Chinese Waeco!!

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 17:11
ThreadID: 48850 Views:4806 Replies:7 FollowUps:14
Bought a little Waeco TB-08 console cooler today & got the shock of my life to see that they are made in China.
We have purchased a frig/freezer before from their Qld premises as a special from the reject shop & had assumed that that was where they were made. Silly old bugger, me.
Anyway we are happy with their product, and guess thats all that matters.

Reply By: dave_c - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 17:32

Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 17:32
gday barry,

yep. the whole world is selling their souls to the chinese. soon they will have control of everything and that waeco tb-08 console cooler will quadripple in price along with everything else. smart buggers they are. take over the world without firing one shot. the world is fully aware of this but does not seem to care. go figure.

dave
AnswerID: 257946

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 17:38

Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 17:38
Yeah Dave, they are a worry. Even more so, saw on the news last night that Putnin is taking Russia back to the cold war era & is now teaming up with China. I reckon thats a bit frightening.
The Chinese have a booming economy & we are supporting it at the expense of locally made stuff.
FollowupID: 519222

Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 18:04

Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 18:04
That's the sort of thing we said about Japan 40 years ago. I reckon China is the greatest manufacturing country in all history and like all manufacturers will make sure its warlords don't upset their markets.

They will have hiccups but will continue to bring down the price of everything and buy our raw materials big time so people can earn mega bucks in WA & Qld.

Just get your kids to do mining engineering, not manufacturing!

Max
FollowupID: 519228

That's the sort of thing we said about Japan 40 years ago. I reckon China is the greatest manufacturing country in all history and like all manufacturers will make sure its warlords don't upset their markets.

They will have hiccups but will continue to bring down the price of everything and buy our raw materials big time so people can earn mega bucks in WA & Qld.

Max
FollowupID: 519229

Max
FollowupID: 519230

Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 18:06

Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 18:06
Whoops - sorry about the triplication - nothing happened and I clicked the submit button again. Up came three responses.

Red face
Max
FollowupID: 519231

Follow Up By: Mick - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 22:35

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 22:35
It's nothing to do with China taking over the world you silly people. It's simply cheap labour being available there. Don't you realise that Waeco are having their product made there - it's not a Chinese copy!! China is also the biggest purchaser of much of our raw material. Waeco of course is not the only Australian company using Chinese labour.
FollowupID: 519472

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 18:03

Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 18:03
Australian governments have loved the concept of foreign ownership since I was old enough to vote, and probably before then as well.

They call it foreign investment, and the mantra has been "foreign investment is good for Australian jobs".

Well, now that foreigners have invested sufficiently to own practically all of Australia and Australian companies, they are taking their factories to China.

The current government still doesn't see anything amiss, even though we now have virtually no manufacturing industry left.
All our businesses are resellers of Chinese goods. Some are excellent products, many are absolute rubbish - just look at how Mattell has been burned - the Chinese substituted cheap lead paint for all the children's toys, which must have cost Mattell many millions in the recalls. Serves them right, but how many kids have swallowed the lead?

But - rant over - this topic gets me going because I hate that AU only sells raw materials.

AnswerID: 257949

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 18:28

Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 18:28
Gets me going to Gerhardp1. Trouble is, the 'majority' are choosing the cheaper priced product, so manufacturers go of shore. Not good for the future of Oz though.

FollowupID: 519236

Follow Up By: Mick - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 22:45

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 22:45
Easily solved Gerhardp1! Just convince Australian workers that they don't need 6 weeks annual leave, RDOs, workcare, superannuation, and the many benefits and allowances that employers have to give them. Then we will have a manufacturing industry that can compete. On the subject of superannuation I wonder how many workers appreciate the fact that their boss has to pay an amount equivalent to 9% of their salary into a super fund because the majority of them are too stupid to save during their working lives and will end up penniless and on the pension if noone saves for them?
FollowupID: 519473

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 22:49

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 22:49
Mick; work hard all your life to save up a little for your own retirement and get nothing, not even a health card when something goes wrong and you need help. Sit back on a pension/dole/benefit or whatever, and get looked after for life. Who is the system encouraging?

I'll duck for cover now, as this has taken the thread way way off topic.

FollowupID: 519476

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 09:31

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 09:31
I agree with you Mick, but I also disagree to an extent.

What I mean is, the last employer I had I was with for 15 years. Then they mismanaged themselves to the point where head office had to shed 700 people because they had grown from 800 when I transferred there in 1984 to 2000 in 1991.

I took voluntary redundancy, but the mongrels ripped me off in the payout to the tune of about $5000, or about 10% of my pay. This was despite having 140 days of unused sick leave and about 150 hours excess flextime credit.

You appear to be a small business man which I applaud, but when you choose to leverage your income by employing people, you can't really whinge at the cost structure involved. After all, buying labour at wholesale and selling it at retail is the objective, and it allows you to make more money than you could working on your own. I know there are lots of factors you can't control, like the ridiculous RDO and benefits levels, but these are like tools - if you don't have them, you can't do the job.

The stresses involved in employing people is the reason I didn't go down that path in my business, in which I am still self employed after 16 years. A friend who started a similar business when I started chose the leveraged route - his business now turns over some $40million and he is divorced with 3 heart attacks behind him, but he is wealthier than me.......

But I have squirreled enough away that I'll never need to see the inside of a Centrelink office
FollowupID: 519500

Reply By: Olcoolone (SA) - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 18:04

Waeco are made in China and a couple ofother places aswell.

Waeco own and operate there own factorys.

Engle are made in China aswell but from a general manufacture, hence the reason you can by the exact fridge under Rays Outdoors and ARB and some other own brands.

Both are god fridges.

It's sad china do make alot of good quality stuff and some sh%t aswell.

Thank the Govt.and wholesalers for usiing OS manufactures and us stupid Australians (not all) for wanting stuff cheaper.

Regards Richard

AnswerID: 257950

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 18:16

Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 18:16
Olcoolone, We purchased the little Waeco from a camping retail outlet here in Newcastle for $99 & right next to it was an Engel, same capacity & very nearly the same design & it also was also $99. My wife chose the Waeco because the colour scheme blended better with vehicle interior!! Logic of course.
The earlier response about Japanese made products & our reaction to them 40 years ago is very true, we all thought them rubbish at the time but now view Japanese made stuff as quality.
FollowupID: 519233

Follow Up By: ross - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 11:29

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 11:29
The Waeco and Engel cooler are made in the same factory.
I got the Engel on special for $50.

If they had of been the same price I would have got the Waeco because of the colour too: )
FollowupID: 519316

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 15:21

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 15:21
Engel?? China?? You sure??
FollowupID: 519354

Follow Up By: deserter - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 17:00

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 17:00
My brand new Engel 40L is Made in Thailand
FollowupID: 519385

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 18:17

Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 18:17
I don't think there are any windscreens made in Australia, they all come from China.
Mate got a new screen in his Jeep a few months ago, made in China!!!!

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 257952

Reply By: mfewster - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 19:25

Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 19:25
The dumbest thing we can do is to stop trading with countries. That's what countries tried to do when the 1930's depression hit and it was one of the direct causes of ww2. WW1 was essentially caused because Britain and France feared the newly united states that became Germany and tried to stop Germany trading with their overseas empires.Building strong trading partnerships is a more reliable way to avoid war.
AnswerID: 257968

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 21:25

Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 21:25
As long as they don't stop importing dim sims and flied lice I will be happy!

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 257992

Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 08:39

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 08:39
"got the shock of my life to see that they are made in China"

where have you been hiding?...most stuff comes from china...
and i reckon the console cooler is only brand named by Waeco
AnswerID: 258026