Speaker carpet
Submitted: Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 18:38
Woobla (WA)
I have just knocked up a set of drawers and a fridge slide for the back of the cruiser and am having trouble locating the really thin carpet to cover the top, drawers etc. I think it is called speaker carpet.
Can anyone direct me to where I might get my hands on some. I live in the Rockingham area South of
Perth.
Thanks in advance.
Jeff
Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 18:49
Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 18:49
Most marine shops stock it.
Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 19:06
Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 19:06
Go to any car upholsters and you can get it there. Clark Rubber also sell some but expensive. I got some from a mob in Midvale and then had all my drawers upholstered by the company behind the Caravan Accessory place in
Welshpool on
Welshpool Rd
Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:39
Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:39
How 'bout some pics of your work my man... I pick up my cruiser this week so would like to see what you did...
Grrr!!!
Follow Up By: Woobla (WA) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:11
Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:11
No Worries Crazy,
I'll put it together sunday sometime, take a couple of pics and see if I can load them onto my rig profile.
Jeff
Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:15
Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:15
Thanks Jeff,
Grrr!!!
Follow Up By: Woobla (WA) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 14:39
Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 14:39
Hi crazy,
Loaded the pics.
I loosely copied it from somewhere on this site...where else!
Regards, Jeff
Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:15
Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:15
Woobla
I used speaker carpet on my drawers and fridge slide.
I got it from Blaze and from memory he sourced it from Jaycar.
Tjilpi
Follow Up By: Blaze - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 00:52
Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 00:52
That is where it was from Tjilpi, While I have your attention Steve, I met up with Adrian from Loxton, (in the Job) without spelling out his whole name I guess you will recall who I mean. he said he just returned from Alice and seen some paintings done by your SWMBO ina gallery there. I am guessing its another with the same name or have you found she has more hidden talents and you have now retired are are living off the painting income....LOL
Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 07:50
Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 07:50
Blaze
Was not her paintings. Unless there is something i dont know about.
Yes she does have ability in that direction and painted when she was younger. She has never had the inclination to do it for years.
When she stops working to support me in about 100 years and retires she may have time to resume.
Tjilpi
Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:27
Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:27
Whitworths
This is what I used when I made my drawers.
Follow Up By: Woobla (WA) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:37
Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:37
Thanks Derek, I'll check out the marine dealers on Monday.
Jeff
Reply By: Matt(WA) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 02:27
Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 02:27
Hi Jeff,
Bunnings in Rockingham sometimes have some thin "Upholsterers Carpet"
Please excuse spelling
Matt
Reply By: BorisK - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 08:10
Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 08:10
I got my carpet from a car stereo installer that I know and bought the glue from an upholsterer much cheaper than in a
shop. You will go through heaps of glue. Just bring your own jars to fill from the drums that they use.
Goodluck
Boris
Reply By: Johnnotoo - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 15:40
Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 15:40
Best and toughest is marine carpet.
Bunnings have it or try a yacht chandlery
shop.
Follow Up By: Woobla (WA) - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 21:13
Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 21:13
Thanks everyone,
I used the marine carpet. a bit thicker but as suggested is the toughest.
Regards Jeff