Exide batteries 25% 0ff

Submitted: Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 15:49
ThreadID: 48793 Views:6659 Replies:6 FollowUps:15
Thanks to Robnicko for the alert re KMart special.
N70EX down from $215 to $161, less a further$14 for those with gst exemption.
Sorry, I forgot to ask when the deal ends.Maybe someone else can provide the date.
Jeff.

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:23

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:23
Jeff,

The sale ends on Wednesday 22 Aug 07

AnswerID: 257711

Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:10

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:10
They need to be 25% off because in my experience thats how much less time they last than a decent battery.
Cheers Craig...........
AnswerID: 257723

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:45

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:45
Thanks for that Crackles. Which batteries have served you well, and how were they used/abused?

For any one else with an interest, the oe batteries in both the sedan and ute have died at almost age 5. Pretty rs , apparently.

But wait, it gets worse! I killed our first aux. battery in about 18 months. (Deep discharge, eh). My ignorance.
The Super Charge Gold saw around 40 months. (Bugger! they were supposed to last 40 years.) : tru. !!
So now we have a crappy Exide.
Well, I guess if it lasts 'till Christmas, I can count my blessings.

Insincerely,
Jeff.
FollowupID: 519020

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:54

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:54
There is nothing wrong with Exide Extreme N70EX.
FollowupID: 519023

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 23:39

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 23:39
Gaday Jeff sarcasm doesn't suit you but glad you've had a reasonable run with Exide anyway. For what ever reasons quite a few people in groups I've travelled with over recent years have not had such luck, several replacing them before the warrenty was up. That's the experience I've had with the Extreme's in the past & the reason I wouldn't fit them myself.
For the record Trojan batteries have served me well despite regular deep discharges with fridge, winch & lights over many rough trips not that they would suit everyones application.
Cheers Craig..........
FollowupID: 519038

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 00:32

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 00:32
Crackles,
Sorry if it came across as sarcasm. I admitted to being a dope, in that I killed our first aux in quick time. The Super Charge did better, but I hurt it also.
The Exide is still sitting in the boot of The Lady's hatch. I fit it tomorrow, and we bugger off on Thurs.
Will advise of suitability in 3 years. (Sooner, if it fails).

Craig, when I go over my post, I can see why sarcasm could be read into it, and these days I tend to button my lip, instead of relaying my experiences(good or bad), and the reasoning behind it.
In your post, you inferred that Exide was either over priced and/or of inferior quality, which is possibly fair comment.
But you offered no alternative...............
Perhaps you could have mentioned Trojan in your original reply, eh.
Sincerely,
Jeff.
FollowupID: 519040

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 01:41

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 01:41
The Dog probably BIT him on the Ar$e...

FollowupID: 519045

Follow Up By: John Davies - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 14:49

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 14:49
Hey Craig,

I just replaced my exide extremes in the disco this year.
Main battery lasted 8 years, aux battery lasted 7 years but they are connected in parallel.

Bought some more as they seem to have served me well.

John D - Disco 200 Tdi
FollowupID: 519345

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 16:18

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 16:18
Craig,
Reassuring to read your post.
I've just wired in the new unit (pric of a job - tight fit under tray).

I can't recommend any type/brand as being "the best", especially as applications are infinitely variable. Hope I do somewhere near as good as you.
Jeff.
FollowupID: 519366

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 16:20

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 16:20
Sorry John. Error light flashed just as 'send' was descending.
JH.
FollowupID: 519367

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 17:03

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 17:03
What a great run John. The application certainly has alot to do with the life. Low Kilometers & only a couple of trips with rough corrugations certainly can help with longivety. Once one has found a product that works for them you'd be silly to change.
Like you I run my batteries in parrallel as I've seen on many occations the failure of the isolator to evenly charge being the cause of the battery letting go prematurely.
Cheers Craig..........
FollowupID: 519388

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 20:57

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 20:57
Crackles,
I felt this thread was dead, Phred, but apparently not.

I wonder why you suggest to Big John that occasional drives on paved (ok, I'm out of order) roads will prolong battery life.
Are you two driving companions?
Does Little John immedi.

