DunnyDore Auto to manual

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 14:27
ThreadID: 48698 Views:2259 Replies:7 FollowUps:5
GDay All,
Mates got a VY Commodore ute with the 3.8l EcoTec V6 and is wanting to change the gearbox from a auto (T700???) to a manual. If anyone out there has done this (cost, who did it) or knows what manual transmission that is factory fitted behind the EcoTec at the plant it would be very helpful.

The ute only has 67,000km on the clock and is a bit of a show car so he would prefer to swap trannys than swap utes if you get my drift. The current gearbox is still is perfect condition so if he sells this he wouldn't be out of pocket than a few grand (IMHO) but if anyone thinks different please speak up.

Ben

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 14:31

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 14:31
simpler to sell it an buy a manual... dunnydores are like as common as Rsoles... everyone has one.
AnswerID: 257208

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 14:54

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 14:54
Was expecting this, as I said it is fairly modded body/interior wise, and he is not willing to sell it as it would be a prohibitive exercise dollars wise to have to build another one than swap the transmission.

Thanks anyway
FollowupID: 518368

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 14:58

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 14:58
A very long time ago I contemplated something like this, but stopped counting at about $5,000...

He could surely swap over all his modded stuff to the manual, and what he needed to buy again, buy again and he would still be $000s ahead.
FollowupID: 518369

Reply By: BennyGU - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 14:51

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 14:51
Ooops Ballsed it up, its actually a VU II NOT a VY :)
AnswerID: 257209

Reply By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 16:58

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 16:58
Benny, I have seen heaps done and found the MOST cost effective way was to fine a 'half cut'.

It would seem more expensive intially but when you dont have to chase around buying all the little bits and pieces you havebt even thought of yet....becomes very cheap.

I have seen an XR6 falcon done this way and final cost was $1500.

You purchase a wreck or halfcut and get everything you need....gearbox, centre console, pedal box, wiring loom, clutch parts etc.....do the swap and then sell off your box parts and left overs from the wreck.

Might even make money if you have trhe patience.

All the best...its still alot of work but at least you are not re-inventing the wheel.

AnswerID: 257221

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 17:00

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 17:00
Will pass it on,
Thanks matt
FollowupID: 518384

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 17:09

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 17:09
Hi Ben, my mate did this a few years ago to his VN V8 but the other way form manual to auto. He didnt have any major issues as the gearbox was not computer controlled like the ecotec motor/gearbox's are. Wether this will be an issue or not I wouldnt have a clue but just something else for you to find out. He didnt have to change tailshafts or anything so was quit easy. All the wiring was there to light up the tbar P,R,D etc. As said above alot easier to sell and buy again but can see the dilema of changing everthing over been there done that as they say. I think your best bet would be to ring a few transmission places around your area and ask them. I use a bloke at Blacktown, Vince's Advanced Autos, really top bloke. Give him a ring and tell him Steve told you to ring he'l know who your talking about. His number is 02 98318253. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 257223

Reply By: Exploder - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:09

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:09
Wouldn't wast my time Sell it and get a real Ute I.E a FORD!!! LOL

If he wants a new box, it will be pricey to do.

Using a second hand Box from a wrecker it's around 1500-2 grand all up, my Brother wanted to do a Manuel conversion to his Fairmont, I told him he is a idiot as for what is gained to work expended it's not worth it.

I said fit Diff gears and a Stall converter+ shift kit on the auto and it will Eat and Manuel for breakfast.

Try Street commodores Forum, I am sure the Bro's there can help him out with it.

AnswerID: 257236

Reply By: Andrew-rodeo - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 19:20

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 19:20
Go to a wreckers and try to find one with a manual. Better check if the crank is the same, some engines have different bolt spacings in the crank for autos and manuals. You might also need the ecu, bcm, rear cross-member, tail shaft, centre console, a big hole in the floor for the shifter, pedal box under the dash, master cylinder, clutch hoses, a lot of time and patience.
AnswerID: 257258

Follow Up By: Andrew-rodeo - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 19:24

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 19:24
He might want to consider spending money on the auto, shift kit stall convertor etc.
FollowupID: 518424

Follow Up By: Andrew-rodeo - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 19:29

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 19:29
He might want to consider spending money on the auto, shift kit stall convertor etc.
FollowupID: 518426

Reply By: BennyGU - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 20:13

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 20:13
Thank you once again for all your replies, the info is very helpful.
AnswerID: 257269