Gas cylinder to gas cylinder hose – where to buy?

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 18:22
ThreadID: 48615 Views:13416 Replies:9 FollowUps:43
I’m having trouble finding a female to female hose for the smaller thread gas cylinders (1kg, 2kg etc – I think it’s 3/8 inch?) to do my own refilling. They seem to be readily availably in a smaller size but not the one I want. Anyone know where I might buy one?

Reply By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 18:30

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 18:30
Hi Mike,

Having read a few of your other posts, I'm not sure if I'm walking into a trap here but...

All I'll say is, if you have adequate knowledge and understanding on how to safely decant from one LPG bottle to another, you would probably also know how to safely make a suitable adapter hose, no?
AnswerID: 256838

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 18:38

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 18:38
I didn't realise the knowledge base for this operation was complex Ian - a young lad did exactly this activity for me a week ago at my local garage - I don't think he was old enough to shave.

Being an electronics engineer I don't have a lot in the way of high pressure hose fittings kicking around so I'd rather buy a ready made one.

FollowupID: 517934

Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 19:09

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 19:09
Sorry Mike,

Didn't mean to cause offence but some of your posts are somewhat 'robust' at times.

Yes, I share you concerns about the wisdom of allowing people, young & older, with little understanding of the risks, to decant LPG at servos. My point was, not wanting to contribute to the problem of "a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing", was that unless you understand the physics of decanting, it can cause problems and unnecessary danger.

I'm sure you are aware that the large decanting bottles at servos, etc. draw LIQUID from the bottle of the bottle. To do a similar transfer from a 'normal' LPG bottle, it must be inverted and preferable above the 'receiving' bottle. Needless to say, this is NOT recommended practice. If you try to transfer between two 'normal' bottles in the upright position, you will just equalise the pressure between them, not actually transfer much liquid.

I hope you will accept my posts in the spirit in which they were intended. Please PM me if you'd like to discuss out of the public forum.
FollowupID: 517944

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 19:27

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 19:27
Hi Ian

Nah, no offence taken your posts, clearly, place you into the “Nice Guy” category :)

I get a bit grumpy with some of the posts to this forum from people who want to “save us from ourselves”. It often seems that one cannot ask a question on this forum which does not fall into the full and politically correct sphere of the suburban Australian pseudo bush man. They seem to think that almost any degree of risk is intrinsically wrong, any deviation from rules or conflict with “The Authorities” is akin to the end of civilised society – God protect me from them! Had they been in charge 200 years ago we’d _still_ be wondering if there really was an inland sea! :)

btw – I am familiar with the process for filling bottles (thanks for going over it) and there are two reasons I wish to do it: 1-my local milk bar (who usually supply my LPG) are getting seriously expensive. 2-My 4kg bottle is now 18 months out of date and the usual suppliers won’t fill it :)

FollowupID: 517947

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:41

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:41
Geez Mike, haven't I told you before about the dangers of out of date bottles, wake up old bean :)
FollowupID: 517956

Follow Up By: Paul(ACT) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:42

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:42
Mike and Ian, I seriously think you 2 guys need to,

"Breath a Bit Harder"! or

"Harden the bleep Up"!

2-My 4kg bottle is now 18 months out of date and the usual suppliers won’t fill it :)

Ian, I wonder why????

Go Figure????

FollowupID: 517957

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:47

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:47
Oh Red Frog - I love it when you get all manly!

Paul: I don't know, do you think there is something wrong with a gas bottle 18 months out of date? A friend of mine's father has one which is over 20 years out of date... should I suggest he replace it?

FollowupID: 517958

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:52

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:52
I wrapped my out of date bottle with a layer of cotton wool so that should protect my hand from the rust.
FollowupID: 517961

Follow Up By: Paul(ACT) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:59

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:59
Yes Mike,

Imagine your Daughter or Son or Grand Daughter etc, was using your out of date cylinder, and "BOOM" because a friend of your's Father Gambled on a 20 year out of date bottle!

