The Roachie Faries have struck again

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 15:37
ThreadID: 48638 Views:2723 Replies:12 FollowUps:18
Russell must be cruising around here this afternoon. I have installed the Maxair compressor in a lovely spot between the grill and radiator in the 50 series and made up a storage tank using 100mm, 100psi class 12 PVC pressure pipe and fixing it behind the lower section of the Bull Bar. Even put a couple of self tapping screws into the Glued end caps just to be sure. Sound sweet doesn't it. Just before finally fixing everything in position, I thought it would be a good idea to run the compressor and test it out for leaks. A couple of extra turns on the hose clamps and we are larfin.
The The Roachie Faries struck. KER_EFN_ BANG. One end caps fractures into a zillion pieces and mud flies off from under the car, The missus comes out side and asks "Did you hear that explosion" and something else about what was the Foxes Hat.
Time to do a rethink. Damage done, One indicator fitting mounted in the bull bar busted, The other side indicator fitting cracked. The scariest thing was that I was half way down the ladder into the pit to check if everything was OK and bits were flying every where.
That B Roachie, it must have been his fault. LOL

Reply By: blue one - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 15:52

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 15:52
Glad to hear you are ok Des.

I haven't heard a funnier story since the fridgy who pressure tested the coil repair with oxygen and watched the door & contents of fridge disappear down the hall.

Please keep those faries between Roachie and your self.

Gotta go and dry the tears.

AnswerID: 256939

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 16:27

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 16:27
If the fairies had actually got to you, it would be more of a Bonzism I reckon. Particularly if it made you run for a nurse.

The support for the Leigh Creek Hospital yesterday should have come from him. He discovered Leigh Creek Hospital from Chambers Gorge once after trying to balance a flying rock on his forehead. You can guess he actually made it fly before he tried to balance it. But then he didn't really try to balance it either, just throw it in the air.
AnswerID: 256942

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:08

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:08
You most probably have guessed by now that you have blown your spot on next years OBC.

Hell! man what are you doing over there.

You are in desperate need of Member Paul(ACT)'s medication/s that he reckons would be good for Mr Harding and I reckon would be doubly good for Moses & Roachie.. (LOL)

I know the bang thingy gave you a fright and dis-orientated you, however from your description, I can't visualise what what was going on.

Were you pressurising the system up to test for leaks, or were just tightening some clamp thing-a-ma-jig a bit too tight and it smashed the end cap.

I have no doubt that legend like yourself would have had a pressure cut-off switch installed., Huh! Huh! Huh!.
AnswerID: 256955

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:56

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:56
The compressor has an inbuilt cut out switch and no, my passion fingers weren't touching anything at the time LO, just pressuring up. Might need a different air tank.
FollowupID: 518104

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 20:38

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 20:38
'Might need a different air tank'

Really think so do you. ?????????????????
FollowupID: 518110

Follow Up By: Blaze - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 20:42

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 20:42
Lucy if you remember I said I am interested in coming with Des to the OBC next year to help out, maybe I better distance myself from him and just offer to come on my own.... LOL
FollowupID: 518113

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 20:56

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 20:56
Quote: "The compressor has an inbuilt cut out switch"......

Des, it must a different type of Maxair to mine then!!!

Are you sure about the cut-out switch?....Or, are you thinking of the "thermal cut-out switch"????

If the latter.....it will not cut-off @ 100psi etc (which is what you need to have. Get yourself a ARB or similar pressure cut-off/on switch next time (for Mk II of the Russell Lexic air tank install)...hahahahahah
FollowupID: 518116

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 21:16

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 21:16
The air tank could be repaired with a new end cap and a little trimming but it might not be such a good idea.LOL According to the brochure it has a thermal and pressure switch.
Back to the drawing board.
FollowupID: 518119

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 21:25

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 21:25
Okay Russell, what does it say the cut-off pressure is?
FollowupID: 518120

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 21:38

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 21:38
Russell (1) I do believe you are right for once.

Russell (2) Just keep it comming cause you are taking the heat off me. (LOL)
FollowupID: 518126

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 07:55

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 07:55
I reckon you 2 blokes (Lucky and the new Russell), could have your own OBC:
OLD
BUGGARS
C0CK-UPS

You spend months at a time, challenging each other to see which one of you could make the biggest stuff-up........it'd be one way of clensing the gene-pool (eventually).

ROFLMAO
FollowupID: 518151

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 09:32

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 09:32
Roachie, The best thing about it is they would save the world by not burning fuel and bashing the outback around as they could do the challenge from Outback of their own houses....LOL
FollowupID: 518166

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:09

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:09
Sounds like I may have to (reluctantly of course) pass the name "Russell" onto you, Mr Lexic. Now, let's see......"Russell Lexic"....hmmmm; has a nice ring to it I'd have to say!!! (LOLOL)

Des, what on earth ever happened to the idea of using a good solid steel air tank? I know that if you did, then it would prolly be the only thing made from steel on the whole 50 series, but, hey it would be worth having at least ONE thing on that half-a-car of yours that you could be proud of!!!!

The funniest part of all this is that you were silly enuff to publish it on here so that the whole world can see that you need a sign around your neck!!!!! hahahaha

AnswerID: 256956

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:25

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:25
Actually Roachie he was quite smart unlike yourself, as good old Des is fully aware thats its better to jump into the fire and get a 'little singed' by fessing up, immediately than having to be dragged into and through the fire whilst having the truth extracted bit by painful & humiliating bit, like yourself.