Sorry Crackles. Just realised I'm on a hiding to nothing.
SouthPark calls.
Look for my report on Exides: (wait 7)
Regards, Jeff.
FollowupID: 519447

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:37

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:37
Just for your info Jeff,

Super Charge Batteries and Turbo Batteries

500 CCA $145 Fully Sealed
640 CCA wet cell $ 161
760 CCA Fully sealed $181

Century
NS70LX MF 600 CCA $189
N70 zzl 700 CCA $199.00

RACQ Members 520 CCA wet cell $155 fitted

All the above 24 mths warranty.

AnswerID: 257728

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:18

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:18
Thanks Brian.
Your figures are not dissimilar.
In Bundy, Autopro had Century N70ZZ, 4wd (700cca and 170 rm) at $189.
Mate, $10 the difference is fine if it's electronic pricing: certainly not worth wasting fuel on.
Just seemed to me that the Exide Extreme may serve me better as an aux, given that it connects (permanently) to a 123w solar panel.

I would love nothing more (fantasies aside[giggle, snort] - where art thou , fair Lay-de-Loosie?), than to be able to run down a chart of criteria, and select The Perfect Battery. Can't happen.
Thanks again Brian; your figures may help others in their decision.
Jeff.

FollowupID: 519025

Follow Up By: Ianw - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 23:08

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 23:08
G sus, have battery prices risen that much? I bought a Century N70ZZ4WD Ultra Hi performance (Aussie made) for $100 + $5 fitting only 2 years ago. Excellent battery. Now U reckon they are $189? bleep e. Just as well they last up to 3 times most other local and imported ones!!
***Based on independent third-party testing, commissioned by Century Yuasa, using international battery testing standard JIS D 5301 1999 Light Load Endurance test at 75 degrees centigrade of an 11 plate multi-fit product readily available on reseller shelves. Results released April, 2004.

By the way the N70ZZL is only 600 CCA

FollowupID: 519035

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 00:51

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 00:51
Ian,
Put a SuperStart Challenger, MF70ZZL in as a cranking battery, around 5 months ago for $149.
Same battery, same outlet, is around$180 now.
Look after 'em, mate.

BTW,Century N70ZZ is marked at 600 CCA.
Centuary N70ZZL is rated at 700 CCA, as stated.
Perhaps they've altered specs?
(and the MF70ZZL is marked at 790CCA)
It's a flamin' mine field, eh. And CCA is just the tip of the iceberg.
Jeff.
FollowupID: 519042

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:58

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:58
My factory second (read shelf stock) Apolo was $80 with 12 months from the local distributor.
AnswerID: 257737

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:27

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:27
Gees Dozer,
I don't wish to appear rude, but what do The Members do with that data?
How is your 'Apolo' used?
How many have you used?
Are you a freak who cares for your batteries?
Are you a slob (like me), who reckons "stuff 'em"?

Mate, thanks for the input, but more data, please.
Kind regards,
Jeff.
FollowupID: 519028

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 10:52

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 10:52
Jeff
There are many opinions and ways to look at batteriies...almost as many as there are tyres and opinions on them., some above have stated they need to be 25% off because they fail early...some say they are good...i say....buy a major brand for cheap and when it fails...jump from the aux to get going and go look for another. Apollo has been as good as any other ive used...the Overkander i had in the 60 was probably the best. but still failed well b4 i expected such an expensive battery to fail....Ihavnt had any real good runs from batteries, as they usually last 1 month past their warrenty...so i go to the local distributer and ask for the floor stock that sat in the servo for the last 3 months, and get a great deal....
As for how long Kmart hav the special on....i dont know, sorry for contributing less than an answer to your post, it was aimed at the other answers. Toyota sell 600 cca exide batteries with Toyota stickers for $120 another option to those looking to purchase a battery.
AnswerID: 257803

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 14:19

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 14:19
Thanks for that Dozer - makes a lot of sense.
May also cause a rush on floor stock, though.
Kev M said the deal is on 'till 22.8.07
Mate, my original post was only to create awareness, not to support any company. If it helps anyone out, goodoh.
Thanks again for your second reply.
Jeff.
FollowupID: 519078

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 15:23

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 15:23
i suppose i am on the side of the freek who looks after his batteries...i try not to flatten them, and i routinely check for water level and if needed, i put demineralised in....however, this seems to only assist in the demise of the battery, so i have one in the wifes car now that is low on water and its staying that way till it wont start the car,....last time i filled one up, it went for 2 days and died completely./....
I never win with them...the last battery was federal brand, and cost $80, and lasted 12 months and one day....looking on the bright side, i always have a good battery for winter :)
AnswerID: 257816