Easier to replace bottle, than replace a Loved one!
FollowupID: 517964

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:10

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:10
No, no, no Paul _my_ cylinder is only 18 months out of date - that should be OK shouldn't it? It's my friend's father's cylinder which is 20 years (plus!) old.

FollowupID: 517967

Follow Up By: Paul(ACT) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:16

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:16
Ok Mike,

Imagine your Daughter or Son or Grand Daughter etc, was using your 18 months out of date bottle, (not your friend's father's cylinder which is 20 years (plus!) old.)

And "BOOM"

Isnt there a reason for use by dates, we not talking about a pack of, "out of date prunes"
FollowupID: 517970

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:20

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:20
Emmmmm... good point Paul....

On the other hand... what about if I were to loan my out of date cylinder to someone I didn't like and it went "BOOM"? I can see a positive advantage in that... can't you?

FollowupID: 517972

Follow Up By: Paul(ACT) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:25

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:25
Well, not if you were to lend it to me Mike, otherwise, a very positive advantage!

I would loan it to my Manager.....
FollowupID: 517976

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:28

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:28
I trust you would have more sense than to borrow it Paul!?

otoh I am a little confused by your last post... are you suggesting it is a "good thing" to loan gas cylinders which may go "BOOM" to unsuspecting individuals?

FollowupID: 517977

Follow Up By: Paul(ACT) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:34

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:34
otah, i am a little confused by the word "otah",

but, yes, I can see a positive advantage in that, cant you, a real good thing if its someone you dont like.

FollowupID: 517979

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:42

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:42
otoh Paul, otoh - there is no 'a' in it - internet shorthand for "on the other hand".

Paul; I am a little concerned about your social approach here: it appears you are condoning irresponsible behaviour in regard to camping equipment and the safety aspects of same. I trust you would not condone, for example, the use of aviation fuel in Coleman dual fuel stoves (as some have done before on this forum). Whilst I realise such products result in more efficient cooking there is an inherent danger, which, I am sure will be only too obvious to you Paul?

To put it in a nutshell; may I count on your rejection of such practices?

FollowupID: 517983

Follow Up By: Paul(ACT) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:53

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:53
Thanks for pointing out the misplaced letter Mike, I did notice my mistake twice.

it appears you are condoning irresponsible behaviour in regard to camping equipment and the safety aspects of same.

And you are not?
FollowupID: 517984

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:56

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:56
Certainly not Paul!

Indeed it was you who suggested attempting some kind of physical attack upon your manager with an out of date gas cylinder!

Frankly Paul I find such aggressive behaviour disturbing and I trust we'll hear no more of it on this forum!

FollowupID: 517986

Follow Up By: Paul(ACT) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 22:02

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 22:02
Mike, breath harder old man,

aggressive behaviour would be using an out of date cylinder, yes?
Stop being an Arsch, and get off the Red!

is there something wrong with a gas bottle 18 months out of date?
Mike, I find that disturbing...
FollowupID: 517987

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 22:03

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 22:03
Such suggested aggresive behaviour cannot be condoned, sorry guys but I have to distance myself from this thread.
FollowupID: 517988

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 22:56

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 22:56
I agree Red Frog! Thank goodness for some sanity - I'm sorry Paul but we must leave you to your own, unusual, perspective on life.

FollowupID: 517993

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 12:21

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 12:21
Sounds like regulations to save an engineer from himself........ For goodness sake Mike, get the bottle restamped.
FollowupID: 518034

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 13:08

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 13:08
I would do John but I'm concerned that when they stamp the new date into it (AFTER the test) the stamping process will weaken the bottle and I wouldn't want it to go "BOOM"!
FollowupID: 518038

Follow Up By: Paul(ACT) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 15:09

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 15:09
Mike,

There are Medications out there that can help with what you are going through.
FollowupID: 518050

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 15:21

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 15:21
What? Making fun of self righteous people? Nah - for me it's a terminal condition :)
FollowupID: 518053

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 18:26

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 18:26
Paul (ACT)

When you are ordering Mr Hardings medication/s could you please order 2 x extra dosage for John (R) and Roachie.

