CARAVANING WITH DOGS

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 20:08
ThreadID: 48944 Views:9730 Replies:9 FollowUps:14
Planning a trip around the country taking two medium sized dogs with us. Any thoughts based on experience ?

Reply By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 20:34

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 20:34
A book called Bush Camping with Dogs is worth a look, gives you dog friendly camping areas in Australia
www.femap.com.au/bushdogs or phone 08 84317750
Most good book shops should have it as well
Ray
AnswerID: 258495

Reply By: Harry - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 21:25

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 21:25
G'day,
We take our mutts everywhere with us and you are a bit restricted as to where you can go ( National Parks ) and I am looking at which places have boarding kennels so that might be something you could consider as well for day trips into parks.
If you get off the beaten track and go bush, real bush, then be aware that baits can be about. There should be posted signage about, but be careful anyway. Ask locals before you get into the bush, they usually know whats on the go.
Our dogs have done the 5 deserts and are no bother.
A few parks won't take dogs but your camping book should advise you on that.
Just remember they usually like a drink too when it's morning tea.
I put out a 10m light rope(1 each) tied to 2 points so they can move up and down for a bit of sniffing instead of sitting in the same spot.
Train them to a dog whistle in case 1 gets loose.
U can do it.
AnswerID: 258513

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 21:30

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 21:30
I am one of those that has limited tolerance of dogs camping, usually of the owner more so than the dog.
Most will say they keep a good eye on the dog's, but what they consider acceptable may not be same for the people next door or nearby.
You will not be able to tour the country without camping next to others, and yes you will find other dog lovers, but you will also find people with no tolerance at all, so some unplesant contacts may occure.
Besides that you will be very limited to where you can camp, most national parks wont let you in, and the biggest percentage of caravan parks.
What do you do with them when you want to do a 2 hour flight or a 4 hour river cruise, or need to go shopping for a while or any other things where you cant take them?
Personally i cant understand why people have to take the family pets on holiday, most would be better off at home being looked after by family or friends etc, and yes I am ducking for cover from the missiles coming my way.
My opinion.

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 258515

Follow Up By: DIO - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 22:01

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 22:01
Pesty, well said and as a dog owner I couldn't agree more with you. Don't worry about ducking mate, just stand up and confront them head on. It's the only way to go. Most critics will know that you are correct in what you say.
FollowupID: 519843

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 22:50

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 22:50
Nearly all the dogs that I have come across whilst camping are better behaved than most kids ... quieter too!
FollowupID: 519853

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 23:42

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 23:42
Pesty

Maybe it's not the family pet, but it is the family?

No kids only dog... :-)
FollowupID: 519864

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 08:33

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 08:33
With you all the way Pesty.
My neighbours have it sorted when they go away or even to work ......just leave the dogs some food and let the pi@$ off everyone else with their constant barking. They then tell me how good a guard dogs they are!
If only I had a gun or some 1080
FollowupID: 519896

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 08:47

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 08:47

Dogs are good, and so are most of there owners, its the minority who dont clean up the mess they leave when nature calls,and it ends up on you boots or worse, in your vehicle.

Daza
FollowupID: 519898

Follow Up By: Ford Rodeo - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 09:34

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 09:34
I've come across a few caravan parks who say we'll take dogs but not kids. Makes sense to me. I know what I find more annoying.
Not hard to have the dogs stay in your ute (with canopy) if you want to do something for a few hours. Try doing that with the kids!! LOL

Give me the hairy children any day,

Phill
FollowupID: 519909

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 09:46

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 09:46
"I know what I find more annoying."

I have found that annoying adults are actually far more prevalent. Troublesome dogs and childerbeasts are the minority.

FollowupID: 519914

Follow Up By: Ford Rodeo - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 11:15

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 11:15
Greg, I would tend to agree with you there. With both child and animal owners it comes down to the resposibility of the adult owner of both species! LMAO

Phill
FollowupID: 519933

Follow Up By: Member - Steve M (SA) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 11:32

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 11:32
I both agree with Pesty and am a dog owner.

It is inconsiderate and usually impractical to travel with a dog IMO. Most of my trips are shorter tha 3 weeks so I (and most of those I travel with) send our dog to a boading kennel. $16 per day (dog) food included.

FollowupID: 519938

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 16:56

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 16:56
DAZA says some owners don't clean up after their dogs, some campers don't clean up after themselves, I can't imagine anyone camping without a shovel.
FollowupID: 519991

Follow Up By: Ford Rodeo - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 19:15

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 19:15
I can honestly say that "It is inconsiderate and usually impractical to travel with a dog" is by far the most ridiculous thing I've heard in a while.
Thats deserves an award!!

