4wd Roadside Assist
Submitted: Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 10:25
Big Mike
Is there any companies that offer roadside assist (breakdown, towing etc), specifically for 4wds. RACQ and the like only cover you on roads, not tracks or beach.
Reply By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 10:50
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 10:50
Mike Racq do have roadside breakdown service for beach & off road as long as it is a designated track or beach (as road) other than that i not of any.
Cheers Bob.
Reply By: hl - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 11:05
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 11:05
That's why it is called ROADSIDE assist.
Most of them will cover you only on gazetted roads.I guess the trick would be to get you towed back to one of those before you call them.
Reply By: Fragle_Rock (VIC) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 12:48
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 12:48
I think you will find with most roadside assist providers that once access is no longer 2WD, your are on your own.
Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 00:07
Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 00:07
I would'nt say that as we pull people out of
Mitchell plateau,
Kalumburu the Bungles the Gibb the Duncan and the CSR every second day in the tourist season. In fact have a roll over at Balgo tomorrow. RAC roadside assist Will recover your vehicle and camper or Caravan from 90 percent of
places. We get you back to town arrange accomadation repair vehicles store vehicles pick up or deliver you your vehicle to and from
camp sites.
But what most people that get bogged in some out of the way place forget is what if your vehicle cant do it are we meant to have that does do it and does it with you in tow.
We never leave people stranded and at times have even put them up at home when all accomadation is taken in town.
Just sometimes it takes a couple of days to sort it out.
Reply By: Harry - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 22:09
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 22:09
G'day,
With Total care RACV will tow when you get back onto 2wd access, it will cost you to get to that point, but they will arrrange for a recovery vehicle of sorts to get you to that point.
Just have a sat phone to call.
Accidental might be a different cost structure, where you miight not pay at all.
Reply By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 22:20
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 22:20
Hi Mike,
RACQ give some cover off road. I know they service Fraser Island and all around
Double Island Point but can't comment on any further afield.
Reply By: Robin hood - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 23:27
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 23:27
mike,
apparently TCIS insurance brokers cover you for full off road cover including recovery etc offroad and very competitive prices too.
http://www.ncis.com.au
jason
Follow Up By: Big Mike - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 23:29
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 23:29
Excellent, thanks Jason, thats what I was after.
Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 23:54
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 23:54
Good link Robin, but I don't believe their claims.
From the site:
Full Off Road Cover
We have no limitations of any kind in our policy. You are covered whilst on
the beach, crossing a river, at
Cape York or in the middle of the
Simpson Desert.
Their policy wording is available for all other options - Home insurance, Camper trailers,
Camping equipment.
For 4WD motor policy:
Our panel of insurers each provide their own policy wordings, options are provided for agreed value and full accessory cover.
Individual wordings will be supplied by TCIS once the appropriate insurer is selected.
Skeptical I am. There are a few areas more remote and easier to get into strife than the middle of the Simpson or
Cape York I would think.
Perhaps I am wrong and these guys come through, I would think that the consumer would
well and truly pay for it tempting one just to save the expenditure and spend it on rescue contractors if the need arises.
Just my thoughts
Reply By: Big Mike - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 23:30
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 23:30
Thank you to all for your responses
Reply By: Member - Alex K (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 12:07
Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 12:07
I have NRMA (NSW equivalent of RACQ) Premium cover. I have been told that as long as i'm on designated tracks and are allowed to be there (haven't used bolt cutters in a
State Forest to access closed tracks) then my insurance is covered and my roadside assist policy will come and get me. In remote areas I was also told by NRMA that have agreements with local mechanics/volunteers/4WD'ers to assist people in case of an emergency. I guess mobile coverable would be your next big problem.
Follow Up By: Big Mike - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 12:18
Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 12:18
Hi Alex,
If I were you, I would check the fine print. Been there, done that and, They will not recover you from a track.
mIKE
Follow Up By: Member - Alex K (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 12:58
Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 12:58
You're probably right Mike. I reckon they'll treat each on a case by case basis. The word 'track' is probably up for debate. If it's a mapped road but gravel then i'd be sure i'll be covered. Even roads through state forests and national parks are public roads and therefore should also be covered. The biggest problem i've had in the past is getting a 4WD to come out, as their usual utes are only 2WD. I'd say, if your within mobile coverage (therefore close to civilisation and not remote) and a 2WD could get to you, you would have no problems at all. If you required 4WD you might need to wait until they could get one to you.... but that's just my guess.