU10i Honda and I tend to agree with your summary of the 12V DC. Ok, but I wouldn't risk an expensive battery on it.

This is the open circuit output if my Honda, obviously a load will change it somewhat.

FollowupID: 517596

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 10:05

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 10:05
Hi Geoff

A bit smoother than the GMC but still way too high on the voltage - I imagine it drops at full load but it'll still boil small batteries. Wonder what the high frequency noise is?

Nice screen grab - what the scope? Is it one of the USB type? What specs?

FollowupID: 517604

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 13:58

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 13:58
Hi Mike,
I don't really know what happens to the DC under load. The day I played around with the CRO and the generator I didn't have anything to load the DC side.

Oscilloscope is a Yokogawa DL1540CL. (I actually work for them in Tech. Support for PLC's, Hybrid Controllers and SCADA so I have access to the whole kit bag of unusual test gear)
This unit is an older one, it actually has a floppy drive. Its replacement uses as you suggest USB, it also has Ethernet and FTP capability.
1540CL is a 200MS/s, 150mHz, 4 channel unit with LCD.

I captured the screen to file on the internal floppy disk then opened on my PC with the software you see above.

Here's a couple from the AC side of the EU10i. My best guess is the inverter has some interaction on the output. The capture with two paralleled 10i's is interesting. They appear to "converse" over the AC bus. The reason I say that is the block diagram of the units show paralleling of the AC outputs not the actual inverter modules. How they do load sharing is an interesting one to speculate on.

Single EU10i at 575 Watts.

Paralleled EU10i at 2,000 Watts.

Note: For safety, readings where taken on the secondary side of an 240V to 24V transformer.

Geoff.

FollowupID: 517632

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 16:51

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 16:51
Harding, thanks for the compliment - I like your nonsactimonious approach.
I know I'm only a guest but strewth some of the sactimonious garbage some people post on here just makes me laugh....
As to the Aliens, I firmly belive their only interest in small generators is to start their Ion Drives and they must marvel at us still using a flow of electrons in a copper wire to power our breadmakers.
Actually I do enjoy laughing so the more sanctimonious garbage the better.....
FollowupID: 517656

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 19:01

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 19:01
Ah! good old Mr. Fawlty.

Yep! us sanctimonious eathlings have it all over those dumbarse aliens - we use that high tech substance called fire to make our bread and toast.

None of that foul poluting ion stuff for us.

And Mr Harding could you please explain why you reckon that the silly scope shows the Honda as being very 'noisy' when mine is very quiet.
FollowupID: 517672

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 19:12

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 19:12
It is an intrinsic part of Zen Lucy - within the noise silence is but a transitory illusion....
FollowupID: 517677

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 20:06

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 20:06
Ha! Ha! Ha!

You have been watching/listing to too much BONZ-a-vision.

FollowupID: 517688

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 13:47

Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 13:47
Brother Lucy,
The noise the learned Mr Harding refers to is of an electrical nature characterised by the little squiggles on the otherwise well ordered yellow lines in my screen captures.

You are in fact both correct, your Honda is very quiet in an audiometric sense and Mr Harding is correct regarding the electrical "noise"

Hope that actually helps,

FollowupID: 517789

Reply By: Member - George (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:58

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:58
I would never use these gennies to run anything that has electronically sensitive equipment installed, eg. circuit boards. Speaking from experience, costly at that
AnswerID: 256471

Reply By: Member - George (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:59

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:59
I would never use these gennies to run anything that has electronically sensitive equipment installed, eg. circuit boards. Speaking from experience, costly at that
AnswerID: 256472

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 19:16

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 19:16
LOL I love this bit "The generator, which was discovered by Michael Faraday" - Article Overview top right hand corner of post.

Wonder why nobody else had noticed all those little gennies laying about :))))
AnswerID: 256475

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 19:19

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 19:19
I suspect they were hiding :)
FollowupID: 517499

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 19:33

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 19:33
and being their normal very quiet selves :))
FollowupID: 517504

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 16:54

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 16:54
I had a brief moment of hysteria when I read that too Gramps. Same guy actually invented the Faraday cage which we all know is handy to keep your gerberator free from "alien" attack......
FollowupID: 517657

Reply By: Member - johnathon W (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 19:22

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 19:22
Well I think majorities rule on this conclusion I will not be purchasing a GMC gennie not worth the hassle or headache so I will be looking at either a Yamaha or an Engel did a little study on these today reasonable price and get what l need out of them especially in case of emergency and look at that I learnt how to spell generator lol not gerberator must have been my eagle typing circle and swoop circle and swoop
Thank you all for your input most informative

Have a great day to all

AnswerID: 256476

Reply By: redmeatgrr - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 21:42

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 21:42
I just examined a new one, taken to bits for fun.

