GPS advice required

Submitted: Monday, May 12, 2003 at 15:13
ThreadID: 4862 Views:1724 Replies:7 FollowUps:5
This Thread has been Archived
I wish to purchase a GPS but am unsure of the best way to start. I am confused by all the available units. Should I spend big dollars straight up or get something basic until I get the hang of them. My use of a GPS will initially be for recalling locations of good camping areas found in my travels. Obviously they can do more than that but as a complete novice I seek advice.
Thanks
Dave
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Monday, May 12, 2003 at 15:18

Monday, May 12, 2003 at 15:18
Dave,

There is a myriad of handheld GPS units out there on the market these days. As is the case with most things, each have their weaknesses and strengths. Some people prefer the Magellan units, others the Garmins or even some of the other brands. I have a Garmin eMap and am very happy with it. The built in Australian Map is fantastic. Best thing to do would be to go to a camping store (somewhere like Paddy Pallins) and test drive different brands to see what you like (ie ease of use, screen clarity, data storage ability etc etc). You don't have to purchase from a place like this, but they at least allow easy access to test drive the units.

cheers,
Sam.
AnswerID: 19750

Reply By: Member - Rohan K - Monday, May 12, 2003 at 15:41

Monday, May 12, 2003 at 15:41
Dave, be careful about "under-buying". I fell for that trap by buying "old" technology second-hand, to "get a feel for it" but got the "feel" for it so quickly (did nothing else but fiddle with GPS for about 2 weeks) that I ended up upgrading within weeks. Then I purchased software, digital maps etc.