Feeling Ripper Off on new Quintrex 3.85

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 15:10
ThreadID: 48816 Views:6501 Replies:9 FollowUps:7
I decided to update my tinnie and after much research decided to go with the quintrex 3.85 as I liked among other things the advertised beam width of 186cm.I like beamy boats.
When I got it home I got in the boat and started thinking that it did not look as wide as I expected. When I measured I found the beam at the widext point was only just 179cm. I queried this with the dealer who had no answers and was surprised when we measured another new one which aslo stretched the tape to 179cm. Is this false advertising or what? I am disappointed ...one or two cm difference is acceptable but 7cm on a small boat is a lie.

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 16:27

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 16:27
Were you measuring from the outside of the gunwhales, or the width of the hull only, at the widest point?
Maximum beam is from the extreme outside of the gunwhales.
AnswerID: 257825

Reply By: Matt Davis - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 16:36

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 16:36
You say that when you got it home, it didn't look as wide as you expected.

Did you look at it before you bought it? If so, what changed to make you think it had shrunk? If not, you should have, that way you wouldn't be as dissapointed.
AnswerID: 257827

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 16:41

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 16:41
Is it the correct length?

AnswerID: 257828

Follow Up By: Matt Davis - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 16:51

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 16:51
It must be. He did "extensive research". Haha
FollowupID: 519090

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 17:52

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 17:52
Gee Matt ,

I think you are being a bit unfair . It is always exciting to buy a new toy and it would be easy to overlook something like that - especially if you had read the specs and were , ( as I would be )expecting the truth from a trusted manufacturer .

Hopefully, the same thing will happen to you some day, then you will be a little bit more forgiving .

Willie .
FollowupID: 519096

Follow Up By: Mayesy - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 18:20

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 18:20
Yea it is not always easy to tell the beam difference from a quick eyeball. I certainly did not plan on running a tape measure over it in the boat yard at the dealers. I did measure the beam at home from the very outside of the gunwhales.It is however the correct length.
FYI Matt The 'extensive research' was about comparing different brands to come up with the one which fitted the specs I was after. There are afterall probably a dozen to compare and the quintrex had the hull shape I was after but also the right beam width according to their brochure. I guess one feels deceived by the info in the brochure.
FollowupID: 519103

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 18:34

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 18:34
Geoff have you asked Mr Qunitrex why the vessel does not meet the specs as advertised?
And perhaps ask what they intend to do to compensate you for not supplying a product as advertised.

FollowupID: 519109

Follow Up By: Matt Davis - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 14:59

Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 14:59
Alright, I'm sorry if I hurt anyone's feelings. I just thought it strange that you didn't (it seems) at least jump in one in a dealer's yard. I personally, when dealing with these sort of things, go more on "feel" than the actual measurements, and sat in many tinnies before my last purchase, at times chucking the whole family in to see what it felt like. If you had, then you might've saved yourself the angst, is all.

FWIW, I bought a new quinnie last year, and within 5 minutes of it's first launch, she began to sink. Yep, Quintrex's "skilled", "quality assured" work force failed to actually attach the feed to the live bait tank, allowing water to pour in unchecked. At least I know the Bilge pump works. Haha.

I also own a Nissan patrol 3lt. I find it easy to distrust "reputable" manufacturers.
FollowupID: 519209

Reply By: Member - Clive G (NZ) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 18:46

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 18:46
Mayesy.
That doesn’t sound to good. Get after the manufacture over it, forget the dealer, it’s not his fault and he is only the meat in the sandwich over the matter. Make enough noise and they may offer some free gifts to make you go away. Be wary of the very fine print regarding the “Specifications may be changed without notice”. Poor advertising though I agree.
CliveG NZ .
PS. It’s the rising price of ali you know.
AnswerID: 257843

Reply By: Scrubcat - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 19:51

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 19:51
I just Googled Quintrex and there in print on the boat details it says that measurements may vary from that stipulated, or words to that effect.
Sorry mate but It goes to show you can`t trust the glossy brochure or the dealer for the correct info. You must check everything yourself because they cover themselves with the fine print detail.
AnswerID: 257850

