GPS systems, accurate to <1m

Hi all.

I know there's lots of knowledge in this group wrt to GPS systems. I don't have one, but my understanding is that they are accurate to +-2m.

Are there systems available to get it much more pin point? I need to pace out property boundaries (farms), get boundaries and distance, hence the need for great accuracy to compare with official documentation.

Any advice appreciated.

Tone

Reply By: disco1942 - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 01:26

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 01:26
There are systems available. They consist of a GPS receiver that is located over a known reference point. This is equipped with a transmitter that transmits the offsets to your roving field receiver which uses the offsets to correct the co-ordinates received from the satellites. I was talking to a bloke using one at Newman the other day, he said his system costs around $70K

AnswerID: 256541

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 01:30

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 01:30
Tone
There are a few units you can use, cheap ones and ...well very expensive check this one first because I think it would do for what you need
GPSMAP 60Cx

next would be the Quest
Quest

Quest Demo

The Expensive

AnswerID: 256542

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 01:38

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 01:38
Another system
Farm Keeper

AnswerID: 256543

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 01:45

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 01:45
This is the unit that was installed in the Ford Versatile I was working on towing the Air Seeder , also the Versatile speedo works from a radar under the tractor pointing at the ground , measuring ground speed

FollowupID: 517582

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 17:37

Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 17:37
Doug the systems now can split last years seed rows I believe at 10" so just go the 5" centering to pick up the residual fertility of last years crop. Pretty fantastic at that level. Not sure if the stuff you were using will go that close. The Farmscan system I had here sounds ancient taken from the front driveshaft.
FollowupID: 517829

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 08:13

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 08:13
JohnR
The system I was using was not quite like the newest one in the above photo but almost, about the only change was the colours on the buttons to the eye, No his system was not that accurate or had auto steer, one had to keep an eye on the overlap but at the same time I was given a chance to gain some new experience , wouldn't mind going back again for next year, trouble is with my plans and what I'm up to at present it will be much to far for 9 days of work unles I add an adventure like CSR on the end of it

FollowupID: 517878

Reply By: gilghana - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 04:07

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 04:07
There are ways to get the accuracy without super-expensive real-time differential correction using a base station and receiver. Thales make an excellent Mobile Mapper unit which allows post-processing corrections (GPS errors are reduced after the data is downloaded from the mobile unit). This still requires a base station, but is considerably cheaper - I bought such a system for the company I work with for a total investment of about USD 6,000 if I recall. Trimble also offer some high accuracy solutions but will probably cost around USD 15,000 for a complete system.
EGNOSS and WAAS coverage satellites dramatically improve recreational GPS accuracy, but I am not sure of Oz coverage (google will help!). Even using a vehicle atenna mounted on a flat metal plate will improve accuracy by reducing signal bounce, and there are internet differential correction signals available that with the right know-how allows error reductions on recreational units with computers. A good solution for what you describe may well be a Garmin GPS but with a external antennae! There are also various almanacs that can be downloaded in order to 'mission plan' your survey to coincide with the time of day when the most number of satellites overhead are present as they are not geostationery and the more there are overhead the better - ones at a more oblique angle give poorer accuracy. If I am correct you can download an almanac free from trimble.
Gil
AnswerID: 256544

Reply By: gilghana - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 04:17

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 04:17
Forgot to mention that for a one off job it may well be more cost effective to get a contract surveyor in to do the survey and produce you nice maps and highly detailed distances!
AnswerID: 256545

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 08:01

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 08:01
took the words out of my mouth
FollowupID: 517594

Follow Up By: Big Mike - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 09:40

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 09:40
My small farm was quoted by 2 survetors, $18k and $21k
I did it with my quest as I found out most of rural fences are "about" in the right place so a couple of metres here and there, no worries. According to my measurements, the neighbour to the north has about 1m of my land and I have about 2m of another neighbours, and has been like that around the area since it was first fenced.
FollowupID: 517599

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 10:03

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 10:03
Hi Big Mike,

How did you work out the accuracy of the fencing to the nearest metre or two with a consumer grade porduct?

The accuracy of the Quest is as follows:

Position: <15 meters (49 feet), 95% typical
DGPS Position: 3-5 meters (10-16 feet), 95% typical

Your readings obtained may be precise, however that doesn't necessarily mean they are accurate.