1. the cylinder walls were not smooth with uneven metal bits present that will cause loss of compression and premature wear. Saw another two with blown pistons after around 200 hrs of use because of this
2. the carby must be kept absolutely clean with clean fuel. The needle jams easily due to debris jammking, due to a design problem, causing the carby to leak.
3. The unit needs a different or a modified rev adjuster reacting better when different loads applied.
4. After hearing several of them running we think it's probably got a design problem on the spark side of things
5 A friend rebuilt one for fun with a modified Honda piston, bored to suit and then took some metal off the head. More power, but for how long?
AnswerID: 256517

Reply By: Member - Charlie (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 22:30

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 22:30
A mate at work bought one about 2 years ago from Bunnings and he's had his share of problems (not all the gennies fault). Pull cord broke, pull cord recoil broke, fuel tank leaked, carby blocked up and he dusted it, rebuilt himself and the thing is still going. Went fishing with him on the weekend and he uses the gennie to run a PAR80 floodlight. At about midnight I looked down the beach to where he was fishing and it looked like a strobe light, the way it was reving up and down.
I wouldn't buy one but it works for him.

Charlie.
AnswerID: 256527

Reply By: Star Bug - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 23:25

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 23:25
These little $89 gen sets have woefull voltage regulation, and are the quickest way to destroy your fridge, TV, inverter...... anything voltage sensitive. All I would plug into them would be a standard light bulb. At least it is cheap to repalace when it fries.

You get what you pay for!
AnswerID: 256534

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 16:42

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 16:42
Oh this is too good to miss......... Do you mean repalace as in the St Kilda Palaise which will have to be replaced now that some cretin set fire to it.
FollowupID: 517655

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 19:21

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 19:21
I'm sorry Star Bug but I must disagree.

I have (had) two TVs; one of these appliances has been connected to my GMC generator for the past hour and is still running, apparently, properly - the other I attacked with a large axe and chain saw and was able to render it totally unusable within 15 seconds!

Therefore.... a cheap gen set in _not_ the quickest way to destroy your TV!

FollowupID: 517681

Follow Up By: Star Bug - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 22:12

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 22:12
15 seconds to render a TV senseless with and axe...... you were taking your time :)

Some of these gennys work ok, some dont. When the regulation on them fail they then to take out whatever is connected to them.

And even if you have one of the big name brands, get the things serviced and checked for regulation from time to time.

FollowupID: 517713

Reply By: beelzebug - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 10:58

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 10:58
I have heard that Honda makes great gerberators, and that Engels are virtually identical.
Based on this, I bought a new Engel SHX2000 at a good price ($1200) The product is descibed as as Digiwave generator and will power TV's, Fridges, Hi fi's etc plus recharge 12V automotive batteries at max 8.3A.

When I look through the specs though I can't see where the Engel claims to be safe with computers or electronics.

What's the collective opinion out there?

AnswerID: 256578

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 13:29

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 13:29
I'm led to believe that the electrical components of the Honda (inverter) "gerberators" are made by the Sawafuji Electric Co Japan (the home of Engel)..
http://www.sawafuji.co.jp/english/
http://www.elemax.jp/products_shx.html
The Engel "gerberators" use Honda engines....

Take your pick;-))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 517626

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 14:31

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 14:31
Hi Ed,
If the electrics for the Honda's are made by Sawafuji then there are two grades of electrics, one for Honda and one for their own Engel units.

This line, "Waveform - Square-Wave" taken directly from the Elemax site clearly states the output of the two specified Engel models.

The Honda's are Sinusoidal output and as Elemax have publicly stated their's are Square Wave. These are big electrical differences!

It would actually be harder to make two seperate sets of electronics than just the one. This would lead me to the conclusion that Sawfuji do not make Honda's electronics.

FollowupID: 517639

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 15:49

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 15:49
G'day Geoff,
No skin off my nose one way or the other;-)
Just what I've heard/read from a variety of sources, one of which is here http://www.olbis.com.au/ap_template/subcat_generators.asp
I would have thought that if a firm such as Olbis were to make such a statement publicly without being able to substantiate it, they'd be leaving themselves open to legal action (??), so I'm inclined to take it at face value:)

'ave a good'un;-))

Ed
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 517649

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 09:55

Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 09:55
Hi Ed,
Nor is it any skin off mine.

Just a pity people totally missed what I said about the obvious difference in the electrical-electronics side of the two units making it difficult to understand where the two are alledgedly identical.