Follow Up By: Scrubcat - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 20:02

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 20:02
Sorry I forgot to add that I found it interesting that I couldn`t find a price for the boat only, the price given is for a package.i.e. motor, trailer, boat, etc. I may have been there but I didn`t find it. I was actually looking for the price of the Quintrex 370 but the details are the same.
Scrubcat.
FollowupID: 519124

Follow Up By: Mayesy - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 20:18

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 20:18
yea scrubcat I was aware that there may be some discrepancy in the measurements afterall it is not a space shuttle but I would say 1-2 cm would be reasonable not 7cm. smacks of false claims I think.
FollowupID: 519126

Reply By: Member- Tony C - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 23:57

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 23:57
Mayesy,
Sorry to hear of your new boat not measuring up to the stated specs.and your feeling of being ripped off.
I can relate to your problems.I bought a 3.7h.d.Stessl a few years ago now,which i didnt give a thought to measuring when taking delivery.Once home, i thought it looked a narrower and not as deep as i expected. My suspicions were soon confirmed when i ran the tape over it.I forget the discrepencies in the specifacations now but they were significant. No end of chasing a result from the dealer or manufacturer recieved a satisfactory result.
Despite the boat not meeting the specifacations in the brochure it was a great boat and had years of use from it.This was back when Stessl took over Quintrex for awhile so think it was basically a Quintrex model.You should be able to buy a boat with from a reputable manufacturer with confidence it will meet the advertised specifacations.
Cheers, Tony
AnswerID: 257878

Reply By: BennyGU - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 10:09

Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 10:09
I've got 310 and 375 Quintrex Dart tinnys currently and have had no probelms since buying them, I also used to sell Stacer tinnys (rebranded Quinnys) and this is the first time I've ever heard of them being outside specs so drastically.

Alert both the dealer first and tell them you are going straight to the factory but if they wish to join you then jump onboard. That way you can have some clout when you give them a ring/letter. As for 'go-away' gifts hit them up for fuel tank racks, floor and gift vouchers.

As for a 7cm difference I can not see it making a disconcernable difference on a boat of that size (on my 310 maybe???) but to me it does appear like a construction oversight so if it is that important open fire on them but Quintrex are generally a very well built little boat.

Ben
AnswerID: 257897

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 12:08

Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 12:08
Some manufacturers, marketers, retailers do this sort of thing continually, until someone "takles them on" over it. It is technically a scam in my view, but most people just accept it. I noticed many years ago that the actual viewable screen on CRT computer monitors was nothing like the stated screen size - the tube front might be 14" but with the case covering the edges you can't see anything like 14" - and the working screen area was about 11.5" anyway - anyway, if the goods provided truly do not match the stated specs, you have a "consumer affairs" case at hand.
AnswerID: 257910

Reply By: Member - Gavin B (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 14:43

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 14:43
G'day Mayesy, unfortuatnely what you have experienced is not restricted to Quintrex or any manufacturer specifically. The problem is there is no agreed national standard for hull measurements, and hence suppliers are free to quote whatever measurements they see fit.

I have done a fair bit of research on this topic after buying my own boat (rang all of the major suppliers and asked how they take the measurements etc etc). The results were that almost all had different ways of doing things.

An example is the way hull depth is measured (only Alum. boats use this measurement, fibreglass boats rely on deadrise). Some manufacturers measure from the gunwhale to the deepest point in the forefoot internally, others set the boat on concrete, level it up and drop a tape measure to the ground at the forefoot, others put it on concrete, level it up and measure from the bowsprit to the ground and Stessl it would appear adopt the latter method and even add in the bow rails or anything else in the region above gunwhale height where the measurement is being taken in some cases.

In short, unfortunately you can not rely on the quoted measurements in brochures. The only way to get accurate measurements is to run a tape over everything yourself and set up your own 'national standard' so to speak.

The boat you have bought is a good one, try to put the 6cm out of your mind if you can.

Agree it's frustrating.
AnswerID: 258442