FollowupID: 517603

Follow Up By: Big Mike - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 10:36

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 10:36
Hi Andrew,
Waited until accuracy showed on the gps as between 2 - 5 metres and fence posts were within that range so I was happy. Also found a site peg on the corner of one of the boundaries and and using a bearing off a survey map, worked out that stretch of the fence. As I said, not dead accurate but it works for me.
FollowupID: 517606

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 10:55

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 10:55
Thanks Big Mike,

As long as it works for you and you are aware of the accuracy of the readings, then all's well. :-)

FollowupID: 517609

Follow Up By: Big Mike - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 12:14

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 12:14
Yeah Andrew, Would love to be able to say, that point is exactly my boundary but have better things to spend $18k on. And besides, I dont think the locals would have appreciated a city slicker moving in and telling them their fence is out by a coupla metres. I had a look at the systems the surveyors use and they are pretty special, plus they would have had 1 week walking boundaries, cutting rainforest back etc to mark lines so am not saying costs are unjustified, just not practical for me.
FollowupID: 517614

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 17:42

Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 17:42
Mike I think I would rather get a surveyer to look at the local survey pegs than start a court case with my neighbours on a GPS reading. Even public statements could be embarassing.
FollowupID: 517831

Follow Up By: Big Mike - Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 19:30

Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 19:30
Sorry John,
Dont understand what you are trying to say here. All I was saying is that I have roughly worked out where the boundary is and have no want, or issue, to bother finding out exact boundaries. I get along really well with my neighbours and I didn't even suggest court cases and the like. I am not sure how you made that assumption, by its way off line.
FollowupID: 517848

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 21:24

Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 21:24
As I said Mike, best not make issues because you could be well off with a GPS. Just making sure you didn't even think of going to the extreme.
FollowupID: 517861

Follow Up By: Big Mike - Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 22:21

Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 22:21
Hey John,
Not worth going to the extreme on stuff like that, lifes too short.
I like the look of your truck. Am thinking in the next 12 months of getting a 4.2L with a slide on canopy, or waiting to see what nissan do to compete with the toyota v8 td. Have enjoyed reading your posts re warrawena, hope all is ok now. Will have to get to a gathering, sounds great fun.
FollowupID: 517867

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 23:31

Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 23:31
Thanks for the comment. If you are building a vehicle mate, watch the weights. The mass of a tray can be a penalty, I just have a frame to carry th ebox now as the tray was a penalty of another 250-300kgs.

Nissan need to get their act into gear to provide the market signals to a loyal market. If they don't act in the next few months they may well have missed the boat.

The Warraweena episode isn't over yet though. I may have to write up extended warranties one day. Managers have yet to restore my faith {;-(
FollowupID: 517872

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 07:01

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 07:01
The short answer is yes but.... $$$$

There is no 'off the shelf' general usage gps that will do what you are asking.

There is also a military system that you and I will never get our hands on. It works off different satellites etc etc.
AnswerID: 256548

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 08:10

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 08:10
WAAS will provide that sort of accuracy but it's not available in Oz. If you want to set boundaries I'd be getting a surveyor to do it.
AnswerID: 256557

Reply By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 08:39

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 08:39
Why would you want a GPS to get you to within a metre. In my experience of navigation within 2-3 metres is excellent. If you are navigating in a vehicle then it is more than adequate.
AnswerID: 256559

Follow Up By: dave_c - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 20:59

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 20:59
did you read the post
FollowupID: 517701

Reply By: Member - Toolman (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 08:50

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 08:50
I seriously doubt you will consistently get 2 metre + accuracy from any GPS commonly available. In fact I'm confident you won't. If you get 5 metres, you would be happy and 10 metres is more likely. For example, if you were to drive along a track with a GPS tracking on and then do the same track another time you may get a significant different in the track plots saved because one measure may have been 5m out in one direction and the next time 5 m in the opposite direct so the difference between the two could be 10 metres or more. Which one is the closer? who knows.

Surveyors and others use a more sophisticated set up and in my day it was called Differential GPS (DGPS) which is accurate to within a few centimetres. You need special GPS that cost in the order of $thousands and special processes to calculate the results. One such DGPS is Trimble. There are others of course.

Toolman
AnswerID: 256563

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 09:26

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 09:26
Hi Tonester

There is one practical thing you can do to get GPS accuracy down to sub 5 meters.

Many GPSes can average a point , i.e. stay in one spot for 15 minutes with it on and it will continually record where you are
and points it records will show on it as a fuzzy display and you can
average this out either by eyesite or some models will read out the average.