Thanks in advance
FollowupID: 518083

Follow Up By: Paul(ACT) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:00

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:00
Hahahahaha, Might get myself a double dosage as well!
FollowupID: 518085

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:11

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:11
Add Des Lexic to the list.

If you don't already know why just have a look at his very very recent thread.

Make his a triple dose. (ROFLMAO)
FollowupID: 518088

Follow Up By: Paul(ACT) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:29

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:29
Hi Lucy,

I just read Des Lecic's thread, and im confused, why was there no Teflon used?

You can but Female to Female (note Capitals) Teflon Tape, everything would of been fine.
FollowupID: 518094

Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:36

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:36
MIKE!,

SEE! I told you I thought this thread was a trap! My In-box as been indundated with Follow-ups all bl**dy day! And, even though I DIDN'T recommend such universe-threatening practices, I seem to have been tarred with the same brush as your good "anti-pro-dis-establishmentarianist" self!

"2-My 4kg bottle is now 18 months out of date and the usual suppliers won’t fill it : Ian, I wonder why????"

Now, pray tell me how the hell I got lumbered with that!

BTW, my 4.5kg bottle is definitely not 18 months out of date - it's just that my calender is running about 2 years fast ...

FollowupID: 518097

Follow Up By: Paul(ACT) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:43

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:43
"Lovely Day"!
FollowupID: 518100

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:47

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:47
I'm sure I don't know _what_ you mean Ian :)
FollowupID: 518102

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 18:50

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 18:50
Hi Mike, nice to be trusted, hey!! LOL. Anyway I would have thought that any reputable LPG supplier/retail & service to LPG appliance outlet could have fixed you up with the necesary fittings or made the hose up for you.
I used to decant from a 45 Kg (home heating to a 4.5 Kg BBQ, and it is much cheaper but stopped as I now use the swap system.
OK, your cylinder/fitting size is smaller, but principle is the same. Try your local LPG gas appliance service people? Good luck.
AnswerID: 256843

Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 19:08

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 19:08
And I thought that it was illegal to do that ?!?!? that might explain why you cant buy those hoses made up.
The big refill bottles work a bit different too from your standard gas bottle I believe.

Reiner
FollowupID: 517943

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 23:02

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 23:02
I have been told that it is not legal to make them ! Asked a company (not far from Ray's at Geelong) that had the tools to swage a gas fitting onto a tube and they refused.
FollowupID: 517994

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 19:11

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 19:11
Mike, what sizes are wanting to fill from & to?
AnswerID: 256846

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 19:28

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 19:28
Hi Shaker

9kg to 4kg and 1.5kg.
FollowupID: 517948

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:37

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:37
Mike, BOC Gases have quite a few fittings & so do Bunnings.
You realise that you will have to turn the 9kg bottle upside down?
FollowupID: 517982

Reply By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:26

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:26
I would imagine a generic hose with ONE of the end fittings you require, plus an adapter for the other end, would solve you problem. "Kookaburra" brand seem to offer a good range 'anthing-to-anything' adapters (i.e. POL to BSP to Primus to Companion, etc, etc.)
AnswerID: 256856

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:33

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:33
Thanks Ian - I'll check Kookaburra. I already have the required adapter for the 9kg
FollowupID: 517955

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:37

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:37
Mike,
I assume you're talking about the 3/8" LH cylinder fittings, yes??

