LED Solar Lights That Work?

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 19:16
ThreadID: 48940 Views:3025 Replies:4 FollowUps:7
I note the Reject Shop has a special on solar LED lights. $24.00 for 6 of them. The info is here: http://www.rejectshop.com.au/downloads/catalogue/69/69_August07.pdf

Has anyone used this particular model before and are they reliable? I hear of some cheaper solar lights that only last a few days.

How often do the batteries need replacing?

Reply By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 19:30

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 19:30
Cant find the 6 pack of them, but found the 4 pack for $24.00. I have a similar sort of set and found that they work well if they have a full days worth of sun.
They put out enough light so that you don't fall over stuff a night which is all I needed.

So for what they are worth you don't really have much to lose, so buy them and try them out

AnswerID: 258483

Follow Up By: Geoff1967 - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 21:14

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 21:14
oops meant 4-pack
FollowupID: 519826

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 19:56

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 19:56
Geoff, we tie a garden light to the Ironbark roof rack.
Must look like diks when we arrive late to a campsite, eh.
(when we arrive late, I'm too flamin tired to remember to pull the light off./ correction: down.)
So here's this flamin ute cruising around, stack of branches [and the odd roo tail], on the back..............
Like Kev said - at least you can sight camp on a stormy night.

Just do it!
Jeff H,
AnswerID: 258491

Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 13:23

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 13:23
G'day Jeff
How do you identify the odd ones? :-)
Cheers from the Moose
FollowupID: 519956

Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 13:42

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 13:42
Easy,

every second one is an odd one :))

Kev

FollowupID: 519960

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 15:24

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 15:24
Good on yers fellers. I just love the good-natured nonsence.
Perhaps a little pedantic Kev, but wouldn't it be every first one?
Gees, going to need more care when shopping at the Roadkill Supermarket next trip.Don't want a crook one, eh.
FollowupID: 519972

Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 15:32

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 15:32
Jeff - I reckon the dog would prefer a crook one - something nice to roll in :-)
Every first one- I dunno Jeff ?? There can only be one first so there can't be an every (if you know what I mean)! Perhaps every alternate one - but only if you are certain as to which is number one.
FollowupID: 519973

Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 15:45

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 15:45
depends on where you start counting from as well

kev

FollowupID: 519981

Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 23:00

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 23:00
If they are anything like the 4 pack I got at bunnings they work well between september and april. much beyond that is asking a bit much. I noticed the other night mine have just come back to life after a couple of months off, must have had enough sun to revive the battery....
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 258523

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 17:00

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 17:00
pretty crappy I wish i saved the money even though they were cheap
FollowupID: 519994

Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 14:13

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 14:13
G'day Geoff
Bought a cheap set from the Warehouse a while back and they do vary in quality. Given equal sunlight exposure some certainly last longer than others. However all still going. Can't expect too much for $20 or so I suppose.
Instructions that came with ours siad the batteries could take hundreds (can't recall exact number) of recharges - was a few years worth anyway. May work better if I put better quality batteries in them but can't be bothered.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 258608