Submitted: Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 13:53
Member - colin M (NSW)
Just looked at the jack that came with new
Ranger and think it is OK in my driveway but not sure about outback. Has anyone had experience with the exhaust inflatable plastic jacks and what are best brands?
Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 13:55
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 13:55
Do a search on here and you will heaps of info there was a post about this last week I think. I have one and they are great but they are unstable. Get yourself a nice big bottle jack and replace the stock jack and also carry a bit of wood to place the jack on
Reply By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 14:01
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 14:01
For those who missed it
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 14:01
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 14:01
For those who missed it
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 14:02
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 14:02
Whoops I doubled up some how, oh
well now your doubly informed :))
| Russell Coight:
Reply By: Member - colin M (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 14:07
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 14:07
Thanks for those replies that is just the information I need. I still cant get over how good this site is I always get practical feedback almost instantly
Follow Up By: Member Dublediff(VIC) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 15:34
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 15:34
Although I see they have the jack applied to a turbo nissan I seem to recall that this in not reccomended due to turbo interference, any ideas on this....Eric.
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 15:52
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 15:52
Colin ,
I agree with Troll , get yourself a good bottle jack and a piece of wood to put it on ( not one from Supercheap etc ) . Also get a thick piece wood to run the flat tyre up onto so that you have the height to get the jack under the car . That was a tip I was given on this site and I have mentally thanked the guy who told me every time I have used it .
I had an exhaust jack and I sold it because I never quite trusted it ( not that I really trust any jack ) . A mate used one in the mud and did a lot of damage to a guard because he was not careful .
You have to carry not only the exhaust jack ( which is quite bulky with the pipe ) but carpet etc to fit between the jack and the car .
Willie
Reply By: Member - colin M (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 17:12
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 17:12
OK thanks for the info guys, after reading the article went out and brought the bushranger this arvo, comes in a neat pack and includes mats and gloves . Already have the wood as one of my old crane driver mate put me onto that, will now probably add a screw jack.
Thanks for the safety hints about side slip, if I have to use it I will tremember this advice.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 18:34
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 18:34
Just read your post Colin, be doubly aware they come down with a bang if they are punctured. Member Lucky was lucky his head wasn't underneath Moses when the bag went Kaboooom! It does happen.
Mine isn't worth 2 cents of anything! Make sure your safety is paramount when using yours.
Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 20:32
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 20:32
Colin
I am surprise no one has put it into simple words - a bull bag is treat for getting un-bogged but it is NOT for changing tyres.
You should heed the advice above and go out now and get a bottle jack and a big lump of wood for changing tyres as
well as the bull bag, then you will be covered for all contingencies.
A 4WD training course will advise either a bull bag or a high lift jack for getting out of bad bogs but don't use either for changing tyres. All will say what I have - A SOLID JACK ONLY.
Max
Reply By: Member - colin M (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 20:18
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 20:18
Thanks for that safety tip, I will hede your advise.
Around OZ last year did not get one puncture so hope to keep luck going, I'm not a real rough country basher so hopefully it will stay in the carton.
Will add a static jack to my kit as extra safety.