As per advice in other posts your GPS needs to several satelites.

AnswerID: 256566

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 23:35

Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 23:35
Spot on Robin. One friend who has lived the last few years near the sea has found his computer and GPS wandered out over night hundreds of metres from his home. Still connected to the power point too ;-))))) Just left the track in Ozexplorer where it had apparently gone fishing.
FollowupID: 517873

Reply By: Graeme - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 09:55

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 09:55
Tonester,
For the application you are contemplating are a few things to consider.
Firstly, if you intend to use the results of your work for propertyboundary information then the GPS system required for lawful reference work has to be registered and referenced with software calibration records available. Such systems are not the realm of the low cost units. They also need registered Surveyors to sign off on the result.

Second
The even though Wide Area Augmentation is not available yet in Aus. the units being utilised here are capable of very accurate positional measurement, it's just that the software they employ does not match their receiver capability, hence their output is limited to 1 or 2 decimal places of a second of arc, which is then rounded to 1 decimal place for screen output. The result is at best you can get 3 metres accuracy in latitude at zero degrees latitude. So no matter what is claimed with the accuracy of individual brands of GPS the software limitation is real.

Your local surveyor could get you a better, faster and less costly result, one which you can then use for as long as you hold the property.
AnswerID: 256570

Follow Up By: Graeme - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 09:58

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 09:58
Clarification of the second point.........

Am talking about the relatively low cost retail units here, not the professional diffGPS units.
FollowupID: 517602

Reply By: Member - Karl - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 10:22

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 10:22
The accuracy of a GPS system comes down to the number of satellites it locks onto - the higher number of satellites the greater the accuracy. Most should have a screen for you to go into to see how many it is picking up and the signal strength.

The GPS systems for recreational use are just not powerful enough to constantly lock onto the 12 satellites all the time - that's why when you use one it fluctuates between accuracy ranges - normally if you are lucky you average between 3 - 5 satellites.

If you take two readings at the sametime on different days you will get different readings - again because of the satellites.

Commercial and Military grade systems lock onto all 12 satellites.

If you are concerned about the boundaries and if it is going to result in some sort of litigation etc you would be advised to use a licensed surveyor - because a measurement from a recreational GPS wont cut it in court.

Also even if you and your current neighbours are mates and there is no problems, this might change in the future should one of them sell their land and someone new moves in - so why not split the cost with them to confirm the boundaries rather than get into a chit fight later down the track.

You could even approach you local council/shire and see if they can help you.

Karl
AnswerID: 256573

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 10:53

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 10:53
The GPS systems for recreational use are just not powerful enough to constantly lock onto the 12 satellites all the time - that's why when you use one it fluctuates between accuracy ranges - normally if you are lucky you average between 3 - 5 satellites.

3-5 satellites? I must be one of the lucky few to average more than that.... ;-)

FollowupID: 517608

Follow Up By: age - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 12:51

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 12:51
It also should be noted that if the spread of the satellites is not even, the accuracy diminishes. You may have 3 satellites low on the horizon and only 1 above or several satellites clustered together then readings will be less accurate than if you have a good spread of 4 or more satelites evenly dispersed with good signal strength indicated (in simple terms domestic GPS receivers are just maths processors that use time signal and position data transmitted from the visible satellites and triangulate your position from that data).

We find variation of still up to +/- 90m on routinely hit waypoints on a day to day basis. The other issue that tricks people at my work is when data is collected in one datum, batteries changed or unit serviced and the datums are reset to factory default and people just assume it is still set to the same datum - some wicked miss plots with these results.

A
FollowupID: 517617

Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 10:43

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 10:43
Hi all.

Wow, lots of information...! Thanks to all who replied, hope you read this, too many posts to reply to individually.

Best I go away and start trawling through all the options presented. Thanks.