This is totally un-related to the useful information on Engels using Honda engines.

Enjoy,

FollowupID: 517760

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 16:22

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 16:22
Who cares who dares - who tries, dies.

After all of the above it comes down to this.

Unit (a) Unit (b)

(1) $100 $1,200 Approx. 850W 1000W

(2) Output unstable Stable output (better than Unit a)

(3) 2 stroke 4 Stroke ( Unit a can be tuned up)

(4) Limited in use Run most things up to 1kv Ok

(5) Kills some electronics Seem to be alright.

Its horses for courses depending on your usage requirements and the money you wish to spend.

I have both. The GMC is now with my grandson terrorising his parents (bit of payback there)

The Honda 2.0i with us whengoing bush whether we anticipate needing it or not.

AnswerID: 256616

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 17:01

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 17:01
There must be some use for the DC side of these things though....Speaking of DC I own a mercury arc recifier, it came out of an AC trolley bus (no doubt Harding can explain how it worked in a trolley bus with the mercury slopping around every where) I used to own a small rotary converter which I sold to some dude who owns a property near St George in Qld and he has a restored brisbane tram he powers with it, (as usual I digress) I now use the Mercury arc to rectify the low voltage side ie the work side of my elcheapo welder. DC is pure magic to weld with....
AnswerID: 256619

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 19:08

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 19:08
Ok! Basil

You now have my avid serious attention and I promise not to ask any more questions about you allegedly backing off ramps with the door and in the process converting said door into a Roachie Gull wing, or embarrassing questions about doing the same to a roll-a-door.

A mercury Arc Rectifier. I have been looking for a rectiier for my arc welder for a long time without success.

Could you please tell me if these things are still available and if so where would I get one.

Ta.

Ms Lucy
FollowupID: 517674

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 22:28

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 22:28
Wow, what a museum piece......i haven't seen/heard of one of them since i saw one about 15 years ago when i first started my electrical apprenticeship. Walked into the old Toowoomba Electric lighting and Power company building just before being demolished only to see this huge mercury filled glass object.

I take it we are talking the same thing, albeit slightly smaller i would summise. Simiilar rectifier shown at this link

FollowupID: 517718

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 23:01

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 23:01
You are dead right there.

I googled this gizmo and it is straight out of Dr. Who. (LOL)

However, not so long ago a dude in NSW had got hold of some old stick welders from a Tech School disposal sale.

Apparently MIG & TIG had rendered same obsolete. (Yes I know there is a big difference between MIG & TIG)

Anyway, these small portable stick welders were AC but had a 'doover-lackey' (small thing) somewhere in the front of them that was a Rectifier/converter or such like and turned them into DC somehow.

I missed the deal/bid on all six of them which peed me off no end.

Do any of you electronic smarty pants know where I could source one of these and not the Dr. Who monstrosity.
FollowupID: 517723

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 11:40

Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 11:40
Mine is an incy wincy one, measures around 400mm cube, it's in a perforated steel box. Yes it is a museum piece and I doubt that you could get one today. I got it from White bay power station in Sydney in the early 60's . Told it was out of a Trolley bus but I have doubts. Looks spectacular fired up....
You can buy rectifiers specifically for attachment to welders from most welding suppliers but take a big purse with you they are not cheap.
Incidentally White Bay Pub has closed but reopened as a movie making venue and Fred Nile is concerned because the movies they are making there are the "wrong sort" of action movies.
FollowupID: 517773

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 11:54

Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 11:54
How much mercury would be in that sucker?

After seeing someone trying to clean up mercury from an old thermometer.....near on impossible :-), i would hate to see these large rectifiers glass crack and leak!

A sight to be seen none-the-less when working.

FollowupID: 517776

Reply By: ross - Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 11:57

Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 11:57
My Yamaha 1000 (current model) blew the budget,but what a machine.
You can have it running 10m away and barely notice it.
7hrs min on one tank of fuel,starts 1st time,every time.
I looked at all the cheapies but Im glad I bought the Yammy and I know its got a long life ahead.

The Engel and the Honda source their parts from the same company but the parts are not the same.
Got that from the Engal rep at a 4wd show and the Honda rep said the same thing.
Both good gennys though.
AnswerID: 256707

Reply By: HelenFrench - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 15:18

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 15:18
I have read this post with a lot of interest as I am hoping to start a long tour of OZ inside the next six months. I am hoping someone can help with info on a diesel genny as I have a diesel 4x4 and don't want to go dual fuel. I will need it to occasionly run a microwave and/or aircon unit in my van. Thanks for any help.
AnswerID: 257815