Inconsiderate and usually impractical............ LMAO

Phill

LOL.........................................
FollowupID: 520014

Follow Up By: Ford Rodeo - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 19:17

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 19:17
..................................LOL

Sorry

..................................LOL
FollowupID: 520015

Reply By: daisygirl - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 22:13

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 22:13
Depends exactly where you are going as to how easy or hard it will be to find places to stay. Our dogs love camping and the reason they come with us as they are much better off sitting at home all along with a visit for only one hour a day for feeding or sitting in a small concrete jail cell at the kennel.

You may just need to plan ahead a bit and when we went away for just 2 weeks I had every book every printed ie Camping with Dogs, Camps 3, Life Be in It, RSPCA, etc, etc. Between them all I think we had most places covered. I have found NSW and VIC quite dog friendly out the further you get away frome the cities the better.

Just remember to respect all rules ie Camping in National Parks. I have heard several stories about actually driving through ie one ranger said we could drive through but obviously not stop and let the dogs out at all while another ranger said we couldnt even drive down a few kms of road and keep the dogs in the car .

Places like Double Island Point they can be on the sand below the high tide mark but not above that point because their smell can linger and upset territory based animals which affect feeding patterns.

So there are lots of little things to consider but certainly go for it and just plan a bit ahead. Make sure your dogs are well behaved and well trained ie barking is the biggest complaints. Maybe start with small trips away for a few nights and build up to longer times away so that your dogs are used to the car and camping arrangements.

Remember to keep them protected from nasties such as ticks and fleas and I believe Advantix now protects from sandflies and mossies as well.

Good luck with your travels, wish I could do the same with our dogs.
AnswerID: 258519

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 00:58

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 00:58
This might be of some help

Dog friendly parks

AnswerID: 258536

Reply By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 08:41

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 08:41
We bought a caravan because we wanted to travel with our dogs a Retreaver and Border Collie. Then we just did it. Checked which parks let you have dogs and which don't and then hit the road.Free camp when we can and just get on with travelling with our dogs, we've never asked the advice or approval or others if we are or have done the right thing, we don't care.

Why does everyone have to check what the next bloke is or has done. Why can't people just decide to do something and make their own plans wihtout the approval or advice of the masses.

Give it a go and make your own informed decision and see what happens.
AnswerID: 258559

Reply By: Smudger - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 13:41

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 13:41
I love bush walking wth my dog and she reckons it's heaven on a stick. Occasioanlly we take her camping. But doing a lap with her? No Way! Dogs are restricted from most places of interest. And something no-one else has mentioned above, Dingoes are a real issue. I've heard numerous stories of wild dogs lureing campers mates into the bush and attacking them, presumably to get rid of the foriegner. Sometimes they succeed. A dog in camp does attact other dogs, including the ferals. When we're out there, we love to see the Dingoes enjoying their environment, and hearing them singing before sunrise is a tonic to start any day with.
Do yourselves and your dogs a favour. Take a holiday without 'em.
Besides, wouldn't the kids back home miss them?
AnswerID: 258599

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 15:02

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 15:02
If we all stopped doing stuff because of the perceived fears, reservations and paranoia of others then we would never go and do anything, especially with dogs.

We've travelled outback WA, NT, SA and QLD with our dogs and have never heard of oe experienced any of your assumed fears or urban myths with dingoes and dogs.

Of course if you let your dog roam around then all sorts of bad things can happen to them, such as eating 1080. If you just apply some common sense and caution then nothing may happen. When we camped near rivers in the NT that had crocs we kennelled our mutts in Darwin; I fear crocs more than we fear dingoes and wild dogs.

Our dogs are a good alarm system and detterant when free camping.

They love travelling with us and we'll keep taking them. Their more likely to get attacked by another dog at home in the park than in the outback by a dingo.

Lets all live in fear of "what if" and stay indoors shall we.

FollowupID: 519970

Reply By: Ford Rodeo - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 19:28

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 19:28
Geoffrey, I've always taken my 2 dogs with me on holiday for approx 10 weeks a year for around 15 years. No problems. It all comes down to common sense. Be responsible for your dog(s) and you too will have no problems.

Phill
AnswerID: 258656

Reply By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 19:41

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 19:41
It's odd isn't it... about dogs... even some of the people who own them (can one own a sentient animal? Buddhism doesn't think so) seem indifferent to them yet, to me, a dog is one of the closest friends we'll ever have in this life and I would never leave my friend behind.

AnswerID: 258660

Follow Up By: Ford Rodeo - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 21:01

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 21:01
Bravo............and ditto.
FollowupID: 520038