Submitted: Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 10:30
Romandar & Nathan
Hi Campers and Fellow Travellers
Just wondering what kind of foods people store on big trips so you can minimise how much food you buy on the way around? What containers do you use most? And how do you overcome glass storage, do you pour oils and bolognese out of their glass jars into plastic? And what about eggs??? I always end up nursing them on small trips, but I refuse to have them on my lap for 12 months while cruising around Australia!
Any advise or tips would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your help.
Romandar
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 10:43
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 10:43
Romandar ,
I transfer oils etc into Nalgene bottles that will not leak and that will fit into my drawers height-wise . Likewise I transfer coffee , tea and sugar to Nalgene jars .
I keep my carton of eggs in the fridge and have had no problems .
I use small bottles of low fat chocolate milk , for my Coco Pops as breakfast .
I get the butcher to pack cryovac meat in dinner size packets .
If I think of anything else I will add it later .
Cheers ,
Willie
Follow Up By: Romandar & Nathan - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 11:56
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 11:56
Thanks Willie, but what are Nalgene bottles? and where do you get them? Cheers
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 12:55
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 12:55
Nalgene , are US made products and are the Rolls Royce of
camping containers . They are made out of Lexan , are indestructable and seal perfectly .
They are available at Paddy Pallin ( best range ), Mountain Designs , Mountain Equipment , or any quality
camping shop .
Willie .
PS
My choc milk is lionglife in really strong plastic containers . I have had some disasters with longlife milk in cartons . Low fat longlife does not have that boiled milk taste either .
PPS
See range at :
http://www.nalgene-outdoor.com/
Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 16:07
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 16:07
Why take everything with you? Most
places you can find a
supermarket with most things close to city prices. Have a look at Leinster on the WA map and see how far that is from
Perth.
Unusual I know but the
supermarket there sells almost everything at city prices.
Besides which, they like a bit of the tourist $. If you need help in anyway you DO expect the locals to help you, do you not?
I travel extensively on the old age pension and all I take from home are "iron rations" that is rock hard biscuits and canned meat and fish for emergency.
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 11:28
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 11:28
You really need Mrs Duncs to answer this for you but I will give it my best shot.
We carry all our food either in the fridge, the esky or in plastic storage tubs with lids. We have Nylex tubs which we have been carrying without problems for over 10 years now. We label tubs on the outside so we know what type of food is in each tub before we get it out and open it.
Foods like rice and pasta are light and compact to carry but fill you up once they are cooked. There are quick cooking varieties available which save time and fuel (for the stove). Fresh vegies are the best, potatoes, onions, carrots and pumpkin all carry reasonably
well. Use small pumpkins because once you peel them they need ot go in the fridge. As a back up for those long legs between towns canned vegies are great as are the dried things like surprise peas.
We carry a mix of frozen and cryovac meat in packs suitable for one meal. Using this method, with the meat packed into an esky we have gone over two weeks between butcher shops and lived pretty
well and there are 5 of us.
Eggs, in the original pack, go in the fridge which we keep full all the time. I am not a big drinker and usually leave home with only 1 or 2 bears in the fridge. We operate one in one out but as the trip goes on the number of bears in the fridge grows. In a full fridge things don't move around and eggs don't get broken.
We do a lot of pre-cooked stuff before we leave home. This saves time and fuel when
camping. On long trips, when we get to a big town to restock, we will stop in CV Parks with a
good camp kitchen and
cook up a storm before we head back into the bush. Cooked food carries better than fresh.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 11:31
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 11:31
Forgot to mention, meal kits like taco kits are great. Everythign you need in one pack jsut add a bit of meat and some salad and all is
well.
We also try to avoid carrying glass. It is difficult to carry when full and a nightmare if you hve to carry it as rubbish for any length of time after you have used the contents.
Follow Up By: Romandar & Nathan - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 11:58
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 11:58
Thanks Duncs. After you pre-
cook all that food, what do you put it in? Cryovac? Dehydrate? Freeze? Cheers
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 12:34
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 12:34
Usually we freeze it. It does depend a bit on when we will be using it. If it is just a couple of days then we will just stick it in the fridge.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 21:47
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 21:47
Dunc to Duncs, mate you tried getting precooked stuff like casseroles etc cryovaced at the butchers? Was thinking of asking our butcher if he would vacuum pack some stuff for us.
Reply By: disco driver - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 11:50
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 11:50
Hi Romandar,
Just a thought for you and others.
"Minimise the food that you buy on the way round"
Sounds great, but next time you go round the little country store that you bypassed last time may
well not be there this time.
OK it's a sore point with me, but many small towns are battling to stay alive and travellers who don't support these little
places as they travel through don't help.
I'm not saying that you must buy all your stores there, but please stop and buy something. If nothing else you may
well get some interesting local information about
camp sites or
places to see in the area that you would otherwise have missed.
Please just think about it.
Disco
Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 12:31
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 12:31
Well said Disco couldn't agree more. The same goes for Petrol and accommodation.
Reiner
Follow Up By: Member - John L G - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 18:09
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 18:09
Here ! Here ! Disco....
I agree completely.
