Jayco Outback

Submitted: Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 22:46
ThreadID: 48682 Views:10169 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
Well just did a 1650km round trip to purchase a Jayco Dove Outback - 2003. Unfortunately from my location it was hard to look at one first but I scrolled the net and papers and made many phone calls before deciding on this one.

The mrs and tidlids are very happy with it...which is half the battle done!

Must say that having a good look at the construction of it they certainly aren't like any of the full offroad campers. The chassis is very strong but from there up I can't see one of these "Outback" models lasting as long as a purpose made offroad camper.

But it suits our requirements while we have young kids/baby and atleast the mrs is now more likely (now actually wants too) come away.

I know its a bit like 4X4's where everyone wants the biggest and badest looking one even though they probably don't use it too its full potential...ie camper trailers. But if you only plan on doing dirt roads / national parks etc and want comfort and ease for a young family, then these type of pop-top campervans (or what ever their hybrid name is) are the go.

The Dove is the second smallest version and you get a FULL size queen bed, a full size double, 4 burner stove, lighting, fridge, cupbords, lounge and the list goes on...and none of that on ground level. So regardless of the weather your comfortable. NOT saying that some of the premium campers don't have this but you pay BIG bikkies for them.

Anyway I'll let you al know what is bleep weak and good about them as I become more familar with it and start using it. I'll even put some picks on my profile over the weekend. I now have a new weekends project!!!

Reply By: Aandy(WA) - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 23:12

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 23:12
Good onya hughesy and here's hoping you have many happy kms in it. Probably a good move to get one of the old Jaycos from what I've heard of the new ones. Good that the chassis is strong - it's the "foundation" of a van. If it flexes so does the van and that's when many come apart. I'm sure everyone wants to hear all about your new project and can't wait for the pics!!
AnswerID: 257150

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 00:16

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 00:16
Can I give you some handy hints?

They are not dust proof, and tightening the roof clips to try and make them dust proof will only end up ripping the clips out.

The fridge is not too good on 12v if it's really hot. We keep a couple of blue ice packs in the freezer at night and put them in the fridge for the day trips if it is really hot.

The fridge can get too cold when on gas. Buy a fridge thermometer, and when camped up longer than 2 days regularly check that the lower fridge stays warmer than 0 degrees.

We love our outback Dove and so will you.

HAVE FUN.

MUZZ

AnswerID: 257154

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 06:26

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 06:26
Good on you mate, I have got somewhere in mind to test out the Dove. Couple of hours of dirt road though.
Catch up on the weekend sometime.
'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 257158

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 08:28

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 08:28
Enjoy,

Our '84 Dove is still going strong despite everywhere we have towed it.

Like mentioned above, they are not dust proof, but it is easy enough to seal up the vents etc..

Pete
AnswerID: 257164

Follow Up By: mickie7777 - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 16:15

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 16:15
Last year i purchased a hawk outback, wish i didn't. We used it on three occasions & only one was offroad, though in saying that it was only the dirt road to shallow crossing near Batemans Bay. After arriving home and cleaning the van we noticed that the wall near the door had come away from the cabinet. Upon inspection we found that the two were joined by a crappy plastic bracket which had broken leaving the external wall flapping in the breaze. Also the step to the bed collapsed due to poor design. We bought this van to do some simple offroading but I fear it would have fallen apart. We sold it not long ago to go back to a camper trailer. In my opinion they should be called JUNKO not Jayco.

Mick
FollowupID: 518382

Follow Up By: Marn - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:46

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:46
Just purchased an outback swan and the first time i used it the step to the bed broke. the cheap mongrels pop riveted the hinge into the ply step. I may only be a dumb electrician but even i know that pop rivets and wood dont mix!
FollowupID: 518418

Reply By: time waster - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 19:12

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 19:12
Dust problem fixed with self sticking rubber seals front and back from bunnings i used the medium one and also have a velcro cover inside door vents and fridge vent covers and we turn the fridge off when these are on. 12mm cable to fridge and batt help the fridge when on 12v.
AnswerID: 257255

Reply By: Anthony - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 00:33

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 00:33
G'day Hughesy,
We bought our 03 Dove outback new and are still just as happy today with the purchase. Our kids (2 girls) are now 7 & 9 and just love camping out in the jayco. The misses reckons it’s fantastic and thinks that it’s high enough off the ground to prevent a croc from waking her from her sleep when we camp up north (which we are yet to do). The kids and misses love it and I reckon it’s pretty good as well.

