Submitted: Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 13:22
Beemer
G'day everyone,
Placed a previous thread and had great feed back. Thankyou.
Now getting down to 2 camper trailers - TVan and Pioneer Argyle. All have good and bad points. Have simple couple of questions.
Q1. With hardfloor campers has anyone experienced getting their bedding wet once packed away after rain. Thought by the looks of all camper trailers and how they pack up that this may be a concern.
Q2. In regards to T-Vans has anyone got a T-Van and Land Rover Defender, if so I would like to correspond.
Q3 Has anyone had any problems with standard draw bar and opening rear door ,especially with a Defender. Is it advisable to have an extended draw bar. Looking at whats available second hand.
Hope some of you can be of assistance.
Beemer
Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 13:49
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 13:49
G'day Beemer, we have just got an Australian Offroad Campers Odyssey and it was suggested that we get a shower curtain to put over the bed before you close it all up.
That will stop any dirt or possible dampness getting onto the bedding.
Sounds like a good idea to me, but we have only just got it a few weeks ago, so not much experience with that problem.
Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 14:33
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 14:33
Hi Beemer
We had a Defender 110 and
Kimberley Kamper.
No problem with folding it wet. We simply put down a plastic sheet on top and never got the bedding wet at all.
We used a solid bar to extend the treg hitch away from the body of the vehicle to get around the rear door problem. Once again no problems.
Must say that if we ever went the camper trail route again we would simply get an ex-army trailer or have something similar built and put the Eezi Awn on top of it. I think it is the simpler and by far cheaper option having been down the commercially manufactured route. Although, I think the T-Van is the pick of the manufactured offerings.
However, we got rid of both and rebuilt this 130 Twin Cab from scratch so we don't need to tow at all.
Reply By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 22:12
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 22:12
Hi Beemer,
I use a sheet of plastic to protect the mattress and bedding when folding away the hard floor. I use this in both rain and the dry as it protects against dust, dirt and grass. It works a treat and allows for the chairs etc to be packed on top of the bed as
well.
I have a GU patrol and a Kimberly Kamper with a standard draw bar. This hasn't caused any real issues when opening the
barn doors. You just have to be aware of where you
park (ie don't
park with the camper on a positive angle to the vehicle as this can sometimes make it difficult).
My mate has a T-Van and a patrol. His T-Van is a great setup and he has three kids in there (under the canvas). I was very impressed with the overall setup and handling abilities in the rough stuff. As you said, each camper has its own good and bad points but T-Van seems pretty good (but expensive). Same as the Kimberly Kamper.
Hope this has helped. Good luck with your search mate
Reply By: Rocky_QLD - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 09:52
Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 09:52
Hi Beemer
We have just come back from our first trip away with our Pioneer Argyle SE, like all campers it suffers from damp bedding when packed up with wet canvas. We have solved the problem by placing one of those cheap poly tarps over the bed before folding up and then no worries. This worked on our soft floor camper as
well
Rocky
Follow Up By: Alan H - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 10:04
Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 10:04
We've got a Defender and an Argyle. No problems towing and when wet we also use a poly tarp or plastic sheet to go over the bedding.
To make it easier to open the rear door I drilled another hole in the hitch about 50mm behind the first hole and this extended it just enough to open the door wide.
Plenty of metal left on the hitch for this extra hole.
Alan.