Cape Melville

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 10:26
ThreadID: 48693 Views:2015 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
Our party are heading to Cape Melville in 4 weeks and I was looking for road reports from those that have just been. Our first night will be at Kalpower and I'm OK with getting there but interested in the creek crossings and the condition of the beach entry this year.

If you see us say g'day 4 vehicles and trailers.

Reply By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 11:13

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 11:13
Don't know out to Caoe Melville- but all the roads in the Lakefield area are in good nick..Creeks are down & falling
AnswerID: 257194

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 11:28

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 11:28
Thank you.
FollowupID: 518337

Reply By: Trevor W(Brisbane) - Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 07:09

Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 07:09
We visited the place 2 years ago and after that I read that the local bloke had shut off access because someone stole a lot of his gear from the shed. Great place to go and camp back up the creek just back from the beech and also a nice drive up through Starky Station. Please post up a trip report on your return so that we can see that things are open.I would suggest a quick phone call to national Parks at Cooktown on road conditions
Have a good trip
AnswerID: 257315

Reply By: Member - craig W (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 14:41

Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 14:41
Hi there, Just left Cape Mellville 3 weeks ago,Fantastic spot!!And VERY windy, which is the norm for there!! Tracks open and all right?? some very sandy spots and the first creek croosing on the way in needs to be walked there is 1 deepish hole!! It takes 5 hours to do the 120 kmhs!! from Kalpower,Water source is still there and fine..Secret is to try and find a spot semi sheltterd,We spent a week there and loved it even though it blew 40-50 knotts SE all the time!! Enjoy, Shakey.. P,s seen a few big crocs as well!!
AnswerID: 257361

Reply By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Thursday, Aug 16, 2007 at 08:16

Thursday, Aug 16, 2007 at 08:16
I just came back from the Cape and though I didn't go to Cape Melville, I travelled the Starke road from Kalpower via Starke to Cooktown. I expect the Cape Melville road to be in similar condition. Kalpower to Cooktown took 10 hrs of great fun 4WDing. A few sandy sposts and some rough bits and bulldust...the way it should be on the Cape.
AnswerID: 257475

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 16, 2007 at 08:27

Thursday, Aug 16, 2007 at 08:27
G'day David,

Thank you. My recollection of 5 years ago was just that. Some long stretches of deep bull dust as I got closer to the beach. "the way it should be on the Cape" - I have only known your office as being like that, but I must confess that the last two wet seasons had me wondering if it would look a little different.

Theo
FollowupID: 518741

Reply By: Bros 1 - Thursday, Aug 16, 2007 at 22:39

Thursday, Aug 16, 2007 at 22:39
Theo,
Good to see you are going to Bathurst Bay. As stated above, post reports when you return and don't forget to have a good time. May be going next year again. This year going to Mud, Bulls and Music at L/C park in November, then to Rydges Capricornia for a week.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 257588

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 08:34

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 08:34
G'day mate,

Patience has paid off and it looks all systems go. The crew is chomping at the bit and all but one are already packed. I will provide a detailed report on my return. Sounds like your roughing it this year?

Theo
FollowupID: 518887

Reply By: Bros 1 - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 20:32

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 20:32
Yeah, they reckon you only live once.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 257744