As you will have gathered, people either love or hate the jayco campers. I think you have bought one of the better years of manuf. (2003). Like you have said, it has a strong frame. The 2003 (or at least ours) has a wooden frame for the cupboards and seats. At the very least, if you think your camper will experience a few harsh track, you could invest a few dollars a Bunnings and buy a couple of packets of angle brackets and screw them on the joins where there are only staples (a few of the joins uses screws) to give it a bit more strength.

If you felt the need or are handy with the tools, there a few things that you can do to make the Dove a little more durable for off road travel. Fyi, a few of the improvements I’ve played with include a rear pole carrier, battery-box on the A-frame, bag bed flys, replaced cupboards with draws (see pics in Yahoo jayco users group for Anthony & Hilary for part of the work done), replaced roof latch screws with 3/16” bolts, sheet metal cover for water tank tap.

A lot of these changes are personal and not because anything broke. We are heading off in Nov this year for a couple of months through the Flinders ranges, Oodandatta track, MacDonald ranges, Plenty Hwy and then back to Melbourne. I read many report of jayco doves and similar doing gibb river road and a number of other tracks without too much concern. I guess it will often come down to traveling speed that suits the conditions.

Anyway, I think you will enjoy your purchase, as will your family.
Have fun cheers - Anthony

AnswerID: 257779

Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 20:30

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 20:30
Thanks Anthony. Yeah I gave it a good going over today. Replaced the wheelbearings and greased up the spring hangers. The preveous owner had a special made toolbox made for the back that is large enough to put tent poles and a second spare in (obviously don't want too much weight in there). See rig pic.

My biggest problem is the they have replaced the "American" inverter/charger with a Projecta unit because it failed, but I can't work out what the wiring does. The battery doesn't seem to be getting charge. DO you know where you can get a wiring diagram for these??? This is my first "van" so having 240v in there also is making me nervous about playing with wires.

Yeah we have the bed flies but they aren't bagged so you have to feed them on each time you want to use them...takes a couple of minutes each end.

Well I hope you enjoy your holiday mate. The places you are going are fantastic. You could spend a month in the Flinders region easily.

Your dead right about the way you drive dictates how any van will hold up. You can do anything if you have the time and patients.

Yeah my family is over the moon about the Jayco, so shoul dbe plenty of good times ahead.
FollowupID: 519130

Follow Up By: Anthony - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 13:50

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 13:50
G'day Hughesy

On the power supply. I have the manual (if you could call it that), which came with our Dove and has a wiring diagram. I will try to PDF a copy and email to you if interested.

Our American power supply died (twice) and replaced under warranty with a Setec ST-20 power supply.

The following is provided with me not knowing your knowledge of things electrical, so my apologies if I am stating the obvious etc.

On the charging problem. I don’t know if the following info is of use but we bought our Dove with the battery option, which the Jayco fitted. They may follow a standard approach to fitting the battery option.

With ours, the battery box was fitted under the seat nearest to the front of the Dove. Following the 12volt positive and negative wire from the battery, the wires went through a hole in the floor, travelled towards the back under the floor, and then came back up through the floor where the power supply is fitted. The positive wire went to a switch (which is a standard 10amp domestic light switch) with the other side of the switch the positive wire plugged into the 12volt power supply charge output.

A couple of possible causes of no charge are. The battery is dead flat and the charger may not be able to supply a high enough charge current to start charging, meaning that the charger is cutting out due to overload. When our battery is dead flat I use a higher capacity car battery charger to get the battery up to about 90% charge and then let the power supply in the camper to finish the battery charging.

Another possible and simpler cause could be that if you have a switch installed between the battery and the charger, you will need to turn on the switch to allow a charge current to get a charge voltage to the battery.

On the bed flys. We also had to thread on the bed flys on each time we set up camp. Our bead flys have the side and end mesh walls. I found a mob in Victoria, Alpine Canvas, who for $180 would sew bags into the existing bed flys. I dropped the beds flys to them and picked them up a week later. Then all I had to do was slide the bed flys (now in a bag) onto the tracks at each end and then screw a short self taper screw into the track at either side and through the rope to fit then permanently.

Sorry for the long draw out message. Cheers Anthony
FollowupID: 519339

Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 14:51

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 14:51
Thanks Anthony, you have described my setup exactly!! Can you send me an email and I'll chat off the forum about it, cause I'd love to get some more info off you and your experiences.

My email is jason_hzj75 AT hotmail.com

FollowupID: 519346

Follow Up By: Anthony (Vic) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 13:11

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 13:11
Let me know if you havn't got the email with pdf of the jayco wiring dia to the above email, sent a couple of days ago.
FollowupID: 520510