Small towns are starting to hate the travellers and commonly refer to them as seagulls for obvious reasons as they come in, c#*p on the joint and take off again with no useful input.
They often carry all their own supplies but will expect the town
infrastructure to provide
toilets,
parking facilities, fresh
water, grill visitor centres for info etc etc whilst congesting the town with vehicles and vans for a look around with nary a dollar left in any of the towns cash registers.
So where possible I think we should support these communities as a matter of course, not just the fueling stations.
My two bobs worth....
Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 18:12
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 18:12
I think it was Brewarinna we went through the other week and there was a
sign there asking you to spend just $20 in town to help them leep going through the drought.
Every bit helps, but it's the first time I have seen a
sign like that.
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 13:02
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 13:02
Romandar ,
I must also introduce you to the Willie "I hate washing up" dinner.
I eat on good quality thick paper plates , I
cook all my meat on a grill on the open fire , and I
cook all my vegies ( zucchini , carrots , potatoes , parsnips , onions , or baby beetroot ) in foil on the coals .
The only things I have to wash up , are a knife and
fork , long tongs a mug and a wine glass . I am thinking of dropping the wine glass and swigging straight from the bottle !
Cheers ,
Willie .
Follow Up By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 13:16
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 13:16
After much practice, I have mastered swigging from a 5 litre cask thus removing bottles from the storage equation!
Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 15:15
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 15:15
There is actually a new wine , red and white now available in a container specifically designed with
camping in mind , a Aluminium bottle , blurb states that it will chill in 20% of the time of a glass bottle . Is called brightlite red + brightlight white ,avail at you local bottle
shop , word of warning however , the plonk is blo-dy discusting and tastes like ally.
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 15:23
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 15:23
The best thing about a 5 litre cask is that it backs up as a pillow when your done :))
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 18:20
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 18:20
They are bloody noisy in your earhole Kev, tried that once.
Foil crackled at the slightest move.
They are OK as a wedge type cushion on the car
seat though.
Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 10:25
Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 10:25
Noisy
well if you don't drink the stuff that often then after 5 litres I am out to it LOL
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member - colin M (NSW) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 15:18
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 15:18
On 11 months around Oz trip last year we only ever carried 3 days food in 50l fridge prefering to
shop in any town we stopped prices were not that bad and if the was an
IGA we try to support them as they are usually owner operators. We always prefer fresh if possible.
Markets and road side was always good for fruit and veg. Minimise liquids as the love to leak, pwdered detergent. Beer in cans stow and cool better although not as good as stubbies.
Decor screw bottles were good for milk.
Switched to glass bottled wine as got sick of cardbaord carbony. Eggs travelled
well in those little plastic boxes from
camp shops, we usually only buy 6 packs.
We like the
camp kitchens for cooking as you meet great people and catch up with the Goss.
Have fun
Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 15:40
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 15:40
In addition to all the above, we always carry a heap of resealable bags, into which go leftovers for another meal, as
well as sugar, coffee etc. We got right around Australia with only one leak (lamb curry of all things). Likewise we avoid glass like the plague.
Jack
Reply By: Olcoolone (SA) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 17:59
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 17:59
We have a 7 day set menu and use stuff like chicken first, then steak or other meat and then sausages as they store better.
Vaccuum packing is a good idea but you still have to rely on a fridge, if the fridge stops (1 in a 1000 chance but happens) yuo have no food to eat.
We try and carry canned food where possable because they don't go off and can be kept for a long time if not used.
The probelm with glass jars is they brake your in the s*#t and they take alot of room when empty..with cans you can crush them down for disposal.
Cover eggs in butter and the last about 2 months.
Rice is fantastic and so is spargetti or fettucini, other pastre take up to much room.
When using stuff out of packets, cans and jars, make sure you only have enough for one meal per packet, can or jar so you don't have to store it and you reduce the chance of food poisioning.
Cut up vegys and place then in vacuum bags or freeze in zip bags, again enough for one meal per pack.
For onions, potatoes etc place them in a a open box with holes in the side and bottom to aid in air circuulation.
Carry dry gravy and spices to enhance to food.
When buying stuff
check to expiry dates, youi would be surprised stuuf at back of the rake can have upto 2 to 6 month long expirey dates.
Limit junk food and eat healthy and enjoy you trip.
Riegards Richard
Reply By: Member - Min (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 17:39
Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 17:39
Hi Romandar & Nathan
We also remove anything from glass but have not purchased expensive plastic containers. I save all sorts of plastic food containers such as peanut butter jars and small sipper drink bottles which are marvellous for sauces and vinegar. I have never had a problem with plastic containers leaking if they are kept clean around the tops and sensibly packed.
I do leave herbs and spices in the glass bottles but have made a padded fabric wrapper with pockets, something like a tool wrap for spanners etc. No breakages to date.
When I buy fresh veges I wash and dry them carefully and cut things such as celery to fit and carry in a large plastic box. Only small veges have to be in plastic bags as
well. Keep in esky and use defrosting items and frozen blocks to keep the esky cold. It is amazing how long fresh food will keep when packed carefully.
We also like to support local businesses especially IGAs