Tone
AnswerID: 256574

Follow Up By: Ken - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 21:34

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 21:34
Tone,

Some good info certainly but a lot of rubbish too. As one reply said Selective Availability was turned off long ago as there was little point as the bad guys either had an alternative system or had beaten it. The Yanks are not the only ones with a satellite navigation system.
As for consumer equipment not being "powerful enough" to lock onto 12 satellites this is utter carp !
Most GPS units are 12 channel devices and IF they can receive 12 satellite signals they will certainly use them all to determine a position. Problem is it is not always possible to 'see' 12 satellites.
There are many facets to position accuracy but the key ones are satellite geometry and multipath signals. Satellites low on the horizon or directly overhead do not make for good positional accuracy, and like all radio systems any kind of interference with the transmission path can cause problems. The system measures the time signals arrive at the receiver. If anything changes the time the signal takes to get to the receiver then the accuracy of the location becomes incorrect. Averaging can minimise this an does improve accuracy. Sub metre accuracy can be achieved by post processing the location data and correcting it for the range of factors which controll position accuracy. This feature is not found in most recreational use GPS devices and you need to get into the low end survey devices such as the Trimble Geoexplorer and the Leica units.
there is a good booklet available from Information Victoria on GPS sytems & equipment and I'd commend it to forum readers.
Ken
FollowupID: 517707

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 07:38

Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 07:38
Spot on Ken,
Amazing how many people have heard something in the pub and yet still make out their posts are factual. Unfortunately it makes you lose a lot of faith in some of the other posts.
FollowupID: 517742

Follow Up By: Member - Karl - Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 09:33

Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 09:33
"As for consumer equipment not being "powerful enough" to lock onto 12 satellites this is utter carp !"

Ken,

I am sorry if my information is 'utter carp'. Whether a GPS 'sees' or 'locks onto' a satellite is the samething - if it can't see it then or can't lock onto it.

"Amazing how many people have heard something in the pub and yet still make out their posts are factual"

Kiwi Kia,

My reply was based on my knowledge and experience that I gained from formal training and using GPS whilst in the Army as well as many years of 4WD and map reading etc - not in the pub.

FYI - all GPS system on the recreational market sold since about 2000 are 12 channel receivers before that they were 3 channel receivers.

In my post I tried to explain to Tonster the basics of GPS systems without being to technical - when using any navigational system there are a myriad of factors that will determine the accuracy of a system just as it is with radio signals etc.

Karl
FollowupID: 517755

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 11:10

Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 11:10
Karl,

"FYI - all GPS system on the recreational market sold since about 2000 are 12 channel receivers before that they were 3 channel receivers."

Kiwi Kia analogy is correct in regards to pub information. Whether it's a pub, or your Army instructor, some of the technical information you are stating is slightly incorrect. My first GPS in 1996, a Garmin GPS 45XL, was a single channel version. They did however use multiplexing of 8 satellites which incidently didn't achieve a quick TTFF compared to mutli-channels versions. I'm sure there were other popular models on the market with single channel processors.

FollowupID: 517766

Reply By: gbc - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 11:29

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 11:29
Where's your farm?

Obviously I'm guessing Victoria - perhaps riverina?

By some accidental freak of engineering and geography, lots of the riverina receives differential corrections broadcast by AMSA meant for shipping.
Perhaps if you could beg, borrow of steal a differential receiver? They aren't aven that expensive to buy.
Assuming the thing locks on where you are standing the fix is going to be in the <2m range accurate.

The differential system is a lot more accurate than it guarantees to be.

C.J.
AnswerID: 256581

Follow Up By: Graeme - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 14:07

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 14:07
gbc,
The accuracy of the system you are discussing is in the range 2 to 4 metres at 95% confidence.
The AMSA corrections currently running today show variations of 2.5, 3.2, 3.3, 3.1, 2.8 metres for the last 5 corrections recorded this morning from Corny.
Not sure you will get much better than this from Crib Point tower as the distance to Riverina from there is at the limit of the system over land.

You are correct about the system being a lot more accurate than it guarantees to be, but not sure it is down to less than 1 metre which is what Tonester was requesting advice on.
This has been a very good discussion point raised by Tonester.
FollowupID: 517634

Reply By: me2@neuralfibre.com - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 14:22

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 14:22
Accuracy improves over time. With the right gear a mob called Condor gets it down to 1cm levels, but it takes 2 days to average it down staying stationary. it's used to monitor ground movement in mines. Might be worth looking into. That is with normal GPS, no waas or dgps.

AnswerID: 256595

Reply By: BennyGU - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 14:44

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 14:44
Having used to sell GPS handhelds (Garmin, Magellan ect) I can explain why there is an accuracy measurement built into the units. All use the US military GPS satelite network but when this network was opened commercially the US insisted on an innaccuracy being built into each signal that was not being directly sent to an authorised military reciever.