I just wish I was a fly on the wall when this momentus event took place.

I can just see it now.

Des bug-eyed, deaf, ears ringing, dis-orientated and SWMBO giving him heaps about the Hoons doing back fires up and down the street,

Aw! that would have been some thing to see, (ROF with tears in my eyesLMAO)

I don't think I could have such an embarrassment accompany me on next years OBC.
FollowupID: 518093

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 20:02

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 20:02
Yes Aunty Lucy, on these very rare occasions that things don't go exactly to plan, I'm not ashamed to publish the error of my ways. Just remember that without trial and error even penicillan would not have been discovered. It's a far different tale to that burnt towel that I was alledged to be invonved with.
FollowupID: 518106

Follow Up By: Blaze - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 20:40

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 20:40
Yeh Rite, You only feesed up because your SWMBO would have told me and I would have posted it LOL
FollowupID: 518111

Reply By: Blaze - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 20:36

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 20:36
Goodness gracious and to think I was comin around this arvo with the waypoints from Gnarkat. Must have had a premunition...LOL I think I will stick with putting the extra psi in my spare tyre, haven't had any problems yet (touch wood)
AnswerID: 256966

Follow Up By: blue one - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 20:54

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 20:54
Des,
Yo are the quintessential Australian.

Master of the under statement and pursuing the humour of the occasion.

Salute to Des.

FollowupID: 518114

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 20:59

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 20:59
Hey blue one........NO he's just a total wally-gator who should have his sign pop-rivetted to his forhead.!!!!! He and Lucky should get married........it'd be a match made in heaven!!!!
FollowupID: 518117

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 21:29

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 21:29
Roachie, you should take notice of Blue One. At least he can see things without the clouded glasses that you obviously wear. Maybe its a Chev/Nissan things that gives this unusual outlook on life. My stuffup pales into significance compared to all of yours.
We had some lovely Afghan Biscuits today too. Not quite the high standard of Annettes but with practice they will get close.

Blue One, you obviously are an impecable judge of character and you can see straight through that Roach problem.
FollowupID: 518122

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 00:14

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 00:14
Uncle Des,

I have this picture in my head of the 50 series half way up a small hill at Warraweena and dust coming from everywhere off the vehicle. You sure you didn't have that invention fitted then with same results, dust and dirt flying every-where.. Makes more sense than the I forgot what gear I was in and I forgot to let my tyres down excuse you used...
FollowupID: 518140

Reply By: bob&loz - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 21:19

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 21:19
As you have probably guessed now and should have known beforehand that although the pipe might be rated to 100 psi some self tapers and glue was never going to hold back the 700kg+ trying to push to caps off, but its good for a laugh
AnswerID: 256974

Reply By: stocky - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 23:52

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 23:52
It was the screws that weakened it.....i've had a system made from HD PVC pipe and end caps under various vehicles for a few years - regulalry pumped up to well over 150psi - in fact to test how strong it was we put it on LONG hose and hid in the shed - ended up STALLING the compressor - tank never blew and works GREAT!

You MUST prime the fittings and use the GREEN pressure glue - NOT the blue stuff!

Sorry - cant remember the "class" of the pipe but the wall of the ends caps was 5-6mm thick (maybe more)!

Stocky
AnswerID: 256998

Reply By: blue one - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 06:43

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 06:43
Many thanks to all for their posts. Haven't laughed so much in years.

AnswerID: 257007

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 07:48

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 07:48
I used an old dry chemical fire extinguisher as an air receiver...pressure rated to 200 psi, they work at 150. Alternately, gas bottles that have expired are also good as receivers....Im thinking you need to buy a lottery ticket... plastic pressure pipe iis good, but not that good....
AnswerID: 257017

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 10:44

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 10:44
Dozer, I have an old 9 litre water extinguisher in the shed that might serve my purposes better. I won't have time to get it fitted before we head off over to the West in a few weeks time unfortunately.
Cheers Des
FollowupID: 518173

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 07:57

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 07:57
Yep gotta agree with Blue one ........ a great laugh after a night shift LOL ......... Russell Lexic does have a good sound not as good as Russell Roach ...... thats a stand out and from all accounts in "THIS IS YOUR LIFE" Roachie is the Master MENTOR of the all pending Russells out there, not to be de throned for sometime :).

AnswerID: 257019

Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 09:36

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 09:36
naughty naughty...you should know better...pvc is only for water
glad you still have your eyesight

try 100 mm copper with end caps next time...i'm sure you know a plumber

just dont tell the copper thieves you have this lump of cu pipe attached to your 4wd...scrap copper is worth stealing these days....they wont get much for the 4by but
AnswerID: 257028

Reply By: Gob & Denny - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 11:24

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 11:24
goodday des
we are coming souht in a week or so would you be able to redo the whole thing as we would be able to sell it to russel or maybe enter the the funniest home videos or maybe you should have had the video running so you could go on utube

sorry mate i reckon this takes a close second to the flag
AnswerID: 257041

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 13:15

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 13:15
Steve, I'm not sorry to say that there is no photographic evidence of the event and all evidence has been swept under the carpet so to speak.
Which way are you heading South?
FollowupID: 518185