I have one o' them little Primus gas torches which attaches to said cyl. via a length if hose (Mitre10 have been selling these for years), and the handpiece has a 1/4" (BSP I think?) male fitting..
Ya with me so far?
OK, also readily available (from Mitre10, or any good camping store) is a 3/8"LH female / 1/4" (BSP?) male fitting which, when connected to said hose will yield a hose with a 3/8"LH female fitting on each end... Easy as!!! ;-))

Hope this is of some assistance;-))

Ed. C
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 256858

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:48

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:48
Thanks Ed - hadn't thought of Mitre 10 - I'll check them out tomorrow.
FollowupID: 517960

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:06

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:06
Mike ,once you have jury rigged your hose , "chill " the smaller of the 2 bottles and invert the larger of the 2 when filling , makes for a full transfer ,,,,,,,, is the recommended way for refilling the coleman canisters so would expect the same for a 2 kg.
FollowupID: 517966

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 00:21

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 00:21
I asked this same question some years ago of a seller of all things LPG (Domestic gas bottle and fittings).

He very carefully pointed out what the legal position on doing such a thing was - in essence that it was forbidden and not to do or try such a thing.

Then he went onto say that, if hypothetically he was to do it, all he would do was buy two identical hoses, cut them in half, then join the two pieces with bottle ends and bobs your uncle.

Riiiiiiiiiiiiiiight! how simple if one was hypothetically to do such an unlawful act.
AnswerID: 256886

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 10:50

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 10:50
When Bucky was over here visiting us earlier this year, we ended up in our local camping shop to buy some tent pegs.

WHOA.......What do you reckon I saw in the gas fittings area..... A length of hose, with a professional type fitting on one end with a squeeze trigger (same as you see at the filling stations) and on the other end was a standard 3/4" male fitting. The placcy bag included 2 or 3 other brass fittings for attaching to different size gas bottles.

My 45kg cylinder is nearly empty and when I replace it I'll be getting a "blue top" which is what you need for decanting (same price as a standard 45kg refill). Too easy.
FollowupID: 518027

Reply By: hoyks - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 10:16

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 10:16
Here you go, read this and give yourself a tick in the box.

http://www.safework.sa.gov.au/uploaded_files/ds6i.pdf

BOC Gas and Gear should be able to help you out. They occasionally come up on Ebay too. Don’t get the cheap adaptors from the camping stores either. I had the solder fail on one, and that was just from gas pressure. I would be even less keen on it happening with liquid.
If you can, get an adaptor that can be hand tightened, Much easier to use.
AnswerID: 256908

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 11:18

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 11:18
Thanks Mike,
What with Bilbo blowing tyres onto rims and you joining the fill your own LPG club I now feel safe I'm not the only one left who'll say "Sheite Yeah" in this vast brown land.

Bloody insurance companies have got the population so scared they won't fart for fear Target will forbid them exchange on defective undies.

Go for it, I'd check BOC Gas and Gear, Bunnings and the local Hardware. Camping shops around here have what you need too but it's usually dearer than the first three I listed.

AnswerID: 256913

Reply By: Moose - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 14:05

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 14:05
G'day Mike
How did you go?
I thought you had to have a Mac Coupler (from USA or internet) to do what you want. I'd be interested to know if you managed it without said gizmo. I have one of those small Coleman "disposable" bottles that I wouldn't mind refilling.
Spot on re those trying to save us from ourselves. PITAs.
Cheers from the Moose.
AnswerID: 257056

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 16:41

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 16:41
You do need a MacCoupler for doing Coleman disposable bottles.
I think Mike is trying to fill Companion bottles.
FollowupID: 518204

Follow Up By: Moose - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 16:46

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 16:46
Thanks Shaker - I thought that gizmo was a multi-purpose gas transferer.
Do you happen to know whether those baby Coleman bottles can be filled from any other small cylinder eg 4.5kg?
FollowupID: 518205

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 09:52

Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 09:52
Sorry, but I'm not sure, I would assume that if it had the same thread as a 9kg it would work.
FollowupID: 518566

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 10:21

Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 10:21
Moose , Macoupler is for the Coleman disposables and as shaker says for the same threads as a 9kg , you can refill from any size bottle as long as it does not have a Primus fitting , the disposable must be fully empty and chilled down in a fridge or freezer for 10 odd min to get a full transfer of 800grm ,you can transfer in reverse if your disposable is full and your 4-4.5-9 kg empty if you wish to do so by not chilling the disposable.
FollowupID: 518570