Some people will have a hue and cry about this but if this was not the case then the enemy could narrow down co-ordinates to a gnats willy with a handheld commercial off the shelf unit. Even for rural referencing an accuracy of 3-5m should be usable.

Also whenever the US military will begin large scale operations against an enemy known to be using the GPS network they will increase the inaccuracy code to further limit this civillian versions ability to be used in a military context. During Gulf War 1 the accuracy of my trawlers GPS ($4000 back then top of the line Furuno ) blew out to almost 300m!, during gulf war 2 my garmin GPS72 went to almost 25m for the first few weeks of the conflict!

Hope this explains a few things.
Ben
AnswerID: 256599

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 19:02

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 19:02
BennyGU,

The dithering (error) on the gps system was turned off a long time ago. The US military uses their own gps system totaly seperate to the civilian system these days. Also, commercial and private aviation uses gps extensively for navigation directly coupled to the aircrafts autopilot system. The US Government would not turn off or significantly 'adjust' the present civilian gps system.
FollowupID: 517673

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 20:56

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 20:56
Ben,

Things don't always go the way of the military - they make mistakes too. In the mid-nineties I was doing a gravity survey when the US turned Selective Availability off. It surely was no co-incidence that on the same day relations between the US and Cuba were at a minimum. It was all over the news.

For a couple of hours I was getting sub-meter accuaracy on the GPS. I would walk 1 metre north and the AMG northings would go up by one metre - no joke!

I also believe that SA kicks in again when the GPS is moving at a rate fast enough to be attached to a cruise missile.

FollowupID: 517699

Follow Up By: age - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 21:25

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 21:25
Equinox

Good to hear someone else in the gravity survey game. I have been doing it up here in QLD for the last 15 years. Heaps on in the industry at the moment. Love my old trusty LaCoste G Meter. We have seen SA turned off a few times in the 90's, finding Isogals/PSM's to the metre

A
FollowupID: 517706

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 22:18

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 22:18
The information I was briefed on in regards to the US military system was supposedly current as on Jan 07 by Garmin Aust. If it has changed since then it is news to me. I know for a fact that I was unable to use my GPS system in the very early nineties because the accuracy had deteriorated to such a point that visual fixing was more accurate than the GPS network.
FollowupID: 517716

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 07:43

Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 07:43
BennyGU,
The selective availability has been turned off since the second gulf war and has remained off ever since.
FollowupID: 517743

Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 15:47

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 15:47
You can hire some of surveying gear

http://www.ja-gps.com.au/leicags20.html

also, I think techrentals hires trimble gear.
AnswerID: 256610

Reply By: marq - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 17:59

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 17:59
<1m for about $5k
about 0.1m for $15-30k (ground system required for DGPS reference)
AnswerID: 256629

Reply By: Eric Experience - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 22:41

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 22:41
Tonester.
I have been down this track. If you have plenty of time to do your measurement then you can go to a known point with a late model Gps and see if the reading is correct. If it is you can check your boundary but if it is out then just wait for another day. I found in the end that the coordinates I got from the Vic government website for my property were about 40metres out. Probably depends on where you are. Eric
AnswerID: 256654

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 09:18

Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 09:18
Gday Tony
Ring Energy Developments on 9795 0555 and talk to the chief engineer.
Murray

AnswerID: 256683

Reply By: The Landy - Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 10:22

Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 10:22
Seems like you can go to a lot of bother and expense to do it yourself and then still require the services of a surveyor if something needs to be challenged.

Save yourself some time, money, and bother and pay a surveyor....
AnswerID: 256689

Reply By: Ianw - Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 22:18

Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 22:18
I'm just reading tomorrows local paper, has an article on a reliable 2cm accurate system soon to be available to farmers. Quote
"GPSNet is a project coordinated by the Dept of Sustainability and environment (DSE), aimed at rolling out a network of continually operating reference stations across the state. (vic)". "When coupled with appropriate GPS recievers on farm machinery and a robust internet connection, GPSNet can support positioning to an accuracy of two centimeters."

Interesting.

AnswerID: 256776

Reply By: aroundwego - Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 22:18

Friday, Aug 10, 2007 at 22:18
If you live near the coast, it is possible to use the Maritime DGPS Stations - you can see their channels and positions at
DGPS SErvice Status

Theses are used by a host of land based users

You will need a DGPS beacon receiver and DGPS capable unit.

AnswerID: 256777