Renmark fruit fly

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 19:47
ThreadID: 48943 Views:1940 Replies:2 FollowUps:5
Any local forumites in Renmark or somebody just been there as to the supermarket times for Sat and Sun as we will be travelling through from Melb without the fruit & veges, so need to stock up on Sat if early enough or Sun if open.
Would appreciate a reply and heaps big thanks in advance (I'll get points if I can give her the right answer) :>)))

Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 21:02

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 21:02
Harry, Not being the shopper in the house, I can't help you with Renmark but Berri has shops open 7 days a week till 6pm. (might even be 9,00pm but not 100% sure about that. Berri is another 20k's down the road and better shopping centre at the moment anyway. (Huge centre opening in Renmark in November) Come into Berri, Caltex Servo on left, then roundabout. TL at roundabout and down the hill. You will see the shopping centre on your left. Can't miss it
AnswerID: 258504

Follow Up By: Harry - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 21:11

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 21:11
Terrific, thanks for that.
FollowupID: 519825

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 21:30

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 21:30
The Catering Colonel tells me that Coles is open till 9.00pm.
FollowupID: 519833

Reply By: DIO - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 22:04

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 22:04
As you travel through the Riverland you will coome across many road side stalls selling both fruit and veg. Support the local grower if possible as they don't get very much at all for the produce from the Supermarkets. Probably find the roadside stuff is fresher and chreeaper too (in most cases).
AnswerID: 258518

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 09:22

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 09:22
Your spot on there DIO. Personally, I think the quality from Coles and Woolies is crap. It's often grown here, sent to adelaide markets or direct to the super stores, stored for 3 years and then returned to the shops as fresh fruit and vegies. Yeh right.
FollowupID: 519906

Follow Up By: Harry - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 22:01

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 22:01
Thanks DIO, your right, that's probably what we will do.
FollowupID: 520053

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 15:02

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 15:02
No it's not, it's still crap, wine is good though.

Oh don't stock up, it will go bad after a day or 2.

FollowupID: 520146